We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Street | Bramber, Bramber BN44 3WE, England
+44 1903 879494
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 327: English reviews
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Amazing selection of starters and desserts. Great carvery with expert cooking of a huge selection of main courses.

Helpful?
Thank AlexH0lmes
Steyning
Level Contributor
99 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

First time I have been here, we had heard great things about it but wow. The starters were superb and the roast was great, service was very good from the girls on reception to the chefs and waiting staff. Place was packed and you could tell the have lots of regulars

Helpful?
Thank Gary A
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Gary A I'm delighted to read your 5* review - hope to see your again soon. kind regards More 

Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked an evening meal at the carvery for 38 ladies, There was a trainee called Fern assigned to us, she did the hotel credit. Our ladies had a starter, some a meal, some dessert and or tea/coffee. She served always with a smile and managed to get the payments right to the penny which was not an easy task.... More 

Helpful?
Thank pauline m
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant, responded to this review

thank you Pauline m for your feedback. I am delighted to read that Fern looked after you so well and I will pass your comments back to her personally. kind regards More 

Newick, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ate here and loved it in May last year and wrote a very happy review. Such a disappointment yesterday by contrast..... The place was so cold you needed coats to stay warm. Could have coped with that, but there was such a downturn in the food. In May, I could have dined royally on the fish/seafood starters alone. Smoked salmon,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter B
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Peter B I am disappointed to read your review on the carvery last week. Unfortunately following the busy December period the first couple of days in January and I would like to reiterate that it only happened on two days - due to the very low number of diners the amount of food that was put out was reduced... More 

Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been to the Tollgate a few times over the years. It is very popular and I can understand why - lovely old building, very cozy and good carvery system with tasty food. We went on Boxing Day and I was really disappointed on what should have been a special occasion. The first thing I noticed was that the... More 

Helpful?
Thank andersprof
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear andersprof I am very sorry to read your review regarding your Boxing day experience. We pride ourselves in being welcoming to all our guests so it is disappointing to read that you did not feel that. I would like to assure you that there were two members of the management team on duty and I'm surprised that they were... More 

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had Christmas dinner at the hotel and for once not sure about the rating - average possibly to harsh but very good is to high. The staff were lovely and as we had one of the earlier slots very attentive but the level of service naturally dropped as it became busier. The cold buffet had a great selection and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Willus2013
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Willus2013 Thank you for your feedback regarding Christmas Day. I will pass your comments to the Head Chef and restaurant Manager for their attention. kind regards More 

Norwich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent choice of good, un-messed about, food. Nice location. Elderly people might find the number of different floor levels and steps a problem.

Helpful?
Thank EsmereldaNorwich
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you EsmereldaNorwich for posting your 5* review. We hope to see you again soon. kind regards More 

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2016

I have eaten here many times over the years but felt that both the food and the service wasn't so good on my last visit. The carvery meats looked a little "tired" and the vegetables were not as hot as they should be. Also, the choice of desserts was not as wide as it usually is. They were unimaginative and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah J
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

Have not been here for some years, visited last week, ate in the restaurant and stayed overnight in hotel. This place was one of the first carvery restaurants I know of. The food was still very good, both in quality and choice, generous meat portions. The old parts of the building which have character have stayed the same. The rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank colin p
Worthing, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Outdated restaurant drawing an elderly clientele that has problems accommodating the number of diners because the layout is all wrong. Access to the starters is impossible when there are only five or six people trying to serve themselves so being there is frustrating to say the least. When you get them, the starters are good. There's great variety and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank HutchyWorthing

Travellers who viewed BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$16 - US$41
Cuisine
British
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Private Dining, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Street | Bramber, Bramber BN44 3WE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Bramber
  • Phone Number: +44 1903 879494
Description
Commonly described as a visual á la carte, our award winning Carvery Restaurant offers an amazing choice of locally sourced, seasonal food. For starters we have delicious homemade soups, a variety of hot appetisers and our famous hors d’oeuvres selection including wonderful smoked fish.For main course choose as much as you like from beautifully cooked joints of meat and tasty hot dishes including fish, casseroles, pies and vegetarian options.In addition to daily Rib of Beef, Chef will select from the following succulent roasts:Lamb, Roast Pork with Crackling, Honey Roasted Gammon, Turkey Crown, Chicken, Duckling , Game and more.To compliment your chosen dishes there is always a great choice of freshly steamed or roasted vegetables on offer which are constantly being replenished to maximise their texture and flavour. Everyone's favourite is Yorkshire pudding cooked to perfection, plus our delicious sauces, gravies and oven-baked stuffing. Don’t forget to make room for one of our delicious hot or cold puddings. You can try a little of as many of them as you like! If you prefer you can choose cheese and biscuits with juicy grapes and celery which is offered complimentary within any two and three course menu option.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
West Sussex, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?