We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£13 - £33
CUISINES
British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (967)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
965 results
Traveller rating
532
183
121
65
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
532
183
121
65
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beef cold meats starters and desserts pudding prawns salad ice cream ham main course carvery lunch your plate excellent carvery three courses main meal red cabbage vegetarian options family meal
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 25 January 2024

I am saddened to hear that the restaurant has closed for the time being, but I'm not surprised. I have loved attending the Tollgate since 1984. It has been delightful to share happy memories there with friends and family. It has been the chosen venue...for birthdays, anniversaries and even wedding receptions. The carvery, and all the other selections on offer have been delicious. I popped in to book for a group of friends, and I, to dine one evening, and was told about the new menu which had been introduced a week or so before. I decided to peruse it first before making a commitment to book. I'm glad I did! I told the lady behind the desk that not only would I not be booking, but that I probably wouldn't be back at all unless they brought back the excellent carvery and other dishes I was used to. I was so sad that after 39 years I no longer had my "go to" place to take friends.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate McIntyre, General Manager at The Tollgate Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2024

Dear narissab2024, We were touched to read your heartfelt words about the temporary closure of the Tollgate Restaurant. Your 39 years of loyal custom and the wonderful memories you shared there paint a vivid picture of a cherished community place. The carvery, the celebrations, the...More

Reviewed 23 January 2024

What’s happened? No staff, no atmosphere, no restaurant or bar. Unfortunately The Old Tollgate has quickly become a shadow of its former self. A glorified B&B guesthouse. The restaurant side has completely gone. No bar, no lunch or evening meals. The rooms are still okay...but now over priced. The breakfast that is included is poor. Gone has the full English, good choice of various fruits, yogurts, cereals and porridge it’s replaced with an Englishman’s attempt at a continental breakfast. A slice of smoked salmon and a couple of slices of cheap packet ham. No breakfast staff on hand to welcome guests, used tables not cleared and we had to ask for choices to be refilled, orange juice, croissants and coffee. We have been staying here for 7/8 years, back in the Best Western days but this will no doubt be our last time. Thank you and goodbye.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate McIntyre, General Manager at The Tollgate Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2024

Dear GrumpyBaz, Thank you for your feedback. We're truly sorry your recent stay didn't live up to the vibrant experience you've come to expect. The hospitality landscape has shifted, and like many businesses, we've had to adapt. While closing the restaurant was a difficult decision,...More

Reviewed 22 January 2024

On and off for years I have visited the Toll Gate Carvery and have always had amazing meals and have always been left eager to go back. This Christmas and Boxing Day I was left disappointed with my meals. The starters at the Toll Gate...had always been wonderful; this year instead of going up and helping yourself to a bit of all the starters, a chosen starter was brought to you. The salmon starter I had was delicious but very small, with a minuscule piece of bread. That wasn't too much of a problem as it left more room for the main Christmas meal. However, the vegetarian main meal options were not appetizing at all. For the Christmas Day meal the vegetarian wellington looked all dried up and very stodgy, I asked how long it had been sitting there and was told half an hour but it looked like it had been cooked hours beforehand and just kept warm. The nut roast looked really odd it was like a brick and really was the worst nut roast I have ever eaten, my friend who also had the nut roast said they were not impressed at all. For myself I would not want to eat the nut roast again The brussel sprouts had been cooked in bacon so there were none for people who just wanted the veg. On Christmas day there was no other green vegetables at the carvery. We asked if it was possible to have some brussel sprouts without meat and some were brought to our table but they had not been cooked sufficiently and were raw; nobody at the table could eat them. I do not know why the kitchen staff cannot simply put a fork in veg to see if it is cooked as these raw inedible vegetables should not have been served up to us; I simply cannot understand how kitchen staff cannot manage to cook vegetables so that people can actually eat them, it must be about the easiest thing to cook in a kitchen. The desert selection was not as good as it has been in the past, the deserts offered were very stodgy and chocolatey, the fruit alternative was a sherry trifle which looked very nice but consisted of blackberries and cranberries and was not nice. On Boxing day the same situation with the starter, and the vegetarian wellington and the nut roast; there was broccoli but it was raw and again nobody could actually eat it because it hadn't been cooked. The deserts on boxing day again were rather sickly and stodgy, in the past the deserts offered at the Toll Gate have been well thought out and appropriate, a good cheese cake and sherry trifle or fruit cocktail. Christmas Day cost £100 a head and Boxing Day £50, without drinks. For that price I expected a much better meal, quite frankly I have eaten much better cooked vegetables and vegetarian options at pubs and inexpensive carveries, I hope the Toll Gate is able to improve back to how it used to be; it used to be a really special carvery but it seems that it isn't anymore, until it improves I think there will unfortunately be a decline in its once high popularity.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate McIntyre, General Manager at The Tollgate Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2024

Dear Divehappy19, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your experiences at the during Christmas Day and Boxing Day lunch. We are truly sorry to hear that your meals fell short of your expectations, especially considering your history of enjoying wonderful...More

Reviewed 13 January 2024

When booking for our customary family post-Christmas lunch I was dismayed to see the change in menu and the bad reviews. However, I went ahead and was pleasantly surprised by the helpful and informative service provided by Jess and Patricia, hoping this was a good...omen for our forthcoming visit. On arrival we were shown to the table we requested, and were pleased to see tasteful festive decorations around the room and charming crackers on the table. The chairs had been refreshed with new covers and everywhere looked clean and tidy. When our starters arrived, with dietary requirements noted and adhered to, we were amazed at the size of the portions and the quality of the food. Later at the carvery the chef engaged in friendly conversation with us while serving exactly what we selected from the considerable choice available. There was a wide selection of vegetables and sauces, all piping hot. We all commented on how delicious the main course was. The meats were cooked to perfection and the vegetables were tasty and tender, a great improvement on experiences in past years. Our meal was rounded off to perfection with a lovely dessert. We all thoroughly enjoyed our meal, and everyone has voted to return!!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate McIntyre, General Manager at The Tollgate Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2024

Dear luckyladyofleisure, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your lovely review of your recent family post-Christmas lunch at our restaurant. We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience and that everything exceeded your expectations! We are especially happy...More

Reviewed 6 January 2024

Stopping over in the hotel, popped in for our favourite roast carvery...excellent as always. Plenty of veg and meats to choose from. Will be back...again..and again :-)More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate McIntyre, General Manager at The Tollgate Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2024

Dear Turtle5954, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback on our roast carvery! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience as always, finding both the variety of meats and vegetables to be excellent. Your continued loyalty means the world to us, and...More

Reviewed 5 January 2024

£100 per head for a New Years Eve Dinner and Dance only to be served Lamb Breast as the main meal, Lamb Breast !!!! the cheapest, fattiest cut of meat money can buy, who on earth sanctioned this and felt it was okay as the...main meal, I am not going to comment on anything else, this dish alone was a destroyer...................More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate McIntyre, General Manager at The Tollgate Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2024

Dear G6999FEchrisw, Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience at our New Year's Eve dinner celebrations. We sincerely apologise that the lamb breast did not meet your expectations. We truly hope that the entertainment throughout the evening helped to make your New...More

Reviewed 28 December 2023

Terrible experience. Booked specific table for Christmas lunch months ago and checked it a week before we were due to visit, only to be told on arrival at the restaurant we could not sit there and then put on a squashed side table near a...walk through with no apology given. Had to ask where the chef was so we could have our carvery served Meal not very hot Had a jug of water without any glasses to drink from Ten per cent added to bill for poor service. Skeleton staff. Have been going to this restaurant for years. Never again. Very disappointing.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate McIntyre, General Manager at The Tollgate Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2023

Dear Tonyh695, We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and your loyal custom over the years. We're truly sorry to hear about your less than satisfactory experience. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused during your Festive lunch. We value your...More

Reviewed 28 December 2023

I spent Christmas here as a package with my wife. The room was very good and on Christmas eve I left the hotel at 6am and walked into Brighton which was really good. Christmas dinner was busy and we waited a while for the main...meal but really it was quite good and the service was good despite the number of people there. The shift supervisor was as ever really good, she is always so polite, the receptionist was helping with food service and the chief was really happy despite people moaning about nothing. The cold buffets and the breakfasts were good and I will be going back again as I love staying here.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate McIntyre, General Manager at The Tollgate Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2023

GoPlaces62207700545, Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a wonderful review of your recent Christmas stay at The Tollgate. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to make your Christmas special. We're...More

Reviewed 26 December 2023 via mobile

Ruined. The Tollgate used to have an amazing carvery which we visited as a family many times over the years. It's USP was an amazing cold buffet selection of starters. They've stopped that. We paid £50 a head ( which they demanded full payment in...advance for ) for the boxing day carvery. They had 5 starters listed on a tatty misprinted menu, but despite being the first people to order at 12.15, they had run out of two of the five. The carvery had yesterday's reheated soggy and burnt sprouts , soggy carrots , and completely under cooked broccoli. The gammon was under cooked almost to the point of being rare so was inedible and salty. No organisation, they sent 4 tables up to the buffet in one go. We had to ask 3 times for a jug of water for the table. There is no table service for drinks ( their loss , we only had one set of drinks because we couldn't be bothered to go up to the bar ). This is possibly one of the worst carvery's I have visited this year. Such as shame the new management have ruined what was a unique restaurant full of atmosphere. I guess others have already discovered how bad this place is now given how empty the place was on boxing day ( we have never seen it so quiet ) A total rip off and we won't be returning.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate McIntyre, General Manager at The Tollgate Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2023

Dear James C, We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and your loyal custom over the years. We're truly sorry to hear about you were disappointed with You Boxing Day Carvery. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused during your visit....More

Reviewed 21 December 2023

The most disappointing and embarrassing evening out we had taken our friends as a special birthday treat to them Firstly we thought we’d arrive and have a nice pre dinner drink The seating area was lacking any atmosphere at all rather like sitting in a...rest home lounge Then we went into the dining room which is so dated and needing refurbishing the chairs were all rickety and falling to pieces The food was really disappointing the choice of meat was okay but the potatoes and vegetables were terrible everything wasn’t hot enough When mentioned this to the waiter we were told that it was because it was coming towards the end of service 7.30 Really !!!The brandy sauce had been so watered down it didn’t taste of brandy or custard just yellow water We certainly won’t be returning again As I said it was extremely embarrassing !!!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate McIntyre, General Manager at The Tollgate Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2023

Dear H8988KEANGELAR, We were very sorry to read about your resent experience during your fiends Birthday dinner and we are disappointed that you felt the evening fell short of your expectations on this occasion. Next year we are looking forward to some exciting renovations in...More

Reviewed 13 December 2023

This is not the first time we have come here to use the restaurant for an annual get together. However, since lockdown, the service has gone downhill. Even more so now it is no longer a Best Western place. Although the food was very good,...the service was very slow. If I was in charge of the carvery, I certainly would not allow the server to use the same knife for all the meats. The worst bit though was the bar. They could do with having the drinks that most people like. The alternative to the Bombay Sapphire that we were advised was horrible and tasteless. They also had trouble pulling the Harveys Sussex Best Bitter. Instead of taking the usual 2-3 pumps for a pint, they were having to pump it 12 times. They knew there was a problem with the Sussex but did not have the staff to sort the problem out. The one pint of Harveys I had, I left because it did not taste anything like I have been used too. There would have been no point in complaining to the bar person because he didn't seem to know what he was doing sometimes and had to keep asking what had been ordered when there was more than a couple of drinks. I will be voting to give this place a miss when we decide on our next annual dinner.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate McIntyre, General Manager at The Tollgate Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2023

Dear BigmanBrighton, Thank you for your resent visit and for you feedback, we are disappointed that you were not satisfied with the service from our restaurant team on this occasion and the the selection of drinks that we provide at our bar. We have addressed...More

Reviewed 12 December 2023 via mobile

We had a excellent pre Christmas Lunch with family on Monday. We had read some of the previous comments but were pleasantly suprised by the Friendliness of the staff and the quality of the Carvery lunch. All the meats and veg were delicious and the...Christmas pudding with brandy sauce excellent.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate McIntyre, General Manager at The Tollgate Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2023

Dear Wander28178024779, Thank you for your resent visit to The Tollgate and for your 5 star review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your pre Christmas lunch with us and the friendly service from our team. It means the world to us that you enjoyed...More

Reviewed 6 December 2023

We have used this carvery for years and had our wedding reception here, but sadly todays lunch will be our last visit. Cold food, overcooked dry veg, slow service, and overpriced,More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate McIntyre, General Manager at The Tollgate Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2023

Dear MarionlZ5931CA, We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and your loyal custom over the years. We're truly sorry to hear about your less than satisfactory experience. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused during your visit. We value your feedback...More

Reviewed 1 December 2023

Dreadful, salmon roulade was still frozen in the middle and the mushroom and brie an deputy had uncooked pastry on the bottom. The barman served a shandy instead of alcohol free lager and refused to replace it! Would not eat there again. There was no...hot water in the lavatory.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate McIntyre, General Manager at The Tollgate Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2023

Dear Marrees2022, On behalf of the entire team at, please accept our sincerest apologies for the disappointing dining experience you had during your recent visit. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention. We are committed to...More

Reviewed 25 November 2023

We went for a birthday breakfast the food and service was brilliant. We enjoyed a wide selection of both full english and cold selection of breakfast.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate McIntyre, General Manager at The Tollgate Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2023

Dear jpc11001j, We are delighted to read you enjoyed your Birthday breakfast at The Tollgate and thank you for letting us know your feedback. I will pass your kind comments on to all of the team. We hope to welcome you again soon. Best Regards...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Castle Inn Hotel
700 reviews
.11 miles away
Tottington Manor Hotel
324 reviews
1.92 miles away
Findon Manor Hotel
704 reviews
4.22 miles away
Blagdons Manor
55 reviews
4.67 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Rising Sun
104 reviews
.62 miles away
Mamma Mia Restaurant
186 reviews
.82 miles away
The Castle Inn Hotel
351 reviews
.12 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St. Mary's House & Gardens
106 reviews
.49 miles away
South Downs Way National Trail
72 reviews
.57 miles away
Bramber Castle
166 reviews
.08 miles away
The Steyning Bookshop
24 reviews
.89 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
patriciadU2802JN
7 November 2022|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Spyeder | Reviewed this property |
Go somewhere better!
1
Vote
John J
14 February 2022|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from sue n | Reviewed this property |
Smart casual as it should be.
0
Votes
Ambassador663086
19 April 2019|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from davidhI9306BQ | Reviewed this property |
Bank Holiday Monday . 2 Courses £ 15.95 PP Telephone 01903 879494.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE TOLLGATE HOTEL & RESTAURANT, Bramber - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Tollgate Hotel & Restaurant

Yes, The Tollgate Restaurant is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Tollgate Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 3.5