We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Owl Tea Rooms

White Lion St | Janaway House, Holt NR25 6BA, England
+44 1263 713232
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good10%
  • Average10%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“doughnuts” (2 reviews)
“pudding” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Asian, British, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
White Lion St | Janaway House, Holt NR25 6BA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The most exciting Sunday Brunch Menu in Holt! Favourites of ours are Mushrooms on sourdough toast and Sweet potato toast with crushed avocado, chorizo and soft poached eggs. The doughnutellas and cherry and pistaccio cake are pretty special, amongst many other unusual options. Very clean...More

Thank Gusitwo
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'd been here a number of times before the recent change of ownership and found the good food and relaxed service enjoyable. Now the menu has changed this must be one of Holt's best restaurants. I can highly recommend the Ruben (Salted beef Sandwich). I'd...More

Thank _Goated
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hi my husband and I came in for our first visit over the weekend and just wanted a coffee. We were impressed at the state of the art coffee machine and the layout of the shop but my husband asked for a double macchiato which...More

Thank capetownbird
Claudia P, Owner at The Owl Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am very sorry to hear that you had a poor experience of our coffee on Sunday. We have new staff who are undergoing training at present and I agree that they should have known about a macchiato. I can only recommend that when something...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a tea rooms that we have often frequented in the past, for lunch and their amazing pasties. It has changed hands this year and I believe that it has improved in some ways whilst moving to something that isn't my "cup of tea"....More

2  Thank John W
Claudia P, Owner at The Owl Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your frank and honest review of The Owl. I'm sorry to hear that you found the menu less appealing. We are currently reviewing some of the old dishes and indeed trying out some new ideas, as well as keeping the traditional sandwiches,...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a little gem of a place that offers lovely home made lunches and afternoon tea. This is the second time we have visited here and we are not disappointed.

Thank SanH1
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First visit since the Owl was taken over and sorry to say but very disappointed. What happened to the ambience of what was a traditional tearoom. I am all for change but to go in a see stark bland wall and most uncomfortable chairs and...More

Thank keywood22
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited The Owl as we were disappointed by the poor quality and inattentive staff last time we visited Byfords. This was much better with lovely hot chocolate and tasty home made Victoria sponge. We'll be visiting The Owl again next time we are in...More

Thank Martin B
Reviewed 13 June 2017

We have visited this cafe before, excellent food and cakes all cooked on the premises and all reasonably priced. The staff were all very friendly and made us feel welcome

Thank lewisNassington
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Devastated to visit The Owl and see it's transformation from cosy, quirky Tea Room to canteen style eatery with ridiculously uncomfortable chairs, reminiscent of my school days. Barely enough room on a table for two for tea and cake, definitely not enough room for a...More

Thank nt763
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

This was our first visit since the tearoom reopened and we weren't disappointed. We chose to sit outside in the sunshine which was wonderful, it's a great secluded area surrounded by plants and is nicely tucked away. The food was lovely and freshly made and...More

Thank fortiesgal
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Folly Tearoom
602 reviews
.11 miles away
The Black Apollo
234 reviews
.14 miles away
Horatio's
243 reviews
.05 miles away
The Barn
154 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Holt Antiques & Interiors Centre
28 reviews
.88 miles away
The Gallery, Picturecraft
11 reviews
.10 miles away
Bircham Gallery
8 reviews
.05 miles away
St Andrew's Church
11 reviews
.02 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
emmadfield
2 June 2017|
Answer
Response from Claudia P | Property representative |
Not st the moment thanks. We are fully staffed for weekends.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$7 - US$10
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:30 - 14:30
Tuesday
08:30 - 17:00
Wednesday
08:30 - 17:00
Thursday
08:30 - 17:00
Friday
08:30 - 17:00
Saturday
08:30 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: White Lion St | Janaway House, Holt NR25 6BA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Holt
  • Phone Number: +44 1263 713232
Description
The Owl Tea Rooms is a stylish cafe and tea rooms with traditional values in picturesque Holt. Whether you fancy a cream tea or a pecan pie, a salt beef sandwich or a glass of wine, The Owl is a perfect place to indulge yourself. Enjoy our secluded pation garden or intimate Georgian interior, Tuesday - Saturday, 8.30am-5pm and Sundays for brunch, 9.30am-2.30pm.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing