We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Barn

££ - £££Cafe, British,
3 Appleyard, Holt NR25 6AR, England
+44 1263 714001
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good25%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (43 reviews)
“salad” (21 reviews)
“friday fish” (2 reviews)
Open Now
08:45 - 17:00 Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3 Appleyard, Holt NR25 6AR, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Being rated as the best cafe in Holt, we expected a high standard. My wife had the tomato and pesto soup of the day. It was literally boiling hot and took her a very long time to eat it. It came with very ordinary sliced...More

1  Thank Robin2512
Reviewed 5 days ago

Friendly service and the food arrived very quickly. We sat outside with the dog in a nice courtyard setting. The breakfast was excellent.

Thank gunnerjohn64
helenthebarn, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

So pleased you enjoyed your time at The Barn; and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to serving you again sometime

Reviewed 5 days ago

The Barn can be hired for a private function and that's what I did for my birthday celebration. Helen is a wonderful chef so I was very confident that whatever we had would be wonderful and it was. There were 14 of us, everything we...More

Thank NorthNorfolklass
helenthebarn, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your birthday celebration. It was a privilege to share in your celebration - thank you

Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a lovely cream tea and staff very friendly. Clean and outside seating. Have to Use public car park very central . Holt is a lovely place to visit.

Thank Anne B
helenthebarn, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review. So pleased you enjoyed your cream tea and your visit to Holt. We hope to see you again

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed the sandwiches at The Barn and sat outside on a nice day. All in all quite pleasant, but the local bottled beers weren’t to our taste. Service was under pressure, but they coped well enough at peak time.

Thank Hungry_Weka
helenthebarn, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This looks like a lovely place but we were sorely disappointed. We waited for about 15 minutes before ordering, despite asking twice, which should have been the cue to leave. When our food arrived we were charged £9.50 for a small sandwich (of supermarket-style sliced...More

Thank MatthewSS676
helenthebarn, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

In response to your review, I would like to reassure you that we use bread from the local baker who slices it for us. If you had said at the time that you were disappointed with your freshly made local crab, mixed leaves and lemon...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very busy, but lots of seating both inside and out. Is also an upstairs area, which is often overlooked - people see lots of taken tables and don't think to look upstairs. Light snacks, salads, sandwiches or something more substantial for lunch, and home made...More

Thank Susan L
helenthebarn, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do appreciate it. So pleased you enjoyed your time at The Barn; please call in again as we'd love to serve you again

Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

My first breakfast at this cafe tucked away just off the High Street in Holt. The food was well cooked and importantly served on a hot plate. At £8.20 it is good value for a full breakfast. Good coffee too. One (small) criticism, the toast...More

1  Thank James F
helenthebarn, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review. So pleased you enjoyed your breakfast. Just to reassure you, we buy out bread from the local bakery who slice it for us. Please do call in again as we'd love to serve you again

Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

Really impressed!! Full English was very good and so was the scrambled egg and salmon. The staff were lovely and welcoming. I would definitely come again.

1  Thank emmawinn04
helenthebarn, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We do appreciate it. So pleased you enjoyed your breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you to The Barn again

Reviewed 27 July 2018

Popped in for a quick snack and was delighted with quality of the food and quick friendly service. Well located in a small cluster of small independent shops close to the Budgens car park.

Thank danjude2013
helenthebarn, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Thank you so much for your positive review. We all appreciate the fact that you took the time to write it. We would love to serve you again so do please call in when you are next in the area

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Holt
The Lawns Hotel
265 reviews
.20 miles away
The White Cottage
14 reviews
.44 miles away
The Pheasant Hotel
802 reviews
2.85 miles away
Maltings Hotel
63 reviews
3.35 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Black Apollo
307 reviews
.02 miles away
The Yare
170 reviews
.13 miles away
The Folly Tearoom
752 reviews
.11 miles away
Horatio's
318 reviews
.11 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Letheringsett Watermill
50 reviews
.88 miles away
Holt Antiques & Interiors Centre
35 reviews
.50 miles away
Bakers and Larners of Holt
23 reviews
.10 miles away
The Gallery, Picturecraft
15 reviews
.13 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
emmadfield
3 June 2017|
Answer
Response from helenthebarn | Property representative |
Hi Thank you for your enquiry. I'm really sorry but I don't at the moment.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$39
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Monday
08:45 - 17:00
Tuesday
08:45 - 17:00
Wednesday
08:45 - 17:00
Thursday
08:45 - 17:00
Friday
08:45 - 17:00
Saturday
08:45 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3 Appleyard, Holt NR25 6AR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Holt
  • Phone Number: +44 1263 714001
  • E-mail
Description
When exploring Holt we hope you discover The Barn. Nestled amongst delightful individually owned shops in Appleyard, which is just off Budgen's car park, rests this European bistro style cafe. Here you can eat breakfast, enjoy a coffee, have a glass of wine with your lunch and indulge in tea and cake. Sunday is brunch time. You can also surf the net, as free wi-fi is provided, and relax with the free newspapers. The friendly service, warm atmosphere and good food is sure to make you want to keep on returning as many people already do.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing