We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (412)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveller rating
301
62
21
13
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
301
62
21
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cakes crisps toasties salad jacket potato quiche cream tea tea room lovely place great coffee lovely visit friendly and efficient service outdoor seating off the beaten track full english lovely lunch bracing walk
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 24 October 2023

What a lovely find. Lovely choice of cake and scones and for the coffee drinkers they even offer a cafetière. Lovely warm and friendly service. Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2023

We had a nice lunch and the staff were friendly. We were going to have a short walk and then return for a cuppa and cake. However the owner chased us out of the car park. He was rude and mean. And a little investigation...has shown that he makes google entries and blames the neighbours when others complain of the same thing. What a shame. Won't return and we'll be telling others not to bother. You've been rumbled!More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophie Barham, Owner at Dingle Hill Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2023

Why hello there Roving42229438405, In the infamous words of PJ & Duncan, ‘let’s get ready to rumble’ How is it that of the thousands and thousands of lovely customers that we welcome to the tearooms who are all absolutely capable of understanding that we are...More

Reviewed 14 September 2023

A bit tucked away but once you've found it the meals and service were excellent. Good mixture for toasted sandwiches, jacket potatoes, flans, etc on the menu.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2023

There are some unfortunately crass reviews on this site from people who somehow expected to get served after closing time or thought it important to review that the dogs drinking water wasn’t good, etc. In contrast my experience today was that the tearoom continues to...be a lovely peaceful location to enjoy both good quality coffee and an enjoyable lunch. My wife and I arrived after a walk from Walberswick and were revived by excellent flat white coffees which were fairly large and contained two shots. I then enjoyed a chicken and avocado sandwich together with salad and crisps which was substantial. My wife thought her cheese scone and chutney was delicious. The atmosphere was very relaxed and we chatted with other happy visitors. The staff who served us were friendly and helpful. We’ll look forward to visiting again in the future.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2023

Dingle hill tea rooms is a lovely place to visit in the summer for a bite to eat in there well maintained outdoor dining areas in a peaceful environment with pleasant friendly staff, I’ve been coming here for years as I live in the area....We bring our family here when they visit. They have a good selection of food and drinks. We usually opt for the cream tea which used to be lovely. Sadly the scones were so dry you couldn’t cut it in half to put the jam and cream on as it just crumbled into multiple pieces! For all the years we have visited we got two scones now you only get the one😢 sorry but I won’t be recommending or returning again as we were so disappointed after I had told everyone they were in for a real treat.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophie Barham, Owner at Dingle Hill Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2023

Hi Nick, Sorry to hear you won’t be returning. Just a note to say that at the start of the season in 2023 (March) we changed from two scones in the cream tea to one as we were getting so much waste as two was...More

Reviewed 19 August 2023

After a long circular walk we were delighted to see the ‘open’ sign at roadside for this tearoom. We walked the 150 yards looking forward to a refreshing cuppa. Sadly met with a very curt response that tearoom had shut five minutes previously. I asked...the chef politely saying we only wanted a tea but again no eye contact and a dismissive response. Big mistake - HUGE! We won’t be returning and certainly won’t recommend.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophie Barham, Owner at Dingle Hill Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2023

Oh Catherine, You’ve made a big mistake here - HUGE. Let me begin… 1. If you had simply scanned down you would have seen that the ‘OPEN’ sign also has the opening times (funny that) on it which indicates when we are open. 2. Our...More

Reviewed 14 August 2023

Stayed 2 nights in their BandB rooms . Recently modernised . Spotlessly clean and spacious room . Wide comfortable bed. Very well provided with in-room amenities - tea, coffee, biscuits , bottled water , soaps and shampoos etc . Really great breakfasts with wide range...of options . Short walk , 250m , through Dunwich village to the beach . Great value for moneyMore

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2023

Delicious breakfasts and cakes,all staff very friendly and helpful,chef knowledgeable of local foodie venues, highly recommend

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2023

Arrived around 12.45 for a bite to eat, not to busy so sat down, ordered one flat white and 2 main courses which we were very much looking forward to. One hr later no drink or food? So got up got a refund which wasn't...a problem, but owner seemed pleased to be shot of us!! A few other tables departed as well, we all had a chat about the shocking service. Just very unorganised. Shame as I only live a few miles away and not a fleeting day visitor.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophie Barham, Owner at Dingle Hill Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2023

Hi Louise, I wasn’t actually there today, I broke my leg earlier in the year and was being treated to a little stay in London now I can walk again. Anyway, it was my Mum & fellow owner who gave you your money back today....More

Reviewed 18 July 2023

Have visited three time recently and service and food excellent. The Chef and front of house staff were pleasant and accommodating, and the breakfasts were good if a bit expensive. We used to visit when it sold plants, but it has moved on now offering...barn-stays accommodation. I used to know the owner-Amanda- from years back when she sold eggs from markets with her former husband, so I wrote to her congratulating her on her tea-rooms, and asking if my wife could have the recipe for the delicious cheese scones. I emailed four times, and thought the request was testimony to the kitchen skills. Alas no reply, which I thought discourteous, even a ‘sorry, we don’t do recipes’ but not a peep. Sad, but maybe too posh now🤔 to reply,so won’t return-unfortunately, but worth a visit if you have not beenMore

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophie Barham, Owner at Dingle Hill Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2023

Hi Alan, Let me get this right, you've said that everything was lovely, the staff were great & all your needs were accommodated for but you've got the hump that it took me 3 days to reply to an email about a scone recipe?! Alan,...More

Reviewed 10 July 2023

Popped in whilst I’m dunwich for a quick coffee and bite to eat, with my partner, daughters and dog from the moment we arrived where made to feel very unwelcome, the dogs water looked grim, and food orders very slow and staff didn’t look happy...or very welcoming when bringing our food out!! Not impressed at all!! I know next time I’ll be going straight past the place and to the cafe near the beach where the food and staff are so pleasant!!More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophie Barham, Owner at Dingle Hill Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2023

Hi Peter, There are rather a lot of exclamation marks in your review, enough to make me think something really really bad must have happened when you visited us. Alas, we’ve all been scratching our unhappy heads and we can’t seem to remember anyone fitting...More

Reviewed 2 July 2023

Lovely visit to Dunwich marred by feeling ridiculed and embarrassed publicly at Dingle Hill Tearooms after requesting clean water in the buckets for a friend’s dog, which was refused. I was told I was being ‘very silly’ not wanting the dog to drink dirty, stagnant...water and that the dog wouldn’t care. As a local business owner I know the price of courtesy and manners, it means repeat business and recommendations. There is no excuse for being rude to paying customersMore

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophie Barham, Owner at Dingle Hill Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2023

Hello Emma, I do remember this & just wanted to clear a couple of things up. Firstly, we absolutely welcome dogs and we welcome thousands of dogs a year to the tearooms. The water bowls are filled up each morning for dogs to use &...More

Reviewed 27 June 2023

Passed this tearoom many times on our stays in Walberswick, but this is the first time we have stopped. It is a really well run, large venue and the proprietors obviously take pride in the quality of their food and service. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2023

This is a great place for breakfast. The food, service and surroundings all top class. The weather was brilliant so eating outside under the sun umbrella was excellent. (We came the day before to have lunch and that was equally good) Twice in two days...- well it has to be good to return!!More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 May 2023 via mobile

Half term visit, the place was really busy but my goodness were the staff working their socks off to get people served and seen to. We had a lovely lunch in the sunshine & had possibly the best coffee and walnut sponge we’ve ever had...here! Highly recommend!More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Ship at Dunwich
1,301 reviews
.36 miles away
The Westleton Crown
1,352 reviews
2.29 miles away
The Swan
1,279 reviews
3.99 miles away
The Crown Southwold
954 reviews
4.01 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Snug Tea Room
75 reviews
2.24 miles away
The Black Dog Deli
125 reviews
2.79 miles away
White Hart Inn
77 reviews
3.11 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Dunwich Heath and Beach
485 reviews
.59 miles away
RSPB Minsmere
857 reviews
2.24 miles away
Holy Trinity Church Blythburgh
35 reviews
3.11 miles away
Alfred Corry Lifeboat Museum Trust
224 reviews
3.22 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Chris R
10 September 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from SophieBarham | Property representative |
Hi Chris, No need to make a reservation, we have a walk in policy at the Tearooms with the 150 seats outside. Les is correct though, currently all the seating is outside. Each table has a lovely linen parasol to protect... More
1
Vote
tracy c
30 May 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from SophieBarham | Property representative |
Hi there, yes we do - one has disabled access and also a baby changing station. Hope this helps!
0
Votes
Joanne R
29 May 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from SophieBarham | Property representative |
Hi there, We have a car park on site but there is a short incline walk to the tearoom itself so please feel free to ask a member of staff upon arrival and we’ll move the sign so you can drive up directly outside and drop... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

DINGLE HILL TEAROOMS, Dunwich - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Dingle Hill Tearooms

Yes, Dingle Hill Tearooms offers takeaway services.

Yes, Dingle Hill Tearooms is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Dingle Hill Tearooms is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5