We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The 12 Lost Churches

££ - £££
Bar, British
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Cliff House Holiday Park | Minsmere Road, Dunwich IP17 9DQ, England
+44 1728 648996
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 89: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed at cliff house campsite over Easter, lovely clean camp site. Site right next door to some fantastic walks, beach within 5 mins walk. Sunday roast Well what can I say "fantastic" best roast I've had in a while 👌

Helpful?
Thank Michele G
Steve15here, Director of Sales at The 12 Lost Churches, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and I will make sure that the team see your review as this just encourages them to continue with their endeavours! regards Steve More 

Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Hmmmm. I can't make my mind up... Food beats service! Excellent food but rather unprofessional young staff. Some wouldn't be lost in Fawlty Towers... In the end we just saw the funny side of the antics, it didn't put us off as the food was so good! A little training wouldn't go amiss. Had three meals here whilst camping at... More 

Helpful?
Thank gemima74
Steve15here, Director of Sales at The 12 Lost Churches, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review us as we take all our reviews very seriously. We served over 500 meals this weekend so this weekend is a massive test for the team and systems, up to the Easter weekend we were serving around 150 so a very large increase! Andy our GM wishes to have a chat with you... More 

Saxmundham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

This was an impromptu dinner for me and a friend, service was excellent, staff were very warm and friendly, (we were served by sam and daniel) food was exceptional!! (I had the battered haddock) The staff catered to our every need. The restaurant and bar itself is stunning. It mixes old and new in a way i haven't seen before... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessicashawty
Steve15here, Director of Sales at The 12 Lost Churches, responded to this review

Thank you for the fab review our team do try very hard to ensure that everybody has a great experience and comments like yours goes a long way to making them feel appreciated by not only us! Very kind comments on the quality of the bar and restaurant we did go over budget somewhat by 100% !!! :-) Steve More 

Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Called in here for a snack lunch--very acceptable menu at reasonable prices.Food was well presented & tasty.Excellent chips!!Barman very pleasant

Helpful?
Thank Sandra O
Steve15here, Director of Sales at The 12 Lost Churches, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us our team love reading great ones! But all reviews are important to ensure we are moving in the right direction. Regards Steve More 

Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Our 3rd visit here after last Easter bank holiday....the place looks ready to host Halloween parties,I cannot imagine who was the author of this signature...the blood red painting for "12 Churches"...funny horror ....good place to host Dracula stories,cheers!

Helpful?
1 Thank 19dmckay64
Steve15here, Director of Sales at The 12 Lost Churches, responded to this review

Unusual review 1 out of 5 just because the decor isn't to your taste but you have been here 3 times!!! Boo! The ghost of Cliff House will haunt you for this one!! Steve More 

Norfolk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Food fantastic, staff lovely what more can I say. Sunday carvery was one of the best I have had. Even the dog was given a biscuit.

Helpful?
Thank myrh
Steve15here, Director of Sales at The 12 Lost Churches, responded to this review

Proud is an understatement! Thanks to our team well done and thank you for the fab review. Steve More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

We had a meal which was very nice average bar menu but done extremely nice and tasty . Had gammon and chips

Helpful?
1 Thank Trishaf71
Steve15here, Director of Sales at The 12 Lost Churches, responded to this review

Nice and tasty is a lovely comment thank you! We have a separate evening menu which is more substantial so we look forward to welcoming you back again! Regards Steve More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2017

We gratefully went in during a heavy rain shower that interrupted our walk. Certainly a much smarter than average holiday home eating/drinking facility, spotlessly clean, great use of older structure and local historic information. But, the bar food was ordinary to say the least, and the layout was curiously characterless and unwelcoming. A bad piece of interior design...and not a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Paulthediner
Steve15here, Director of Sales at The 12 Lost Churches, responded to this review

I suppose in life you have those that walk around with their eyes closed and would prefer to buy frozen food from Iceland! Soulless is not a description any normal person would put to the 12 Lost Churches! The design is contemporary, hard wearing with granite and flag stones, heated by an eco friendly ground heat source system. The menu... More 

Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We visited this restaurant and bar in Dec 2015 when we stayed at Cliff House Holiday Park. We could not fault it then. The food, the staff and the atmosphere were all excellent and we ate there several times. So, we decided to return for 2016. Sadly, it did not live up to our expectations. The new year's eve meal... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank howesd
Steve15here, Director of Sales at The 12 Lost Churches, responded to this review

I was there on the News Years Eve. The fixed menu was pretty good and and although the tables were staggered some people turned top late so this brings its own pressures. You complained about the venison which I didn't personally try, the kitchen apologised and gave you more which you finished! £13 for a meal on news years eve... More 

Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2016

This was our 3rd visit, and our friends 2nd visit to this very friendly Sunday Carvery. Once again excellent food served by very friendly staff, with a good selection of vegetables. Very roomy and bright restaurant. Once again thank you. Will visit again.

Helpful?
Thank meddie2016
Steve15here, Director of Sales at The 12 Lost Churches, responded to this review

Many thanks for your fab review. Our team work extremely to make sure the service and food is great. I love the carvery so am also a big fan!!! Thanks once again. More 

Travellers who viewed The 12 Lost Churches also viewed

 
Middleton, Suffolk
 

Been to The 12 Lost Churches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$33
Cuisine
Bar, British
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cliff House Holiday Park | Minsmere Road, Dunwich IP17 9DQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Dunwich
  • Phone Number: +44 1728 648996
Description
A superb contemporary bar restaurant at Cliff House Holiday Park in Dunwich Suffolk. The restaurant is open to all and booking can be made by telephoning us. Our Locally sourced food is popular with all and on a Sunday we run an excellent Sunday Roast. We also have a full Wedding Licence and hold birthday parties, Christmas Parties in fact you name it we can do it! Our staff are always on hand to help you and you will find all of us very friendly.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The 12 Lost Churches staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?