We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
PRICE RANGE
£40 - £40
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Dog Friendly
Reviews (590)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
589 results
Traveller rating
209
193
96
48
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
209
193
96
48
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips pork belly sunday roast the pub ship inn an evening meal log fire range of beers many years suffolk coast car park conservatory dog pint beach egg cider
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a three night stay with our dog, the staff were all very friendly and welcoming. The food was of a good quality and although extremely busy in the evenings we were able to book a table easily.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Ship Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Rlqb, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Ship at Dunwich. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wonderful traditional old English pub with the most fantastic food and most friendly staff....dog friendly rooms and a great setting

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Ship Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Webby120, thank you for taking the time to write this kind review for us at The Ship at Dunwich. Reviews like this give us motivation! We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you’ve got fond memories of the Ship, kids playing on lawn, great beer and atmosphere, do not spoil them by going there again now. Booked for 2, ate at gone 3, how do they hope to manage in high season. Small fish and chips...was very small, more like a childs portion. Potatoes with the roast dinner boiled not roasted and a soggy yorkshire, parsnip near to raw I don’t mind dogs in a restaurant, but this was next level, dogs barking and yapping, dogs fighting, felt more like the backroom at crufts. The lovely lawns at the back are now terraces so they can get even more tables shoehorned in. Little eye contact from staff, no thank you, come again or even goodbye, just eyes down at the tillMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Ship Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Nicholas C, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. If only you had made us aware on the day we might have been able to turn your experience around. Please reach out to...More

Reviewed 13 January 2024

What a disappointing experience. We waited over 45 minutes for our food order, despite watching four tables of guest arrive and get served before us. We asked the waitress after half an hour when our food might arrive but she didn’t get back to us,...so we asked another waitress ten minutes later who said the kitchen were just cooking it!. When the food did arrive we were told they were very busy. which I guess means that no mistake were made by the kitchen in prioritising and that it’s acceptable to receive such poor service. The food wasn’t worth waiting for and we left feeling no one gave a damn. What a shame.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Ship Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2024

Natasha S, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. When you have an opportunity, please reach out to us at 01728 648219 so we can try to restore your...More

Reviewed 11 January 2024

Beautiful room (Seafields). Incredibly comfortable, clean and with very well stocked tea and coffee. Nice little extra touches with the radio and lovely bathroom toiletries. The staff were exceptional - very friendly and attentive. The ambience in the bar area for the evening meal was...lovely and cosy and the food itself was faultless. The breakfast menu was extensive and the service was swift. A wonderful experience all round and we will definitely be staying again. Thank you!More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Ship Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2024

Hello Timbv8397tu, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. Thanks again for the recommendation, and have an amazing day!

Reviewed 3 January 2024

6 of us plus 1 child and 2 dogs (some being fussy eaters !) enjoyed a really great meal. The waitress lady was charming - friendly, chatty, professional. Everyone enjoyed their meals, including our 2 dogs who had the dedicated sausages from the Dog menu...! A big walk on Dunwich beach was required afterwards to walk off a lovely lunchMore

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Ship Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2024

Hi Markwhaymand, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Ship at Dunwich. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed 4 October 2023

Lovely pub with helpful friendly staff. Variety of places too eat and drink. . Very tidy and well designed. Lovely garden at the top.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Ship Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2023

J2143x, reviews like this give us motivation and help us ensure we provide high-quality care.

Reviewed 29 September 2023 via mobile

Lovely food. Fish and chips £15… chicken Caesar salad £15. 3xdble V&T 2xdble G&T incl SVC £106!!. I thought that was a bit steep. Lovely pub and nice atmosphere so I guess that also has a value.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Ship Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2023

Hello Mike - Jayne L, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback.

Reviewed 19 September 2023

It was a sunny and warm day and so sitting outside in the rear garden. Flavoursome food and Adnams ales. Thats what summer is about.

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Ship Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2023

Thanks for the kind words!

Reviewed 12 September 2023

We booked lunch for our anniversary having been here a few years ago. We found the experience disappointing, it was looking tired and a little shabby with attention to detail lacking. Food was ok but not what we would have expected from the Chestnut Group...(the Westleton Crown being a good example, very good) Won’t be returning sadly.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Ship Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2023

We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at The Ship at Dunwich.

Reviewed 1 September 2023

We booked this restaurant a good few weeks in advance for a special family meal. As soon as we arrived the woman running the restaurant said we would need to be finished in time for another table coming in 1.45 hrs after our reservation- phrased...as if we’d come in off the street and she was doing us a favour squeezing us in. So rude - she even asked as we were leaving if we were the table of 7, so desperate was she to get rid of us… Food was distinctly average- mediocre fish and chips for very inflated prices. Dad’s pudding never arrived. I certainly wouldn’t recommend- wish we’d gone to a nicer, more welcoming spotMore

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Ship Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2023

Jenny R, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and we regret to find out that this was not the case.

Reviewed 1 August 2023

Busy pub . Waited 35 minutes for order to be taken We had booked for Sunday so we could have Sunday lunch . When we arrive we were told the beef had finished. Didn't like anything else on menu except fish and chips . Very...expensive with a large wine a pint of beer costing £24 ! The meal.itself was nice but nothing outstanding which cost £20+ Was sat where dogs are allowed and wasn't given a choice .( nothing against dogs by the way) but I'd have rather not have had to. Had to ask for menu then to be served which was told he'd be right over but still took ages. Overall not the best experience . Wouldn't eat there again sorry! Had to be honestMore

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Ship Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2023

Hi Kalab100, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one.

Reviewed 30 July 2023 via mobile

Really disappointed with this afternoons visit to The Ship inn! After speaking to a friend of mine working for the Chestnut group and other friends who have had food and drink there before we decided to pop to Dunwich for a Sunday afternoon drink and...snack! On arriving at the Inn we found a table in the outside courtyard which was fine. I went to the bar area which is small but perfectly fine if people respect the fact that other people need to get to close to it to actually order or carry drinks away from it! There was 3 rather loud men holding court at the bar and were in everyone’s way!! When they actually let me through I queued behind someone already being served then another couple, I waited for both couples to be served which did take some time as only one guy serving and not that quick! To then watch him completely ignore me and he proceeded to serve two separate guys at the end of the bar that clearly came after I started queuing! I did make a comment that these guys were clearly locals but that I also was! Moving on and eventually got served. I ordered both drink and 3 starters. After only waiting a short time the food arrived, and I mean arrived!! The young girl plonked the plates on the table in front of me, she made no eye contact and did not ask which dish was for who! She did not ask if we needed cutlery or condiments and to be completely honest she looked a a miserable as sin!! I must say that have not received this service at The Ship Inn before but have not been for approx 2 years! Both the food and drink were lovely but being an ex land lady from a village pub not that far away I was very disappointed with todays visit and service!More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Ship Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2023

Miranda W, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. Your feedback is valuable to us and we hope to have the chance to restore your faith in the future.

Reviewed 10 July 2023 via mobile

Only stayed one night while I was working in the area. Had a small double at the top of the property. Small but very clean and comfortable. Slept well. Food and beer in the pub downstairs was great - fish chips and a pint were...excellent. My only tiny gripe was breakfast didn’t start until 08:00 and I had to be gone by then to go to work. I’d happily stay again next time I’m in the area.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Ship Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2023

Geoffers10, we are so happy to read such a great review about The Ship at Dunwich! Thank you for your kind words!

Reviewed 25 June 2023

We had a very disappointing and expensive lunch here last week. The battered fish was good but the thick chips were undercooked. The sardines on toast were tasty but tiny, hardly bigger than those in a tin. But the most disappointing dish was the vegan...‘sharing’ plate which cost £17.00. Firstly, the dish was only big enough for one person so not sure where the sharing idea came from. It consisted of one flatbread with a scattering of (commercially produced) falafel on top Given the interest in vegan food this dish was both dull and insubstantial . Surely one imaginative vegan dish could be offered at The Ship? I have given 2 stars as the staff were friendly and the garden area was pleasant . We also ate at Flora’s Tearooms in Dunwich and their food is much better quality and much, much better value.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Ship Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2023

Please contact us at 01728 648219 when you have an opportunity, and we will be more than happy to try and turn your experience around.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Ship at Dunwich
1,301 reviews
.00 miles away
The Westleton Crown
1,354 reviews
2.52 miles away
The Swan
1,284 reviews
3.94 miles away
The Crown Southwold
954 reviews
3.96 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Dingle Hill Tearooms
412 reviews
.35 miles away
The Snug Tea Room
75 reviews
2.47 miles away
The Black Dog Deli
125 reviews
2.77 miles away
The Eels Foot Inn
469 reviews
3.16 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Dunwich Heath and Beach
485 reviews
.68 miles away
RSPB Minsmere
857 reviews
2.14 miles away
Alfred Corry Lifeboat Museum Trust
224 reviews
3.15 miles away
Holy Trinity Church Blythburgh
35 reviews
3.38 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
linda l
28 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from 602NickE | Reviewed this property |
Send an email
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE SHIP INN RESTAURANT, Dunwich - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Ship Inn Restaurant

The Ship Inn Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4