We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
An award winning traditional family run pub with a full range of cask marque awarded Adnams Beers! We have an everyday bar menu and Our specials change daily to reflect the season and accommodate the fresh ingredients we are able to source from our suppliers. Our aim is to offer great, home style food at a great price. We believe in using local suppliers who are able to provide us with the freshest ingredients.
US$5 - US$27
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Bar, British, Pub
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Dog Friendly, Non-smoking restaurants
Reviews (1,499)
Filter reviews
1,497 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Traveller rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips burger sandwiches salad the pub great atmosphere roaring fire beer garden favourite pub adnams beer excellent beer locals and visitors ghost ship visiting southwold nelly pubs dog
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 30 November 2021

Visited Southwold for the last 20 years and this used to be the go to place, always start the holiday with a pint at The Nelson, please note not THE NELLY!!. Used to always be guaranteed a warm welcome by the original owner/landlord, think the...current lot are a relative of his, but have no understanding of how to run a pub. beer is warm and flat, service is miserable, bar is dirty, wine is poured free pour into glasses no measures. ADNAMS have a wordMore

Date of visit: November 2021
Adnams Management Team, Marketing at The Lord Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2021

We are saddened to read your comments and we are sorry that on this occasion we did not meet our usual standards. Thankyou for taking the time to leave a review and hope that on your next visit you have a more pleasurable experience.

Reviewed 28 November 2021 via mobile

We had a few drinks in here the first night we stayed in Southwold. The staff were really friendly and chatty. Experienced a number of different drinks in here and also got the low down on where was good to visit during our stay. Got...talking to a few locals and also a few contractors who were staying in Southwold. Found the pub to be very clean and staff to be very knowledgable about the area and its history. The staff at this pub are a credit to Adnams Brewery !More

Date of visit: November 2021
Adnams Management Team, Marketing at The Lord Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2021

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you were able to join us for a few drinks whilst staying in Southwold and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 28 November 2021

Visited early on Friday evening. Great! - nowhere near as rammed as previous occasions and loads of space all around the bar. Still, no seats left so we had to stand BUT despite all the room we were then told not to stand at or...near any part of the bar which basically means standing right next to people sat at tables. Then we were told not to even put our glasses down on the bar as it would "only encourage others to congregate around the bar" - so how do we eat our peanuts - with our drinks balanced on our heads? Then we were asked to move again and stand in front of a blazing open fire that was like a furnace. No smiles, no explanations, just robotic instructions from miserable robotic staff. So we drank up and left, like a few other people given the same treatment and who we bumped into again later that evening. Having said so many nice things about this place to the rest of our group visiting Southwold for the first time we messaged them to meet us elsewhere. Not sure whose policy this is but we didn't encounter such nonsense in any other pubs. If you want a nice pub atmosphere don't bother going to the Lord nelson.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Adnams Management Team, Marketing at The Lord Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2021

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read your comments, we are sorry that we did not offer our usual warm hospitality and traditional pub feel when you visited, this is out of the norm for our experienced team. Our team are trying...More

Reviewed 14 November 2021 via mobile

Such a warm friendly pub. All the better for not selling food atm which has allowed people to chat to each other like it was back in the day. The staff are doing a fantastic job. Well done Roxy.

Date of visit: November 2021
Reviewed 14 November 2021

Such a great venue for a drink in a friendly and really interesting traditional pub. Huge history and super location in the heart of the lovely town, and with a very nice pub garden. Great landlady and team.

Date of visit: November 2021
Reviewed 13 November 2021 via mobile

The Nelson has been mine and many of my friends in particular NMT4 ‘s favourite pub for over 20 years but now under the new management , Roxy and a few of her team including Ade , Lucy and Henry the place is quickly returning...to normal . We were all there last night and we quickly connected with several other tables of locals and visitors and their dogs of course . It was like “ Old Times “ Please give this pub a shot , look forward to catching up😊 JohnnyMore

Date of visit: November 2021
Reviewed 3 November 2021

Despite being only a few hundred yards from the brewery we were served two FLAT pints (Southwold Bitter & Ghost Ship) our ladies were poured two glasses of wine WITHOUT measures ! The main bar was untidy (needed a good clean) & the locals were...noisy & rowdy. Every time they went outside for a "fag break" they took turns to leave the front door wide open without any reproach from the landlord & landlady. Get a grip Adnams management : THIS PUBLIC HOUSE OF YOURS IS A DISGRACE.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Reviewed 31 October 2021 via mobile

Says on the website that they open at 11am on Sundays - struggled up the high street in heavy rain and wind only to be turned away as ‘we open at 12’ ( shouted from the kitchen area !)

Date of visit: October 2021
Reviewed 22 October 2021 via mobile

The bar staff waited until we had a pint and were sat at a table before they told us they don’t allow children at tables in the bar area. No obvious signs to indicate this ‘rule’. Given all other tables inside were full, outside in...the cold was the only option. A disappointing and unwelcoming start to our family holiday in Southwold.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Reviewed 11 October 2021 via mobile

Well worth a visit, good friendly helpful staff, sadly the kitchen wasn’t available, but the log fire was!! Beer and gin were superbly kept and reasonably priced, nice garden, dog friendly a warm welcome awaits you, we loved it and will return for more Lemongrass...ginMore

Date of visit: October 2021
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Swan
941 reviews
.08 miles away
The Crown Southwold
771 reviews
.12 miles away
Blyth Hotel
919 reviews
.43 miles away
Randolph Hotel
556 reviews
1.01 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
133 reviews
.05 miles away
Sutherland House Restaurant
1,966 reviews
.21 miles away
1,069 reviews
.07 miles away
Enzo's Pizzeria
429 reviews
.19 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Adnams 'Make Your Own Gin' Experience - Southwold
130 reviews
.09 miles away
Southwold Lighthouse
506 reviews
.11 miles away
122 reviews
.09 miles away
St Edmund's Church
79 reviews
.19 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
28 December 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Davidsanchez7 | Property representative |
Usually 12-2.30 pm 6pm -9pm and 12-4 Sunday. Times can change on bank holidays though so best to call on the day.
9 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from suzanne o | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, I've just seen this! It is indeed, we had our dog with us and there were lots of others in there too!
6 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from LordNelsonSouthwold | Property representative |
We don't have a television I'm afraid. Might be shown at the sports pavilion on the common.. No pub in Southwold will be showing it. Regards. David.
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Lord Nelson

The Lord Nelson is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5