We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bull Inn

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Location and contact

PRICE RANGE
US$5 - US$20
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Grill, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Television, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
51
10
3
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
51
10
3
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cajun chicken sunday roast mash pie sea bass ham pudding the pub lovely home cooked food hot tasty good sized car park lovely garden service was excellent food was amazing great atmosphere warm welcome lovely meal
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Second visit. Once again seated bang on time. Whist the menu is small, it was still different from the last time we were here & offered plenty of choice. The food arrived nice & hot in good time and the potions were just right. We...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank buib7
PeterP6044, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Good afternoon, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your lovely review, especially as this is the second one in such a short period,it really is very much appreciated. We're delighted that we managed to meet the expectations that you had from your...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great night. Good food. As always. Good service. As always. Very warm welcome. Always. Great entertainment. Bar was heaving. Well done all involved. We live coming to The Bull.More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank kazamataz1525
PeterP6044, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We’re glad that you enjoyed your evening, it was definitely a fun night and your right, we were incredibly busy!!! Our serving team did a fantastic job, keeping everyone topped up with food and drink!! We will be booking “Lovinia”...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Situated on the A259 coast road between Bexhill and St.Leonards-On-Sea, The Bull Inn looks a little dated and shabby from the outside but don't let this put you off. This was our first visit and we chose a Sunday lunchtime. Traditionally furnished with dark woods,...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank phily826
PeterP6044, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good afternoon Thank you for posting such a lovely review of your recent visit with us, and for going into so much detail, which we hope other users will find useful. We greatly appreciate the time customers take to let others now their opinions. I’ll...More

Reviewed 17 January 2019 via mobile

Have driven past this pub hundreds of times,as I live in Hastings, decided after reading the reviews,I would take my mum and stepdad here, unfortunately the fish and chips weren't nice,the fish was wet and soggy,the batter was soggy and thick..my stepdad had chicken supreme,...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank xfactor74
PeterP6044, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good afternoon Joanna, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback, and we are very sorry that we did not meet up to your expectations, during your recent visit. It was a shame that neither Pauline nor myself were around at the time...More

Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

Went here for Sunday lunch. I managed to book a table at short notice & we were seated bang on time. The menu is small, but still offers a good choice. The food was excellent, as was the service. Very good VFM. We will definitely...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank buib7
PeterP6044, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2018

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and we’re delighted that you enjoyed your impromptu visit for Sunday lunch. As you mentioned it is always good to book a table in advance (even if it’s the same day) as...More

Reviewed 5 November 2018

After having lunch here last week, which was really good, we decided to book for Sunday Lunch. It was really very good piping hot tasty plenty of it we really enjoyed it. Delicious home made apple crumble too. Warm and cosy atmosphere and lovely friendly...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank ryers
PeterP6044, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and we're very pleased to hear that we lived up to the expectations after your first visit. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our hardworking team, as...More

Reviewed 30 October 2018

Popped in to the Bull for lunch today with my mum , It was our first time eating here and wont be our last , food was so good we will be back sunday for a roast .. The baguette was so lovely , descent...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Metty36
PeterP6044, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, after your recent visit. We're pleased that you and your mum enjoyed your lunch, and hope that you'll also enjoy your Sunday roast, when you are able to visit us, for what...More

Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Fantastic place. Haven’t been for a few years but it didn’t disappoint. Great staff and fab food at a good price. We will definitely be back.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Clarky260
PeterP6044, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2018

Thank you for your very kind review, and we're delighted that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us. It is especially nice when customers of previous owners come back and enjoy their visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back, when you're next in...More

Reviewed 20 September 2018

Found the Bull online, as they served pie & mash and liquor,it was excellent ,my wife had the fish & chips which she also thoroughly enjoyed,the service was excellent and the hosts friendly and welcoming,if you like a good old London pie and mash this...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank john c
PeterP6044, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Good afternoon John, It was lovely to meet your wife and yourself the other day, and I know that my wife enjoyed chatting about your mutual love of the traditional pie, mash & liquor. We are very pleased with how much of a popular addition...More

Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Came here with my granddaughter for a Sunday lunch. She wasn’t the best behaved child but the staff were amazing in making her feel welcome and enjoying her experience. They have a lovely garden with a little children’s play area. We had the turkey dinner...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank james58818
PeterP6044, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Good afternoon James, Thank you for your review, and it was lovely having you and your family visit us recently. We are delighted that you enjoyed our Sunday roast, and that your granddaughter enjoyed the play area. As we are a family run, family friendly...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
The Northern Hotel
48 reviews
1.58 miles away
Royal Victoria Hotel
986 reviews
1.94 miles away
Eagle House Hotel
174 reviews
2.15 miles away
Grand Hotel
64 reviews
2.16 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 144 nearby restaurants
Golden Palace
47 reviews
.71 miles away
Truly Scrumptious
11 reviews
.43 miles away
The Catch Traditional Fish and Chips
76 reviews
.80 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 24 nearby attractions
Egerton Park
261 reviews
2.03 miles away
Vine and Country Tours
7 reviews
.02 miles away
Bexhill Beach
527 reviews
1.80 miles away
Twisted Bunny Bar and Cocktails
15 reviews
1.96 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Peter B
21 September 2018|
Answer
Response from PeterP6044 | Property representative |
Good afternoon Peter, Thank you for your kind comments about your recent visit. We will not be opening for food this Christmas day (although we will be open for drinks), but will be serving pre-Christmas meals from 24th... More
1
Vote
81marvin88
1 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Charlie G | Reviewed this property |
Not sure. Why not ring them and ask. They are very friendly there.
0
Votes
LesWiggins
27 June 2015|
Answer
Response from ramseyafc79 |
6pm finish 4pm Sunday’s
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing