We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

About
Java and Jazz is now open, from coffee, fantastic pizzas and salads, great vegan and health options!
PRICE RANGE
US$6 - US$18
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
CUISINES
Pizza, British
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Gift Cards Available, Reservations, Buffet, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveller rating
252
97
42
26
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
252
97
42
26
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza salad buddha bowl tofu cakes pasta dishes poached eggs bread pudding vegan breakfast great coffee forest row rattlesnake cafe tomato latte
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed today

Fast and polite service from multiple members of staff, we were seated immediately, even without a booking and served extremely fast. The food was delicious, I especially recommend the rosemary garlic bread!

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

I went with my sister to a late lunch very disappointed I ordered a Jazz pizza the bacon topping was raw ! The glass they severed my drink in was chipped and the cutlery was dirty we won't be going back ever again.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Jamie, General Manager at Java & Jazz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi @CarolbZ7158NK, I apologise for the service you were given on this visit. Unfortunately without any further information I cannot investigate this and why it happened. It would be great if you could get in touch with a date and a rough time you visited...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Inexcusably bad service last time I went, they totally forgot we had ordered, it didn't even occur to the staff that there were two people sitting there with an empty table trying to catch the eye of any member of staff in the vicinity for...40 minutes, turns out the person who took our order had forgotten to actually give it to anyone who was making the food! When we did get out food I had to return the lasagne to be put back in the oven as it was still cold in the middle. Maybe it had been frozen? Sadly I am unable to see if things have improved as they have decided to stop accepting physical money (cash) here. Shame as have had good pizza here in the past, and very nice salad. if the cash situation is resolved I am happy to try again however for now luckily there is ELMO'S PIZZAs which is at the top of the hill, within the Hop Yard.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Jamie, General Manager at Java & Jazz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi @Paulsbuniconcream, On first read I can only apologise for the service you received this is a very rare occurrence however it has happened before and we are constantly training our staff to ensure we reduce these occurrences. This is not the service we aim...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As always, an amazing experience. I went for the portobello mushrooms on sourdough for breakfast and it was heavenly, along with lovely coffee. Rosie provided excellent service and Jamie was amazing as always. Can’t wait to go back. 🙌🙌🙌

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Jamie, General Manager at Java & Jazz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi @TopHeavyKen, We are so glad you enjoyed your breakfast! Our staff Jamie & Rosie were incredibly happy to have seen this and will be rewarded well! We hope to see you again very soon! Java & Team xx

Reviewed 6 March 2022

First of all the food was great. I have been to Java and Jazz a number of times over the years and it has always been good. However, service could really do with a kick. Table was not cleaned before us, we had to ask...for cutlery. Drinks take an age to come come. Plates aren't cleared away without us asking. Appreciate training of new staff, but basics are being missed. There were plenty of staff available. We were there for almost 2 and a half hours, mainly waiting. Again, the food was very good. I just hope the service improves before our next visit.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
John G, Owner at Java & Jazz, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you food the feedback. We will use this is our staff training. Really pleased you enjoyed the food.

Reviewed 5 March 2022

Lovely staff, very attentive, placed us in a perfect private area as we were a group of nine, including children so avoided disturbing other patrons. Lovely food, good value and good quality. We had brunch here but friends have been for dinner (without children) with...equally good impressions. Would recommend.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Jamie, General Manager at Java & Jazz, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2022

Hi Louise, We are glad you enjoyed your recent visit with us it sounds like you had a great time! We hope to see you again very soon! Java & Team x

Reviewed 1 March 2022

Met a friend for lunch today, really generous and delicious Nicoise salad and Hawaiian pizza, we appreciated the very friendly service and everywhere was spotless! (what a cool loo too :D !!) Thanks so much!

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Jamie, General Manager at Java & Jazz, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2022

Hi Q406XKlarab, We're so glad you enjoyed! We hope to see you again very soon! Java & Team x

Reviewed 27 February 2022 via mobile

I ordered and received pizza. I didn’t think much of but the vegetables were a little crunchy and the chicken was a little rubbery. I was then up all night with stomach cramps and vomiting (to mention a few of the symptoms). I rang to...get it resolved with the restaurant and was told that they were too busy to deal with it then and would get the manager james to call us back later. I then rang again at a later date and was told that he wasn’t in. Clearly they do not care about resolving complaints about health and hygiene otherwise this would have been resolved a few weeks ago. Hence the review now online. Will not be ordering from there again. Horrendous experience and awful service.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Jamie, General Manager at Java & Jazz, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2022

Hi Foodgeek99, I am sorry you had a bad experience on this visit. Please do get in contact with us via info@javaandjazz.co.uk so we can resolve this with you directly. Thanks, Java & Jazz

Reviewed 23 February 2022

Wow! What can I say other than the food was incredibly tasty, fresh and very more-ish. We wanted to try this restaurant during lockdown, but unfortunately they were having staffing issues for delivery (as many places were). This evening we suddenly remembered this place and...gratefully placed our first order. Delivery driver very friendly even though the poor guy couldn’t find our house number due to our poorly lit street, incredible food and we will definitely order again very soon. Thanks guys!More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
John, General Manager at Java & Jazz, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2022

We're glad you enjoyed! Hope to see you very soon! Java Team x

Reviewed 16 February 2022

Have eaten here often and always come away happy, staff are friendly and food is reasonably priced! Will be returning!

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
John, General Manager at Java & Jazz, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2022

We're incredibly glad you enjoyed your visit! We are looking forward to seeing you soon! Java & Team x

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Brambletye Hotel
310 reviews
.02 miles away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
2,709 reviews
2.00 miles away
Travelodge East Grinstead
217 reviews
2.61 miles away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
1,033 reviews
4.00 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Thai Time @ Forest Row
99 reviews
.15 miles away
Helin
185 reviews
.11 miles away
Roochi Real Indian Cuisine
287 reviews
.14 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Forest Row Cycle Hire
26 reviews
.16 miles away
The Horse Drawn Carriage Company
16 reviews
.86 miles away
Ashdown Gallery
6 reviews
.13 miles away
Hammerwood Park
11 reviews
.83 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
JPB38PD24
23 March 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from 1The_Kiwi_Traveller | Property representative | Reviewed this property |
Java and Jazz has a resident jazz pianist playing on Thursday nights.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Java & Jazz

Yes, Java & Jazz offers takeaway services.

Java & Jazz is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5