We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ark

) #1 of 30 Restaurants in Newhaven ££ - £££ , British,
West Quay, Newhaven BN9 9BP, England
+44 1273 517808
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good25%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“tapas” (47 reviews)
“paella” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
West Quay, Newhaven BN9 9BP, England
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 40 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2017

have been several times always pleasant people and the food is always good but is not full menu great for walkers to have a nice lunch and a pint.views over the port and riverMore

1  Thank williaminkpin
Dietcoke163, Owner at The Ark, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We constantly monitor our food & insist on consistent fresh, high quality from our suppliers. We have deliveries daily to ensure our produce is at its peak when it reaches you, freshly prepared from our professional chefs. As you...More

Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

I've been drinking at this pub now for years. I've found (more often then not) it to be an OK deal. Not cheap but not greatly expensive. HOWEVER, my partner and I met here after work and on this occasion, with the bar man not...More

3  Thank ThePhantom2015
Dietcoke163, Owner at The Ark, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Good morning, I can only deeply apologise. It would greatly help me to rectify the situation if you would contact me to give me a description of this member of staff. My personal number is 07512890807, I am the owner & my name is Penny....More

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

Visited The Ark a couple of times now, met friends on Sunday for lunch and the food was to the exceptional standard as per normal. The staff can not do enough for you and always greet you with a smile.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Dietcoke163, Owner at The Ark, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Good Afternoon, Thank you! A diamond, is what you are! Every review is a gem to us. I care immeasurably about my business & am hands on at every point, my family are equally supportive, giving a warm, friendly & welcoming atmosphere. Thank you again!

Reviewed 23 March 2017

Stunning food and staff that could not be more warm and friendly and chatty Tapas is of exceptional standard, best I have ever eaten. Dog friendly too. I absolutely love this placeMore

2  Thank valperry
Dietcoke163, Owner at The Ark, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Thank you! We do have lovely people as customers & also lovely staff! We are family run & endeavour to provide the best service achievable. You will often see some of my family members even pop in to work for us in their spare time,...More

Reviewed 22 March 2017

no atmosphere, the waiter would have had a coronery if he tried to smile,, the food ( Piella ) was disgusting and tastless and actually mde 2 of my party ill. there was noone else there so maybe we should have worked that out how...More

3  Thank Pete W
Dietcoke163, Owner at The Ark, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Good Afternoon, We have received no complaint from you at all at the time, or any communication apart from this.It is impossible for us to rectify any situation if we are not given the opportunity to do so. We also do a check back &...More

Reviewed 20 March 2017

My wife and I went for lunch with her parents and our little Jack Russell dog having been recommended by a lovely local with a black spaniel .First time for us and my in -laws who live in Seaford and it will certainly not be...More

Thank JGPCroydeN_Devon
Dietcoke163, Owner at The Ark, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Thank you for your feedback! All of us are enthusiastic about The Ark, & giving our customers a great experience. We love our four legged friends, who bring our two legged friends in! Thank you for your review.

A TripAdvisor Member
23
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Arrived Sunday lunchtime without booking hoping there would be a table free. Staff very welcoming and accommodating. Great selection on menus. Asked to make a change to my meal which was fine. Food great! Staff great! Beer great! Nice location for a walk before and...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Dietcoke163, Owner at The Ark, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Good Afternoon, Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate you taking time to review us. I am so pleased we were able to offer high standards in every area of the whole Ark experience! Thank you again.

Reviewed 18 March 2017

I have been going in here for drinks for a few months while working in Newhaven, Great little pub with a lovely atmosphere. Decided to eat in here with some colleagues and was disappointed with my choice. I had the "Westcountry" mussels, the meats in...More

2  Thank Fraggleview
Dietcoke163, Owner at The Ark, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Good Afternoon, I do remember your party. The mussels were a premium product & were indeed fresh West Country mussels. That day we sold out & had very good feedback on them. The mussel portion sent as a sharer to the other table was a...More

Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

We were a little disappointed on this occasion, the sangria was not as good as usual with very soggy sloppy little pieces of strawberry every mouthful. The Tapas was ok, the paella seemed smaller amount with less meat and the price had gone up! The...More

3  Thank ATBrighton
Dietcoke163, Owner at The Ark, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Good Afternoon, Apologies if we did not come up to standard, we always replace products when there is any disappointment, so please, always tell us at the time & we will rectify it for you. The paellas have not altered in size, however, due to...More

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

The Arc is happily our local and on Sunday we had a Sunday roast for the first time and we certainly weren't disappointed! It was the best roast we've had in ages - the rib of beef was delicious!!

1  Thank Jellard
Dietcoke163, Owner at The Ark, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

I totally agree, scrumptious! The roasts are going down a storm. The lamb shank & beef rib is slow roasted to fall off the bone, accompanied by lovely fresh veg, roasties & a rich gravy. Thank you for your review!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Luna Rossa Italian Restaurant Cafe & Bar
185 reviews
.31 miles away
Padella D'oro
117 reviews
.08 miles away
Newhaven Coffee House
50 reviews
.16 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Newhaven Fort
227 reviews
.72 miles away
Paradise Park
294 reviews
.63 miles away
DFDS Seaways - Ferry Crossings Newhaven-Dieppe
139 reviews
.10 miles away
The Jolly boatman
6 reviews
.43 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Paul S
Hi DO u have gluten free options?
20 September 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from | Property representative |
Good Afternoon, Yes we do have gluten free options, one of which is an aubergine & chickpea curry, please ask our staff as there are also other tapas options. Thank you for your enquiry.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$25
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant features
Television, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 00:00
Monday
11:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 00:00
Thursday
11:00 - 00:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: West Quay, Newhaven BN9 9BP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Newhaven
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 517808
  • E-mail
Description
A beautiful bar & restaurant, with riverside views, serving food all day, every day, cooked by our professional chefs daily. Traditional & Tapas menu. Table service inside. A lovely large beach garden. Customer car park. Live music Wednesday & Saturday evenings, & Sunday afternoons. Bar opens at 11am & closes at 12 midnight.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing