We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Smugglers Rest

££ - £££, British,
South Coast Road | Peacehaven, Newhaven BN10 7BE, England
+44 1273 586593
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent13%
  • Very good19%
  • Average15%
  • Poor19%
  • Terrible34%
Travellers talk about
“mash” (5 reviews)
“sea views” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
South Coast Road | Peacehaven, Newhaven BN10 7BE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited on a Sunday early evening. Roast Beef which was okay but not warm enough. Husband ordered loin of pork with stuffing. Received what appeared to be roast ham with no stuffing. We then ordered one dessert. Nothing appeared for at least half an hour...More

Thank 69andy348
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been here twice. First time the service was atrocious. We asked for extra gravy for our roast dinners and were waiting 40 minutes and asked four different people - eventually we went to the counter and refused to leave until we got what we had...More

Thank Susie R
General Manager A, Manager at The Smugglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Susie R, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. We would like the opportunity to find out how we can better assist you in the future. If you are...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

How hard is it to make a roast? Clearly too difficult for this place. Meat was served cold and looked and tasted very dry. Roast potatoes cold and rotten.Other veg soggy and cold. Presentation too awful. This place has really gone down over the years....More

Thank Roomchecker007
General Manager A, Manager at The Smugglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. Please contact us at 441273586593 so we can work with you to make this right.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Waited 50 minutes for. Caesar salad and a ham, egg and chips , gave it up as a bad job.Could also do with a good clean upholstery was very dirty.

Thank Wendy G
General Manager A, Manager at The Smugglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wendy G, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. Please reach out to us at 441273586593 so we may assist you in moving forward towards a resolution.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ok I'll try to be as fair as possible Should of guessed what we were in for as we walked in 2pm on a Sunday, it should be busier Shown to a lovely seat by the window "waitress service" (we're informed) where we could watch...More

Thank comanche762
General Manager A, Manager at The Smugglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. We'd like the opportunity to discuss this with you. Please reach out to us at 441273586593 at your earliest convenience to discuss how we can turn your experience into...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went there last Sat. First thing - shift manager was mouthy and snide. Like everyone there that day, we waited over an hour for cold food. We weren't warned of it. When I asked a waitress about it the shift manager shouted over "It's an...More

1  Thank Lee B
General Manager A, Manager at The Smugglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Lee B thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to us directly at 441273586593 when you have a chance. Thank you, and we look forward to hearing...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have visited this pub a few times for food over the years and always found it a bit hit or miss. They seem to be under new management and are renovating some of it but clearly are struggling to cope with running the place in...More

Thank Jeffina78
General Manager A, Manager at The Smugglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Jeffina78 thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. If you are willing to give us another chance, please contact us at 441273586593 so we can understand your situation better in order to try and turn your experience around. Thank...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We waited an hour for the food to arrive. I wasn’t told about any delays whilst ordering. This was challenging with two small children. When the food arrived it was terrible! Scampi, pizza, chicken wings and kids meals were all really cold and truly horrible....More

4  Thank 500_Miles_More
General Manager A, Manager at The Smugglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

500_miles_more, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Please reach out to us so we can work towards a resolution. Thanks again for bringing this to our attention. We hope to hear from you soon. All the best, The Smuggler's Rest...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped here for a bite to eat with a friend. Nice inside. Good views looking over the sea. Plenty of parking outside. Food was good. Just fancied something small so had portion if fries and coffee with a small slice of cake which was very...More

Thank Fordy2014
General Manager A, Manager at The Smugglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Fordy2014, we really appreciate your positive review! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed 16 September 2017

we have eaten here before when it was called the badgers rest,while in the area we went for a meal,what a mistake,I asked the barman for some ice,m/c broken,I asked for a slice of lemon or lime didnt have any.I asked for a meal on...More

1  Thank Biffothebear69
General Manager A, Manager at The Smugglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Biffothebear69, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. If you are willing to give us another chance, please contact us at 441273586593 so we can understand your situation better in order to try...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Telscombe Tavern
211 reviews
.12 miles away
Baan Sai Thai Restaurant
21 reviews
.31 miles away
Maloncho Indian Takeaway
169 reviews
.38 miles away
The Peacehaven Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery
198 reviews
.69 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Sky High Trampoline Park
47 reviews
1.13 miles away
Kipling Gardens
61 reviews
1.78 miles away
St Margaret's Church
17 reviews
1.75 miles away
Peacehaven Undercliff Walk
12 reviews
1.76 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Smugglers Rest staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$33
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: South Coast Road | Peacehaven, Newhaven BN10 7BE, England (Formerly The Badgers Watch)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Newhaven
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 586593
Description
The Smuggler's Rest in Peacehaven is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing