We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse

££ - £££, British,
78 High Street, Chelmsford CM2 7HH, England
+44 1245 476209
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good22%
  • Average16%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (7 reviews)
“gammon” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
78 High Street, Chelmsford CM2 7HH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Visited this establishment for dinner with two friends and when I realised it was a venue where you had to find a table, take its number and order at the bar, my expectations were not that high. However I was very pleasantly surprised, the wine...More

Thank Nannygel
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Nannygel, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at The White Horse, Great Baddow. We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Best wishes, The White Horse, Great Baddow

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped in for a last minute Sunday roast at 4:30pm. Loads of tables available and we had good choice of where to sit. You have to order food at the bar. Went for 2 roast dinners. Absolutely massive portions and good value for money. Our...More

Thank littletamsin27
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The White Horse, Great Baddow. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything additional we can do for you.

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We was served by Brad and Chloe who were absolutely amazing, I tend to avoid very popular and busy restaurants like this as they can be overcrowded, however I always know that the White Horse staff are attentive and go that extra mile in assuring...More

Thank outrunpabby
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

many thanks for your review. Claire.

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Myself, my husband, our two boys, mum and dad came to have dinner here. It really was lovely food, really nice and clean toilets (important to me). We will come back. Only down side is we heard the bar staff moaning about getting £2 tip...More

Thank katiebabbage
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The White Horse, Great Baddow! Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you; we are more than happy to help!

Reviewed 20 August 2017

Went with the wife and son for Sunday lunch. Attentive staff and friendly, however the Sunday roasts were poor.I had chicken which was very dry, with soggy roasts (the Yorkshire puddings were good). My wife's pork had a tiny bit of stuffing and two or...More

Thank TheChase20141977
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. Please reach out to us at your earliest convenience so we may further assist you in working towards a resolution. The White Horse, Great Baddow 441245476209

Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Went to this pub this evening, always gets mixed reviews, but I must say even though it was very busy the food was exceptional😃 Had starters, mains, all very hot and lovely.. I can recommend the chicken wings and fish n chips, staff very chirpy,...More

Thank stc1969
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The White Horse, Great Baddow. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Visited today for Sunday lunch. Ordered one beef and one pork with stuffing. The beef had one slice and the pork 2 slices with no stuffing ! We also tried to order a side dish of cauliflower cheese but was told they had run out....More

Thank Tinaturrant
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Tinaturrant, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Please reach out to us at your earliest convenience so we may further assist you in working towards a resolution. The White Horse, Great Baddow 441245476209

Reviewed 1 August 2017

I usually visit this place for a drink with my friends and I've never encountered any problems here. They are always well stocked on a vast range of drinks and although I've never eaten here, food is available until 21.00 I think which is a...More

Thank Nick C
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

many thanks for your review. Claire and Team.

Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Lovely Sunday lunch, great value for money, £10 for two courses including coffee! can't beat it!! Great atmosphere, receive a warm welcome from staff, always have a smile, even when their busy😊 just what you want from a local pub😊😊

Thank lisac6846
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

many thanks for your review. Claire and Team.

Reviewed 19 July 2017

This is a welcoming pub for a evening drink with the locals,come along more the merrier Always a good selection of real ales on tap , all day Mondays all real ales £2.49 pint ,rest of the week reasonable prices.Have used the restaurant always had...More

Thank kenrimmell
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Kenrimmell, thank you so much for the positive review! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Restaurant at Pontlands Park
232 reviews
.46 miles away
The Crown
201 reviews
.93 miles away
Russells
208 reviews
.06 miles away
The Kings Head
41 reviews
.21 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Kings Head
11 reviews
.22 miles away
Essex Police Museum
54 reviews
1.60 miles away
Central Park, Bell Meadow and Sky Blue Pasture
18 reviews
1.64 miles away
Riverside Ice and Leisure Centre
59 reviews
1.75 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The White Horse staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 78 High Street, Chelmsford CM2 7HH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Chelmsford
  • Phone Number: +44 1245 476209
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing