We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse

Is this your business?
78 High Street, Chelmsford CM2 7HH, England
+44 1245 476209
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good23%
  • Average15%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
“fish chips” (3 reviews)
“mixed grill” (2 reviews)
“sirloin steak” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
78 High Street, Chelmsford CM2 7HH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

We thought we would try it again after its recent facelift and went there tonight for a meal as a family. We got there before 7 to ensure getting a table and my husband joined us just after 7. We ordered our food straight away,...More

Thank Claudia F
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Claudia F, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. We are working hard to get evreything back on track after our refurbishment, sorry for the delay in getting the meals out. Thank you again for taking the time to let us...More

Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

The new facelift is totally amazing and makes the pub even more welcoming and cosy... the food is also fantastic as usual and the staff are extremely polite and nothing is too much trouble. The new manager Scott is also a fantastic new asset to...More

Thank karen1768
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thanks for the review, we look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

I recently moved to the area and was desperately hoping for a good local pub on my doorstep. Unfortunately this place hasn’t read the script. I’ve eaten here on 3 separate occasions now and there’s a good chance I won’t be trying a 4th attempt...More

Thank DomBro79
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. We would like the opportunity to make this up to you. Please contact our manager at 01245 476209 so we can make your experience a positive...More

Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Popped in Saturday night for an evening meal with my husband, The posh fish and chips was cooked to perfection... absolutely lovely, and great value for money... very friendly atmosphere, lovely ambiance...

Thank lisac6846
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Thanks for the review, great you both enjoyed your evening with us at The White Horse. Look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 9 January 2018

We have an enjoyable evening in The White Horse, popping in for a few drinks with friends. The staff are normally friendly and welcoming and the bar stocks a wide variety that should be to everyone's taste, with the ales on a regular rotation. Have...More

Thank Rob T
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Rob, that's a great review we are happy to read. We hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

We visited on Xmas day 2016 and sat on a small table to have a glass of wine and play cards. When we got there this year they had put chairs across the seating area and we were told to stand in the bar area...More

Thank Tinaturrant
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Hi, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. Please reach out to us so we can work towards a resolution. Thanks again for bringing...More

Reviewed 25 December 2017

As always a very busy night at The White Horse , as frequent customers we expect that , the staff were over worked but as always polite , friendly and helpful , the manager on the other hand , I appreciate he has only been...More

1  Thank rachelhaldane
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

We pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory.

Reviewed 22 December 2017

I came here for an early dinner with three friends yesterday. It was my first visit and, having read the very mixed reviews on Tripadvisor, I was somewhat apprehensive! However.... first impressions were positive. The upstairs eating area was nicely decorated and cosy with a...More

Thank Beverley F
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2017

Thank You Beverley for the review. We are really pleased you had a good meal with us, sorry for the delay we were quite busy with early tables before the larger festive tables were due in. Keep an eye out, we are having a lovely...More

Reviewed 20 December 2017

Went here for a festive meal with a few friends - only 10 of us in total. The starter and the pudding were fine but the main course was below par even for a pub. Unfortunately I had chosen the turkey and was served a...More

Thank sausageEssex
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017

Sausageessex, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. Thanks for bringing this matter to our attention. Thank you for leaving feedback. Please reach out to us at 01245476209 so we may identify ways to improve your experience....More

Reviewed 17 December 2017

This was my first visit to the White Horse and upon first sight I noticed the stuffing bursting out of the chairs located in the downstairs bar - this did provide an indication of what was to come. We were informed that 16 items were...More

Thank jean c
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017

Jean C, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. We are pleased to be able to update you that the pub is having a facelift early next year. Your points about some of the dishes have ben...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in Chelmsford
Pontlands Park
471 reviews
.53 miles away
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
561 reviews
1.19 miles away
Chelmsford Serviced Apartments
63 reviews
1.42 miles away
Boswell House Hotel
48 reviews
1.62 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Restaurant at Pontlands Park
241 reviews
.46 miles away
The Crown
215 reviews
.93 miles away
Russells
221 reviews
.06 miles away
The Kings Head
42 reviews
.21 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Kings Head
11 reviews
.21 miles away
Essex Police Museum
59 reviews
1.60 miles away
Bond Street
18 reviews
1.75 miles away
The Old Court Theatre Chelmsford
13 reviews
1.67 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The White Horse staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 78 High Street, Chelmsford CM2 7HH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Chelmsford
  • Phone Number: +44 1245 476209
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing