We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Robert Burre

££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
183 Burrs Road | Great Clacton, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 4LN, England
+44 1255 318634
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 49: English reviews
maldon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed today NEW

Although the food was OK for pub grub, the wait was totally unacceptable. The two young ladies working front of house were doing the best they could, another member of staff to help them would be a good idea. But the kitchen staff were obviously not able to cope. It wasn't particularly busy in the restaurant , yet it still... More 

Helpful?
Thank johntheaccountant
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This pub is the bloodline of the traditional British pubs. Full of character! We had a hot sandwich and a drink. It was a very nice moment : great food, Ale was nice ( a few choice available), the staff was very welcoming. It was our first time but definitely not the last one: we need to try the dining... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gedryk
Robkirk1, Manager at The Robert Burre, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for your kind review. We would love to welcome you back at some point for meal in our Restaurant. Kind Regards Rob Manager More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Myself and my husband have just returned from Sunday lunch Never complain but felt the need to express my disappointment can honestly say it was the worse roast dinner we've ever had The potatoes were baby potatoes baked in there skins that were black and so obviously been left in the oven for far to long so long in fact... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa D
Robkirk1, Manager at The Robert Burre, responded to this review

Hi There, I'm sorry you have had this experience at The Robert Burre. I would like to invite you back to the pub for a free meal, cooked by our newly appointed senior chef (who wasn't working at the weekend) to show that changes have been made and that the weekend was a one off rather than the norm. I... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Where to start. Firstly we walking into the pub to be greeted by empty glasses all over the place (the barman was busy) We thought we would have something nice to eat seen as we havent eaten here before, so after looking at the fairly good menu we placed our order. Over an hour later our meals arrived, Steak and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mikem152017
Robkirk1, Manager at The Robert Burre, responded to this review

Hi There Thank you for your review and im sorry to hear of your experience. I would welcome you to contact the pub directly and speak to me personally regarding this matter. Im not aware of any complaints being made from customers since i have taken over and our new chef has been appointed. Thanks again and i hope to... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here on the evening of 25th February 2017. It was a first time visit and we did read reviews. We decided that we would see for ourselves as there is a new manager and team in place so felt that we couldn't judge them on unfortunate events recently. We are pleased we did. The manager was very attentive.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia M
Robkirk1, Manager at The Robert Burre, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you so much for your review and im glad you enjoyed your experience with us. We are working really hard to ensure that our customers have the best experience possible and that we listen to feedback. We hope to see you and your friends again soon. Regards Rob Manager More 

Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just had a very nice family meal,wife really enjoyed her chicken rarebit which was served with a nice selection of vegetables which made a change from chips,I had very nice gammon/bacon chops...very tasty.....sweets were also very nice....more people need to try the food here as very quiet at the moment which is probably due to problems under previous management...very nice,friendly... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Gary L
Robkirk1, Manager at The Robert Burre, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of The Robert Burre. I am very pleased you enjoyed your meals and experience and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Kind Regards Rob Manager More 

Colchester UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Haven't eaten here for years but they've recently appointed a new chef. The food was yummy and really great value! There's loads on the menu so you won't be stuck for choice. It's a great ye olde pub atmosphere and we'll definitely be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahl11
Robkirk1, Manager at The Robert Burre, responded to this review

Hi There and thank you for your kind review of The Rober Burre. We are glad you enjoyed your food and experience. We would love to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Rob Manager More 

Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2017

Food was terrible, overcooked and cold when it eventually arrived - customer service a joke - manager told us he was having staffing problems so had cooked our meals himself and felt he had done a good job - he told us he was not a chef and when we said that we should have been told there was no... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 502maureen
Robkirk1, Manager at The Robert Burre, responded to this review

Hi There, I am the new manager of the Robert Burre and have taken over the day to day running of the Pub. I am sorry you have had a bad experience at The Robert Burre but i can assure you this will not happen again! I am in the process of replacing the kitchen staff and Chefs, with a... More 

Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2017

Steak and ale pie was very mediocre,looked and tasted like something bought from tesco for a £1,chips looked like oven chips and gravy was like water,also had lasagna which was just ok,not going back until they can make and cook their own food,over priced for what it is.

Helpful?
1 Thank 750hurrycane
Robkirk1, Manager at The Robert Burre, responded to this review

Hi There, I am the new manager of the Robert Burre and have taken over the day to day running of the Pub. I am sorry you have had a bad experience at The Robert Burre but i can assure you this will not happen again! I am in the process of replacing the kitchen staff and Chefs, with a... More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2017

On a recommendation thought we'd try the Robert Burre for Sunday lunch - in fairness hadn't booked but the boards were outside advertising Sunday lunch - sadly that wasn't the case. No one at the bar, walked round to the restaurant , empty tables and not the slightest smell of food being cooked . Appreciate if you haven't got the... More 

Helpful?
Thank B H
Michael R, Area manager at The Robert Burre, responded to this review

Dear BH, really sorry to see your comments and understand your disappointment. The Pub has just had new management put in last week due to a number of operational issues. Please be assured normal service will be restored and the food back up to the correct standards and consistency from now on. More 

Travellers who viewed The Robert Burre also viewed

 
Holland-on-Sea, Clacton-on-Sea
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to The Robert Burre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 183 Burrs Road | Great Clacton, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 4LN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Clacton-on-Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1255 318634

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Robert Burre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?