We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
British, Seafood, Fast food, Caucasian
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating
Reviews (46)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
15
6
3
6
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
15
6
3
6
16
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 15 May 2024

We went there yesterday after sea life centre never again all of us have been ill today I wish we had checked the reviews we will never return

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We have passed this onto the catering management team.

Reviewed 8 May 2024

Please do not come this place made me unwell and I have spent the whole day on the toilet. We came after being to the sealife centre thinking it would be decently priced and it was £17!! For ONE meal with curry sauce!! I had...sausage and chips so I don’t reccomend at all!!!More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2024

Thank you for your review, we're sorry to hear you experienced a problem. We have passed this on to our management team. We hope you can restore your faith in us.

Reviewed 6 May 2024 via mobile

Like others who have reviewed this place, I cannot believe the fish was as bad as it was. It was literally batter and chips with hardly any flesh in the so called cod. It must have been about half a cm thick. The fish flesh...was yellowy in colour, watery and tasteless and at a guess about a desert spoon of flesh. The chips were overcooked. My girlfriend's daughter who loves chips left them as they were extremely dry and no amount of vinegar was saving them. Just wish had read the reviews before going in. If I had paid full price (we had a 20% discount from Sealife) I would have been more annoyed than I was.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2024

Thank you for your review, we're sorry to hear you experienced a problem. We have passed this on to our management team. We hope you can restore your faith in us.

Reviewed 3 April 2024

Fish and chips was awful please don’t go there fish must have gone through a slicer’s because I never seen fish that bad! Coffee tasted of washing up liquid they said it been. Clear out. lol lots of money for absolutely shocking food

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2024

Thank you for your feedback, we will pass this onto our management team.

Reviewed 10 March 2024

Food awful……service awful…..waste of money and spoilt Mother’s Day. Our food came out in dribs and drabs. The curry sauce looked like wallpaper paste

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Thank you for your feedback, we're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience. We will ensure this is passed onto management for review.

Reviewed 19 November 2023

Went for an early dinner and was not disappointed. Nice clean welcoming restaurant and friendly staff. Food arrived quick and was lovely. Will go again!

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2023

Thank you for your positive review! We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 9 September 2023

Had a lovely day out at the sea front waited till tea time just to be disappointed Fish was bland chips were dry toilet was filthy not happyMore

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2023

Hello, thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear you experienced a problem. We would like to assure you this will be passed over to the relevant managers to ensure that this doesn't occur again. We hope you can restore your faith in...More

Reviewed 5 August 2023

Driven by many times since open and always knew that I would visit one day as that is what I like to do, explore my choices. Here we go! As I walked in and approached the service area on this by tradition a Friday fish...and chip evening, I immediately noticed that there was not an appetising piece of fish on display or mouth watering chip to be seen. Or anything else to be be honest. Well one just had to imagine what they were there for I suppose. No queue unusual too, for a Friday. First question ‘ Sorry are you open’ Yes’. On to the food. ‘Fishcake and chips please’ Apart from being expensive the fishcake was overcooked and dry as a bone so that’s out and the chips well! Having been eating them for many years I can say that on opening the box they were dull and tired looking and yes soft and dry. Oh well at least I now know don’t I.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2023

Thank you for your review - we will ensure this is passed on to our management team for review.

Reviewed 22 July 2023

Absolutely shocking food, overpriced and tasteless - Fish and Chips rule - think they are having a laugh - the kids meals at £7 really !!! Would NOT recommend!

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2023

Hi there, Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent experience with us. We have passed your feedback onto the management team.

Reviewed 7 April 2023

Always come here when we visit Southend. Get off the train at Chalkwell and walk down along the beach. Lovely fish and chips all the time, friendly staff and you’re allowed as many ketchups as you want! Nice seated area outside and you can just...watch the world go by. Seems to do a great trade anytime we’re in and I’d recommend the place to anyone.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2023

Hi Niall, Thank you for leaving us a great review! Glad you enjoy coming to visit us and we hope to keep serving you fish and chips in the future!

Reviewed 27 March 2023 via mobile

Tasteless Fish & chips very expensive , probably frozen didn’t enjoy it at all , the restaurant was clean and modern but the Fish was awful and let what could be a nice venue down .

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2023

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear you didn't fully enjoy your meals. We will ensure your feedback is passed on to our management team.

Reviewed 23 March 2023

Horrible fish and chips...worst I have had in my 74 years. We were going to eat in but the radio was too loud and shouting adverts, so we took a takeout! We ate about 5% of it, it was so bad. The chips were pale...and plastic-like, no flavour at all and no pleasure in eating them. The fish was thin and had a flat, yellow batter with no taste. The price was £12.25...a very expensive way to fill a Rubbish Bin. YUK! YUK! YUK!More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2023

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear you didn't fully enjoy your meals. We will ensure your feedback is passed on to our management team.

Reviewed 23 March 2023

A day out in Southend totally ruined by this terrible chippy. Suspect the fish was from frozen, certainly overpriced ( almost double what we would pay in London). The only plus was the place was clean. Would not advise others to visit, there must be...better places nearby that sell FRESH fish and chips and do not overcharge.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2023

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear you didn't fully enjoy your meals. We will ensure your feedback is passed on to our management team.

Reviewed 20 November 2022

We were first in on Saturday lunch time, really nice "clean" Cod and chip x 2, you could tell the oil used was fresh. We both thoroughly enjoyed the meal and would certainly recommend to others and return ourselves. We found the cost to be...reasonable and the meal represented good value for money. Just one slight niggle for me, I felt £2.40 for a cup of tea was excessive, we shared a cup. I do reckon if you got the price right for the tea you would sell a lot more of it. We look forward to our next visit. Thanks.More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Customer Services, Customer Services at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2022

Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review. See you again soon!

Reviewed 5 September 2022 via mobile

This has got to be the best fish and chips in Southend-on-sea, the battered cod and battered sausages are so nice, not too greasy, they are amazing. The curry sauce was perfect as well, always struggle to find somewhere with good curry sauce but this...place has the best curry sauce. I loved all of it.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Customer Services, Marketing at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2022

Hi there, Thank you for leaving us such a great review! We can't wait to welcome you back again :)

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Park Inn by Radisson Palace, Southend-On-Sea
2,433 reviews
.39 miles away
Terrace Hotel
30 reviews
.51 miles away
Seven Hotel
408 reviews
.59 miles away
The Last Post
525 reviews
.60 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Namaste Village Southend-On-Sea
175 reviews
.02 miles away
The Seafood Shack
455 reviews
.10 miles away
Pieno Lleno
442 reviews
.22 miles away
Attic Southend
145 reviews
.16 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Adventure Island
4,452 reviews
.37 miles away
Sealife Adventure
1,245 reviews
.07 miles away
Southend Pier & Railway
2,182 reviews
.40 miles away
Southchurch Park
98 reviews
.46 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Britannia staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE BRITANNIA, Southend-on-Sea - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Britannia

Yes, The Britannia offers takeaway services.

The Britannia is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 2.5