We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
British
Meals
Lunch, Drinks
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Street Parking, Wine and Beer
Reviews (204)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
64
19
26
28
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
64
19
26
28
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curry sauce staff attentive lovely afternoon sandals vegan
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Expensive and tasteless food. Awful food.. kids burger not eatable. Regret every penny spend . Nice service but happy with a restaurant at all.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, we will pass this onto our management team.

Reviewed 17 February 2024 via mobile

Having been to Southend numerous times and often struggling to find a relatively good place to eat, came here with wife and kids as they were doing kids eat free. I will say they cod and chips we (adults) had was incredibly nice. Probably the...best I've had in Southend. The again, if it's good enough for Queen Camilla, then it's good enough for me. More importantly though, the staff were incredibly polite. In fact, beyond polite. Every single one of them. The restaurant was clean. What else can I say.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2024

Thank you for the great review! We are so pleased to hear you had an amazing time. See you again soon!

Reviewed 9 January 2024 via mobile

Saturday afternoon was a very pleasant experience, great food and service. Special thanks to Sophie , will also cooks up an excellent savaloy

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

Thank you for your positive review! We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 24 September 2023

The last time I went to Sands in 2009 it was clear and classy. Today my boyfriend booked lunch for 13.15hrs. Upon arrival no one asked if we'd made a reservation. The place wasn't busy. The floor was dirty. The shelf by table 38 was...filthy. My 5 rings of calamari were clearly out of a packet with a piece of lettuce placed on the plate as garnish. I had a bowl of chips with bacon pieces, these were sent back as they were luke warm. My boyfriends fish and chip lunch weren't arranged nicely. The staff looked scruffy in their uniforms and most had their mobiles in their back pocket, highly unprofessional. No table service. Pre pay at the till and collect your own cutlery. Staff smoking outside next to the phone box. Thus is no more than a school dinner servery that only deserves a 1 rating. We won't be returning.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2023

Hi there, We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your most recent experience with us. We have passed this onto the catering team.

Reviewed 1 September 2023

Jazz evening excellent - young staff efficient and friendly but food only mediocre. Nice setting with sea views.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2023

Hi there, Glad to hear you enjoyed our recent jazz night. We have passed the feedback regarding the food onto the catering team.

Reviewed 27 August 2023 via mobile

Honestly after seeing other reviews being so polar opposites I’m not sure what to put ya not just because of that I can make my own mind up but even me and my partner have different opinions on this place. I had the jacket potato...with chilli and mine was lovely, I really enjoyed my lunch. My partner had burger and chips and said the chips weren’t crispy and burger was greasy and probably just a cheap frozen burger. it was clearly not a high end place but I personally liked what I had and it felt homely but partner did not.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2023

Thank you for your feedback - we will ensure this is passed on to management.

Reviewed 21 August 2023

Adorable little spot for a snack or meal! We had a lovely late dinner here today & thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Cute vegan menu - LOVED my vegan battered sausage & great food in general. Chips were some of the best I've ever had, lovely...fish & chip shop style chips without the horrible aftertaste or fatty/oily coating! Highly recommended, would definitely come again. Son wanted me to mention how delicious the chicken goujons were.zMore

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2023

Hi there! Thank you so much for the great review. We will pass this onto the catering team! See you again soon.

Reviewed 15 August 2023

Went with my disabled Mum. Nice people very friendly.gave us a seat looking at the sea...nice fish but the chips were lacking in quantity.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2023

Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We have passed on your feedback to the team.

Reviewed 8 August 2023

We stopped here after a dat at the funfair and had a lovely dinner. The funfair gave us coupons so children ate free with each adult main so that was great too!

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2023

Thank you for your positive review! We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 31 July 2023

We popped into Sands for a drink on Saturday evening as we were passing. We didn't even stay!!! We went out onto the decking, which used to be so nice, for a drink and all the cushions on the furniture were so grubby and some...had birds mess on that we decided not to even stay. I did need the toilet though, so used the facilities and they were not very pleasant either. Decidedly grubby with no soap in the dispensers either!!! I definitely will not be popping in there for a drink again. It is such a shame, as it used to be lovely when it wasn't just fish and chips, in the days of the delicious crispy duck salad, but now it is awful.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2023

Thank you for your review - we will ensure this is passed on to our management team.

Reviewed 6 July 2023

I have never had such a disgusting meal. I had small Cod and Chips £12. The batter was soft and the chips were nearly all black and dried out. I complained but the manager said because i had eaten some wouldn't refund me. I couldn't...wait to leaveMore

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2023

Hello Lesley, we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent visit with us. We have passed this on your feedback to the relevant board of directors.

Reviewed 3 July 2023 via mobile

what do you think of this trip adviser letter? Our kids had had a great day by the beach and in the Southend Adventure Island entertainment park . We unfortunately decided to finish our day with an ice cream and a drink at the “sand...by the sea”. Things didn’t start smoothly as they didn’t accept american express and then refused payment with my friends £50 note. The restaurant staff then brought an adult sized icecream instead of a child’s one which was requested by us and with no apology or offer of an exchange. A person then came over to tell us the kids could not eat food from outside the restaurant. We had some small amount of crisps and four fairy cakes left over as there was six kids snacking all day. We said ok we won’t let them have their snacks and we ordered our drinks and icecreams and then got told off because the two smaller kids had to put their shoes on because we were told they were in the restaurant yet we were sat in the outside area which was more like a patio snack area than a restaurant. We took the two smaller kids and made them out their shoes on. We had six children with us and they were told not to eat the small handful of snacks and they agreed but half an hour later they started to sneak the crisps and some fairy cakes so we got told off again by one of the waitresses in a really rude way but we had paid for items at the venue and didn’t even notice they were finishing the crisps, which would have had no impact on the restaurant profits as we were only there for ice cream and a drink. The same hideous lady then came out and said to my friend “are you complaining to me?” and she was as baffled as none of us had complained. The next thing we know three huge security guards come up to us and ask us to leave with the same hideous waitress/ manager then coming out and claiming she had asked us six times to not let the kids eat the snacks we had in my pram. She said then complained that she asked us twice to put shoes on the smaller kids who had kicked them off in order to run around the back area which wasn’t a restaurant and didn’t have a lot of other people there. She had neither asked us four times to put our food away or twice for putting shoes on and when we told the guards it was a lie they still marched us out like criminals. What a horrid experience for the children and us for absolutely no reason. I would definitely recommend to everyone never to eat here ever. This place says it’s family friendly, do yourself a favour and never take your family hereMore

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?5  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2023

Hi there, Thank you for your review regarding your visit to Sands by the Sea, we’re sorry to hear that you experienced a problem. We take all feedback on board as we continuously strive to improve the level of service that we offer to our...More

Reviewed 1 June 2023

Visited on a Bank holiday afternoon for tea, place was very busy, it was somewhat strange to be having afternoon tea next door to kids eating Chicken nuggets and Chips ! View of the Pier was very good as was the service. Food was excellent....Good value Nice walk down the pier afterwards!More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2023

Thank you for the positive rating and review! We hope to see you back soon!

Reviewed 30 May 2023

The worst experience I have ever experienced. I have many fish and chips over the years. But my wife had massive bones in her fish. Nearly choked on them. The staff were not helpful and pointed out a small section on the menu saying it...may have bones. These bones could of been taken out during preparation. The staff dismissed my wife's complaint . Will not go there again. The chips were dry and hard. So much harping on about the King and Queen visiting there. I wondered if the Queen would of got the same service we did if she choked on their fishMore

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2023

Hi there. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent visit with us. We have passed this onto the catering managers.

Reviewed 27 May 2023

THIS RESTAURANT WAS BAD THE LAST TIME WE WENT>always give something another go..the young staff try there best...the food is just terrible.for a fish n chip shop..the chips are terrible.more little bits than chips.beans cold..either people dont know any better.or just put up with rubbish.its...got to be one of the worst restaurants in southend...dont go.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stockvale Ltd, Marketing at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2023

Hi there, Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent experience with us. We have passed this onto the catering management team.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Terrace Hotel
30 reviews
.09 miles away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace, Southend-On-Sea
2,411 reviews
.13 miles away
Seven Hotel
403 reviews
.13 miles away
The Last Post
521 reviews
.25 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Oyster Court Sports Bar & Brasserie
209 reviews
.13 miles away
Cafe Rebecca
193 reviews
.13 miles away
The Royal Hotel Restaurant
610 reviews
.10 miles away
Lena's Cafe
90 reviews
.11 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Adventure Island
4,452 reviews
.12 miles away
Southend Pier & Railway
2,171 reviews
.10 miles away
Southend Pier Museum
89 reviews
.10 miles away
Southend Cliff Gardens
73 reviews
.07 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sands by the Sea staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

SANDS BY THE SEA, Southend-on-Sea - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sands by the Sea

Yes, Sands by the Sea offers takeaway services.

Sands by the Sea is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3