We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Last Post

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Weston Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1AS, England
+44 1702 431682
Website
Today
07:00 - 00:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 07:00 - 00:00
Fri - Sat 07:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 177: English reviews
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A bif fan of Wetherspoons pubs and this one did not dissapoint. Was a lovely big setting and the staff were quick to serve you even though it was really busy. One of the better pubs we stumbled across in Southend.

Helpful?
Thank Retrogame
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came back here today as stayed before but very disappointed that a young female member of staff was squeezing another bar staffs spots whilst serving person in front of me behind bar walked away as disgusted

Helpful?
Thank Anthony d
148TheLastPost, Manager at The Last Post, responded to this review

Dear Anthony. Firstly I apologise for the service you witnessed on your visit and would like to thank you for bringing this to my attention. We pride ourselves on great standards and service and I am extremely disappointed in my staff for this behavior. Please be assured this matter will be dealt with accordingly. Kind Regards More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Main came out very quick but waited forever for the dessert to arrive was about to cancel order and then it finally turned up maybe it cause most of the staff outside helping a drunk who had fallen asleep in the toilets

Helpful?
Thank Martin P
148TheLastPost, Manager at The Last Post, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review. We pride ourselves on great service and standards and apologise on this occasion we didn't meet that standard for you. More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Pub was nice, the food was delicious..the bar staff let the side down. Tables were not cleared, even after someone had changed a baby's nappy. Waited ages to get served and then felt like you were putting them out for wanting a drink. Not overly impressed.

Helpful?
Thank Gail F
148TheLastPost, Manager at The Last Post, responded to this review

We are sorry your visit with us was let down by the service. We pride ourselves on our service and standards and are disappointed to see that on this occasion we didn't meet expectation. if you could please forward me details of date and time you visited so I can further look into the service on this day I would... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nipped in after trying a few other places that weren't serving food at 11am. Nice spot and kid friendly. Food was lovely and at reasonable price. Service was excellent the couldn't have been more accommodating.

Helpful?
Thank Cillitbango
The_Last_Post_Hotel, Hotel Receptionist at The Last Post, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review, we pride ourselves on our speed and quality of service. We hope you visit us again soon! Chloe. More 

essex
Level Contributor
160 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great lunch excellent value Food was excellent served up very quickly and tasted great Only criticism was bar staff seemed Lethargic to an age to get served

Helpful?
Thank stephen p
The_Last_Post_Hotel, Hotel Receptionist at The Last Post, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! I apologise if you found it took a long time to get served at our bar, however I assure you that we are always trying our best to get service times as low as possible. Great to hear your enjoyed your meal! See you again soon, Chloe. More 

Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ordered the managers special 'Flaming Dragon Curry' If you are into your curries and you like them hot, this is a must to have. This was hotter than some Vindaloo curries I've had in Indian restaurants. What makes it better, is not only is the food lovely but also plentiful, and as ever in JD Weatherspoons the price is excellent.... More 

Helpful?
Thank vasmagee
The_Last_Post_Hotel, Hotel Receptionist at The Last Post, responded to this review

Thanks for the brilliant review! Hopefully see you again next Thursday for curry club at Wetherspoons, the nations biggest curry house! Chloe. More 

ukpunk
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

Called in for a bite to eat around 8pm and was surprised they serve until 11pm. Menu is ok so ordered two steak and ale pies. The pies were fine, the chips seemed a little dried out like they were being kept warm. The mash was not great and the gravy a little bit watery . Can't complain though as... More 

Helpful?
Thank ukpunk
The_Last_Post_Hotel, Reception Department at The Last Post, responded to this review

Good morning Thank you for your honest review. We hope that you visit us again soon. Have a lovely weekend More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Usually sticky bar surfaces, always packed, terribly hot during the summer to the point your balls will stick to your leg. Staff are friendly, bouncers seem fine, cocktails are awesome. One time I went I saw a naked guy getting dragged out by two bounces, 10/10 would visit again.

Helpful?
Thank danrobson
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Always come here as its a welcoming pub, food and drink are cheap and quality is good. It does get busy in evenings and when big sports events are on tho so get there early if planning on watching sport there

Helpful?
Thank KellyVJ

Travellers who viewed The Last Post also viewed

Shoeburyness, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to The Last Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 00:00
Monday
07:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 00:00
Thursday
07:00 - 00:00
Friday
07:00 - 01:00
Saturday
07:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Weston Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1702 431682
Description
This is a Wetherspoons pub/restaurant

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Last Post and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Cambridge, United Kingdom
3 months ago
cornwall
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Last Post staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?