We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

King Harolds Head

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Nazeing Common | Bumbles Green, Waltham Abbey EN9 2RY, England
+44 1992 893110
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 165: English reviews
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Loved eating here.excellant service.had the fillet steak, which was cooked to perfection.staff helpful and friendly

Helpful?
Thank 241163
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We returned last night for a meal, having not visited since the restaurant reopened, which must be about two years ago now. We were given a table in the lovely room at the back and there was definitely a feeling of a well-organised team ready to spring into action. Throughout our meal, the service was efficient, professional and pleasant. Our... More 

Helpful?
Thank elbc2016
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2017

I've eaten here 3 times now and the food is always of the most highest standard. I would highly recommend it for the food. However, it sometimes lacks atmosphere. I've eaten here mid-week a couple of times and there was only one other table and no music so, yes, atmosphere mid-week I'd give a zero. At the weekends however, when... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jodie M
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2017

The decor and service are excellent, and the menu offers a wide choice - unless you're vegetarian! There were two possible starters: crisp fried mushrooms or mushroom soup - and just ONE main dish - spinach and mushroom linguine. So I could have mushrooms or mushrooms, followed by mushrooms. Fortunately I like mushrooms ... but chose just the main course.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda N
Nazeing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Have not been here for years, not since it was a pub. I was surprised to find contemporary decor that fused well with the very old building. Gkad to see the old fireplace still in the bar! Lovely service, food was very good and we all had a lovely meal- including the vegetarian!

Helpful?
Thank DJWM68
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2017

We were a party of five and pre-booked a table for dinner @20.00 hours.This was our first visit to this restaurant and was attracted by the advertised "Greek night" with two courses for £12.00. Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed and shown to our reserved table at the rear of the place. There was a lovely fire burning at one... More 

Helpful?
Thank alan c
Harolds H, Manager at King Harolds Head, responded to this review

Thank for your review we are happy that you enjoyed you night with us and look forward to serving you again Regards More 

Essex
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2017

We went in for lunch and we all had a fish dish from the Specials board. I ordered Beer battered Skate with chips. When I took a mouthful of the fish I got a taste of ammonia which I thought strange so I ate some of the chips and the salad and then turned the Skate wing over to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank EssexJohn
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Six of us booked a table Saturday evening from sitting down every thing was spot on ,the staff were very professional always there but not in your face ,the food was second to none could not be faulted , very acceptable prices . A superb Restaraunt / Pub that is run properly highly recommend

Helpful?
1 Thank Mustangon1
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2017

Had been recommended by friends to visit the newly refurbished restaurant, was not disappointed good service and excellent food. Friendly service. Will be recommending this place to friends

Helpful?
Thank Martin M
Harolds H, Manager at King Harolds Head, responded to this review

Hello thank you for your review look forward to seeing you again regards More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

So very dissapointing. Lovely staff and service. But the food left a lot to be desired. Overcooked beef. Undercooked potatoes and raw Yorkshire. Such a shame because the pub was lovely. Just needs a decent chef.

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy H
Harolds H, Manager at King Harolds Head, responded to this review

Hello thank you for your review . I would just like to say we do not serve overcooked beef ,undercooked potatoes and raw Yorkshire ! Our chefs are a highly qualified team who produce excellent food from their kitchen . If you had a problem with our food why not speak to our manager ,who would have been happy to... More 

Travellers who viewed King Harolds Head also viewed

Waltham Abbey, Essex
Waltham Abbey, Essex
 
Waltham Abbey, Essex
 
Broxbourne, Hertfordshire
Waltham Abbey, Essex
 

Been to King Harolds Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Nazeing Common | Bumbles Green, Waltham Abbey EN9 2RY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Waltham Abbey
  • Phone Number: +44 1992 893110
Description
.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of King Harolds Head and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from King Harolds Head staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?