We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (798)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
798 results
Traveller rating
366
158
96
78
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
366
158
96
78
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mixed grill fish and chips pudding pub grub christmas lunch great pub table service lovely lunch mikey quiz pint lunchtime
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

What a friendly pub! We visited here when visiting Southampton from Liverpool. The atmosphere was very welcoming and the food was reasonably priced. We had a thoroughly enjoyable evening. We will definitely return here on our next trip

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Great food and service from Laura and the team at The Cricketers. Enjoyed the Friday fizz and two for £14.99 menu. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Booked a table via the website, which was smooth and easy for Tuesday night. I had no idea there was a quiz night this night but we arrived and it was nice to feel the buzz and it was packed out. Guy behind the bar...was super friendly, explained it was quiz night and had great customer service skills. As the waitress was busy he showed us to our table and we sat down. Restaurant was busy but tables were cleared promptly, drinks topped up and food served quickly considering how busy it was. Food was hot, tasted good and hit the spot. Tip - if you get the chicken burger, add another chicken burger for £2, doubles up and hits the spot! 😋 We carried on down in the bar once dinner was finished, as the quiz was under way and we wanted to chat about work. A very nice evening had and would recommend this place for food and drink.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Disappointing visit. Took friends as have had a fabulous meal here in the past. Sunday evening, wasn’t busy. Lots of empty tables in the restaurant part, most of which had dirty plates on. Plenty of staff milling around. Lad behind bar super helpful. We were...greeted with “we’ve run out of loads of things, so I’ll cross them out on a menu and bring it over”. Of course we understand that happens, but there was so much pen on there it wasn’t easy for each of us to find something. Hunters chicken looked dreadful and wasn’t particularly hot, unlike the chips which were. Dessert - was told there was a lemon cheesecake, which we ordered. A cheesecake completely covered in red sauce (like the kind you get on an ice cream) was delivered, so checked the flavour and actually it was vanilla not lemon. Waitress who took the order later apologised for this. Just not a great experience this time sadly.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One night's stay in Eastleigh and we needed a dog friendly pub for dinner. A really good choice. Food was a really nice quality and cooked really quickly. The chocolate fondue was divine. But the thing about this pub was the staff. Everyone was so...friendly and helpful and smiley and they worked really hard. They made a fuss of our puppy and made sure he had water. They also do doggie meals! Genius! So thank you. Next time we are in the area, we will be back.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at Cricketers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow thankyou so much for the amazing review. We are so happy you enjoy our service and as you know we love the dogs. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great food and service. Exactly how it should be. They even brought out some water for our dog to have while we were eating.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2024

The staff that dealt with us were lovely and helpful. There were seven of us and most had lamb shanks……which were tough and overcooked… so obviously cook in a bag ones. I have bought the same in Aldi and half the price and cooked well....The Eaton mess was just two dollops of ice cream squirts of tin cream and raspberry sauce with shop bought meringue (one half) broken in half stuck in top…tea was weak and stone cold… they were busy but I still thought it was over priced. Not recommend..More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at Cricketers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Good Evening Karen, I am so sorry you were not satisfied with your meals. I shall feed this back to the chefs as there usually is not a problem with this product at all. Please could you email with more details of your visit so...More

Reviewed 7 January 2024

We had a festive meal on the 24th December. Even though they were very busy the service was very good and so was the food. Nicely cooked and plenty of it and good value. I would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at Cricketers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

Thank you so much for your lovely positive review. Hopefully we will see you when our next festive menu arrives.

Reviewed 26 December 2023

Had Christmas Day lunch at the Cricketers yesterday. The food was excellent and all our family of 6 enjoyed it. Many thanks to the staff who were friendly and very attentive and also the chefs. We had a lovely time and will definitely book again...Christmas Day 2024.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at Cricketers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2024

Thank you so much for y our lovely review. The staff will be delighted to hear this. Wishing you a very Happy New Year From Sandra and the Team

Reviewed 17 December 2023

We had a cousins Christmas meal at The Cricketers, Eastleigh. There were 20 of us. We had pre ordered. All the food came out lovely and hot. It was delicious too. Staff were very friendly and efficient. We were all impressed with how well organised...everything was. Well done to all staff for making our visit so enjoyable. Thank you 🙏💞More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at Cricketers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2023

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so happy you enjoyed our pub and service. We wish you a very Happy Christmas.

Reviewed 12 December 2023

My friend and I visited The Cricketers Inn Chandlers Ford Eastleigh for lunch. Food and service were excellent however a little disappointed there was no lemon or fruit available for drinks. Somewhat surprised that a pub of this caliber has no lemon for Gin &...Tonic disappointing to say the least. However food was excellent my Lamb Shank just fell off the bone and my friend had the steak & Ale pie which also was delicious. Overall we enjoyed our food but please sort out your lemon issue G & T without the fruit is a disaster.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at Cricketers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2023

Thank you for your feedback and I am too surprised that the staff did not present you with fruit as there is definitely not a lack of it in this pub. I shall look into this matter as gin and tonic is a must to...More

Reviewed 11 December 2023 via mobile

Very accomodating and happy to accept large bookings. The atmosphere is good but the food can be another thing depending on what you order. The Christmas menu was very disappointing. The pate came out warm with a mouse like texture which wasn6pleasant to eat. These...of our party who ordered camombare were luckier. The Christmas Dinner wasn't good at , the turkey had a strange texture and bland taste and the Brussels were water logged. Frozen roasters were standard I suppose but again not great. When I saw the steak option come out I wish I'd chosen that until friends started to say how tough and fatty it was. It looked nice though. The deserts were okay but on the whole the meal was disappointing. Service was good and they tried to get everything out in good time.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at Cricketers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2023

Thank you for your feed back, it is appreciated good or bad. I apologies for the standard of the food. This is not usual for us and I will look into this. Please could you email me to discuss further. 7701@greeneking.co.uk Kind Regards Sandra Paul

Reviewed 10 December 2023 via mobile

Booked table in advance, we were allocated in the alcove near the gents toilets Electric all failed when we started nobody explained what was going on. Barman not very accommodating or friendly when we went to order. Food took nearly an hour to come Roast...beef large chunks, tough and full of fat that could not be eaten. No steak knives offered and ordinary ones you could barely cut with. The serving lady realised that we had not been served our food and organised pretty quickly, we were obviously forgotten. She tried her best to rectify bless her We then went back to the bar and ordered puddings & explained about our experience earlier, we requested that they came a little quicker. The barman frankly did not really care and told us they were very busy and gave us no apology, We challenged him and he sort of accepted the blame reluctantly . Alas despite the lovely puddings coming quite quickly the latte coffee took another 35:40 minutes. The bar was quieter then after 3 and could have easily been brought over our at least checked on given the bad service earlier. We were a family of 6 trying to enjoy an early Christmas meet as we could not be together during the holidays and chatted away amongst our selves. Frankly had we eaten on our own we would have walked out and demanded a refund but we didn’t want to spoil our special meeting in front of our family.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at Cricketers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2023

Good Morning, I am totally shocked by your poor experience with us yesterday. This is clearly not our usual standard as you will be able to see by our other reviews, however this is totally unacceptable and I take this matter very seriously. Please contact...More

Reviewed 25 November 2023 via mobile

An amazing Christmas meal with all the festive decorations. We had excellent service from Mikey who was very professional. Lovely atmosphere

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at Cricketers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2023

Thanks for your lovely review Rebecca, so pleased you had a fabulous festive meal! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 8 November 2023

Impromptu dinner - pick a table, order at bar. Welcomed by a friendly gentleman greeter who provided menus, and we had already spotted the special board - beef bourgignon. Enjoyed a chat and started our pints, then our meals delivered in timely manner even though...restaurant bookings very busy. We observed the team work hard to meet customer requirements with a smile. Beef bourgignon was an absolutely delicious plateful, many thanks to the team and we shall return, again, and again 😀More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at Cricketers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2023

Thanks for the lovely review Angie, so pleased to hear you had a fantastic visit with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Ellington Lodge At The Concorde Club
478 reviews
.41 miles away
Holiday Inn Southampton Eastleigh, an IHG Hotel
58 reviews
.73 miles away
Premier Inn Southampton Eastleigh Hotel
1,074 reviews
.79 miles away
Village Hotel Southampton Eastleigh
505 reviews
.83 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
East Avenue
233 reviews
.69 miles away
The Good Companions
116 reviews
.87 miles away
The Gateway Table Table
533 reviews
.79 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Eastleigh Lakeside Railway
210 reviews
.61 miles away
The Point
40 reviews
1.00 miles away
Places Leisure
9 reviews
.64 miles away
The Spitfire Lounge
11 reviews
.94 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lou C
23 August 2021|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Sightsee36939417962 | Reviewed this property |
I'm not connected to this business and cannot answer this question with any certainty I've given you the right informatio. I would suggest you can't act the business/venue directly.
0
Votes
Lavinia S
28 June 2021|
Answer
Response from Sightsee36939417962 | Reviewed this property |
You need to ask the pub/restaurant, a not connected with them, only a customer and can't answer for them.
0
Votes
Dreameru2
18 July 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from joshuarH8844VV | Property representative |
We are so sorry for not answering your phone call, if you’d like me to book a table for you, please let me know when and how many people and we will make it happen. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we can... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

CRICKETERS ARMS, Eastleigh - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Cricketers Arms

Cricketers Arms is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4