We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crown Inn

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
A traditional country pub with an attractive garden outside and a welcoming inglenook fireplace indoors, serving classic British dishes, coffee, good wine and real ale. Theme evenings. Free WiFi. Dog friendly
PRICE RANGE
US$8 - US$33
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
100
43
9
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
100
43
9
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunch fish pie sundae beef and pork sunday roast ham yorkshire pud mash salad the pub lovely home cooked food nice garden restaurant area warm welcome piping hot full marks walking group
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The wife and I visited The Crown on the evening 01/03/2019 at the end of a 3 day break. We were made to feel welcome upon entry to the bar area and also took the dog with us. we had booked a table but arrived...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank stratty147
jazzbo100, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It was a pleasure to welcome you to The Crown. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit. We will ensure the staff are all aware of your positive comments. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future when you next visit...More

Reviewed 13 January 2019

Six old walkers had five different lunch-time main courses. All were excellent. There is also a good choice of real ales. This is a pleasant country pub lacking posh upmarket gimmicks.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank T0urDirect0r
jazzbo100, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Crown. We are delighted you all enjoyed our old-fashioned hospitality. We hope you and your friends will be back very soon.

Reviewed 12 January 2019 via mobile

We’ve driven by for years and didn’t even think to try it until this weekend. We’re so glad we did, what a fantastic pub! The staff are so friendly and the food is delicious. We’ll be back shortly!More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank HazOnTour
jazzbo100, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of The Crown. We are all delighted that you enjoyed our old-fashioned hospitality. I will make sure all the staff are aware of your positive response. We really value feedback and it is...More

Reviewed 20 November 2018 via mobile

Ordered the fish pie of which I was very pleasantly surprised at how good it was. Plenty of filling under proper mash topping. Staff (Craig & Jordan) were very pleasant & courteous and made us feel welcome. Unfortunately they had a run on steaks so...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Paul C
jazzbo100, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Crown. we are glad you enjoyed your meal and that our staff made you feel welcome. We are only sorry that we had run out of steaks. we hope to see you again...More

Reviewed 20 November 2018 via mobile

Called in for a drink and meal with friends who live locally. Delicious mushroom and asparagus pie with some of the nicest chips I've ever eaten. My partner was equally impressed with his fish pie. Also enjoyed my Kingstone Press cider and got to keep...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank goldencup
jazzbo100, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Crown. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal and our old fashioned hospitality. Enjoy the glass! We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area

Reviewed 15 November 2018

We visited mid week when it was quite quiet and decided to have a Sunday roast as it was still being offered. There was a small or larger meal (for £2 extra). It was a plate full with lots of veg and meat and Yorkshire...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank TrishWilts
jazzbo100, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your visit to The Crown. We value customer feedback and it is great to know you enjoyed your food and felt it was good value. We are also delighted that the service...More

Reviewed 14 November 2018 via mobile

I had lunch with a friend, we ordered a lamb roast each. When it arrived the meat, gravy and vegetables were cold. Not very good as only 6 diners in resteruant. We ordered crumble and custard it was lukewarm. We payed the bill and left....More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank iancamero
jazzbo100, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We regret that your visit did not live up to your expectations. The situation has been brought to the attention of the staff involved and measures taken to ensure that this does not happen again....More

Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch today after reading reviews on here, but we were very disappointed. We went in and said we had booked. We were told from the girl behind the bar we were on table 6, and to pick up the menu on our...More

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank HelenC229
jazzbo100, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Crown. I am sorry we failed to live up to your expectations. We have discussed your comments with the staff involved and explained your concern over the delay in refunding and how it...More

Reviewed 11 September 2018

The Crown offer fish and chips takeaway during the week, however not on Friday. After calling they kindly agreed to do fish and chips for us and it was one of the nicest i have ever had. The fish was huge, but was not greasy...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Stariat_Kesten
jazzbo100, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of The Crown. We value your feedback and are delighted you enjoyed your takeaway fish and chips. We believe as an independent business we can be flexible and it is great to see...More

Reviewed 29 August 2018

The food was firstclass and homemade...Our fishpie was up to, and beyond, my own homemade fishpie. Delightful staff and obviously exceptionally good management keeping both staff and customers very happy. I have mentioned the fishpie...try the rhubarb crumble!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Peter W
jazzbo100, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Crown. We are delighted you enjoyed your lunch. We appreciate the feedback and we will make sure all the staff see your positive comments. Hope to see you again in the near future.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
The Grosvenor
548 reviews
2.54 miles away
Lainston House Hotel
1,326 reviews
5.15 miles away
The Potters Heron
586 reviews
5.87 miles away
Peat Spade Inn
255 reviews
5.96 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 25 nearby restaurants
The Boot Inn
416 reviews
1.40 miles away
Prego Deli
119 reviews
2.58 miles away
The Tally Ho!
183 reviews
3.38 miles away
Bear and Ragged Staff
482 reviews
3.58 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 6 nearby attractions
Danebury Iron Age Hill Fort
45 reviews
2.70 miles away
Farley Mount Country Park
25 reviews
2.96 miles away
Mottisfont Abbey
1,287 reviews
3.25 miles away
Longstock Water Gardens
95 reviews
4.73 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Gerry B
16 June 2016|
Answer
Response from jazzbo100 | Property representative |
Hi Gerry. I have sent a full reply via e-mail. Yes we do have a range of items on our menu which are gluten-free such as the Ham and chips. We also keep a small stock of gluten free rolls. I hope we will see you in July!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing