We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Taj Mahal

££ - £££Indian, , Asian
12 Station Road, Harpenden AL5 4SE, England
+44 1582 764188
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good23%
  • Average10%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“king prawns” (2 reviews)
“peas” (2 reviews)
“best indian” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Indian, Bangladeshi, Asian, Balti, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
12 Station Road, Harpenden AL5 4SE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Came here one night last week Place was barely filled. Food order took a while considering there where only 2 other tables with customers. We ordered popadoms with the usual sides. Ok. Main meals came with curry dish first, then rice came out later rather...More

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank MisterC1964
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After reading reviews we decided to enjoy a nice curry over a weekend what a mistake. We were rushed from the minute we walked in our starters were half a portion this is probably why it had to share a plate to save washing up....More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 60allanh
300jahangirh, Manager at New Taj Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi sorry to hear that ....if you had any issues...we could notify us ..so we will know...and try to sort it out...can you please tell us when did and what time did you visit to our restaurant...honestly we always clear table before issue bills....and we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped in here for a quick curry post pub visit and needless to say it was absolutely shocking! No words could have expressed my anger that evening! On sitting down and ordering we were told we had to order our starters and mains and get...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank dorset111986
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having recently moved to the area, I have used this venue many times, reading trip advisor thought it sounded great. Unfortunately the last few times I have had food the chicken has been very dry, it was like it was cooked separately in the oven...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank DDD0101
Jahangir H, Manager at New Taj Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there...we are sorry that you had bad experience with our food....I read all of your word that you mentioned we used yellow colour on kurma also you said we coockd chicken separately .......etc... I would like to let you know. That....we are first indian...More

Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

I visited The New Taj Mahal restaurant with my family and had an amazing evening. Food was delicious and they catered to our individual needs. Service was lovely and welcoming. Can't wait to visit again soon!

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank Latifa B
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Customer service 10/10 Food 10/10 The customer service was great and I will be definitely coming back again with friends and family.

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank Humayra H
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

What a shambles. We ordered 4 take out meals. The meals turned up 45 minutes late with absolutely no apologies or compensation. When we opened our meals one was missing. After a tiring conversation over the phone the missing meal was delivered after another 40...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Holly U
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

The food we ordered was 45 minutes late, then, the order was wrong. They then sent out the missing dish and expected us to pay for the food when it arrived an hour late! In the end they took the food back and a member...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Jenny H
Jahangir H, Manager at New Taj Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sorry food was bit late we always strives to give customers good service as much as we can.. as we had very high volume of deliveries...so evry order has to foby by serial..but we did compromise with the total bill.....and you were happily paid ..and...More

Reviewed 25 July 2018

I used to live very near - so this was my local indian... but after two bouts of food poisoning I've never gone back. Cafe Jeera remains my favorite Indian in Harpenden

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank gm77383633
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

After several recommendations and seeing great reviews, i decided to come to New Taj Mahal for a family outing from Conventry. I wish I found this earlier! Outstanding food and the staff are very friendly! Superb service.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Munawar H
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Premier Inn Luton South (M1, J9) Hotel
591 reviews
2.99 miles away
Aubrey Park Hotel
777 reviews
3.19 miles away
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
2,403 reviews
3.31 miles away
Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct 9
586 reviews
3.99 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Bar Azita
804 reviews
.03 miles away
Silver Palate
297 reviews
.05 miles away
Pasta Cibo
280 reviews
.03 miles away
Graffiti Restaurant
168 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Aldwickbury Park Golf Club
47 reviews
.93 miles away
Harpenden Common Golf Club
29 reviews
.92 miles away
Harpenden Public Halls
23 reviews
.08 miles away
Harpenden Farmers' Market
29 reviews
.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from New Taj Mahal staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Indian, Bangladeshi, Asian, Balti, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Delivery
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 00:00
Monday
17:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 00:00
Thursday
17:00 - 00:00
Friday
17:00 - 00:00
Saturday
17:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12 Station Road, Harpenden AL5 4SE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Harpenden
  • Phone Number: +44 1582 764188
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing