We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cock of the North

££ - £££, British,
Great North Road | Bell Bar, Hatfield AL9 6NA, England
+44 1707 653263
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good21%
  • Average18%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (11 reviews)
“fish pie” (3 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Great North Road | Bell Bar, Hatfield AL9 6NA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Returned today with a voucher following a fairly mediocre experience here in the summer. Today’s Sunday lunch was superb! Yorkshire puds to die for. Friendly staff. Will absolutely return!

Thank Kim H
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited last Sunday with a group of friends and a few kids. It was our first visit and we were all very impressed. The pub itself was lovely, cosy, with good atmosphere. We were made to feel very welcome. The food was delicious! I...More

Thank Kat S
Con_BellBar, Manager at Cock of the North, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Kat, Thank you for your really kind review! Really pleased you enjoyed your visit here with us and look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind regards, Rosie, Steve & the team

Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Good good and great service and had a wonderful time with my family. Good choice of good food and drink. Big garden as well for the summer

Thank janet202
Con_BellBar, Manager at Cock of the North, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hi Janet, Thank you so much for your really kind feedback, so pleased you enjoyed your visit here with your family. Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Rosie, Steve & the team

Reviewed 2 October 2017

A marvellous place for dinner. Great food and service. You can sit outside if you wish and it's very peaceful.

Thank Teresa M
Con_BellBar, Manager at Cock of the North, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hi Teresa Thank you for your kind review! Really pleased you enjoy coming to us and hope to see you again soon, Kind regards, Rosie, Steve & the team

Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Very poor evening can't really say it was worth the visit,food was very poor and over priced,I eat out often,but won't be going back,but I have to say our waitress was lovely and and very attentive,hence she got a big tip.More

Thank John P
Con_BellBar, Manager at Cock of the North, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Hi John, Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us but glad to hear that your waitress was friendly and attentive. Our staff are always there to help and would have been more than happy to...More

Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Very impressed with the new menu, lots of lovely choices on it. I do however think it's a bit overpriced for pub food. For a three course meal you're looking at £25 not including drinks which is fine if you're in a proper restaurant but...More

Thank Carol-Anne N
Con_BellBar, Manager at Cock of the North, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Hi Carol-Anne, Thank you for your review, glad to hear that your were pleased with your meal and new menu. Because we are a food led establishment, we are pub/restaurant rather than just a pub. We are part of a chain therefore the pricing structure...More

Reviewed 29 August 2017

Good service, but very poor food. Complained to the waitress about the main course, (starters were also awful) when the bill came the manager had taken one main course off but didn't bother to come and talk to us. I go out to enjoy my...More

2  Thank Headsup123
Con_BellBar, Manager at Cock of the North, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Hi Headsup 123, Thank you for your review, glad to hear that you enjoyed the service from our waitress but not so much on the food. As you rightly say, we are part of a chain but we also have to follow specifications from Head...More

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

I visit this pub/restaurant from time to time. I've actually been going there for quite a few years. It's a very large pub which has been tastefully decorated. Lots of places to sit, with tables situated in private corners or grouped together in larger more...More

Thank Richard L
Con_BellBar, Manager at Cock of the North, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Hi Richard. Thank you very much for your really kind review! We really love hearing that you enjoy your visits here so much an look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Rosie, Steve & the team

Reviewed 31 July 2017

I took my wife here for a special meal for her birthday, we were disappointed with the food and price. When we ordered from the menu we were told that certain items weren't available, ok it was a week day but they should still surely...More

Thank CharlieN3
Con_BellBar, Manager at Cock of the North, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hi Charlie Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Sorry you felt our prices are too high - as we are a McMullen pub these are mostly out of our control but we do do our best to prepare the meals...More

Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

This pub has a lot going for it nice atmosphere lovely garden,our waitress couldn't have worked any harder.. Just The food needs to be better..steaks are around the £20 mark and should have been a lot better..I know you can send it back but when...More

Thank yosser1
Con_BellBar, Manager at Cock of the North, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy all of your meals, they are prepared to specification as given to us by McMullens. If you do choose to return we would be more than...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Miller & Carter
851 reviews
.07 miles away
China Red 2
52 reviews
.99 miles away
Pearl Fish Bar
20 reviews
1.00 miles away
The Rookery Cafe
15 reviews
.95 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Hatfield House
798 reviews
2.19 miles away
Wyllyotts Theatre
65 reviews
2.51 miles away
The Plough - Cuffley
32 reviews
3.43 miles away
de Havilland Aircraft Museum
283 reviews
3.95 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
bripaulnu88
25 September 2016|
Answer
Response from Con_BellBar | Property representative |
Hi, Sunday Roasts start at 12pm and run throughout the day. They are available on a first come first served basis so the time they finish does vary. Feel free to give us a call if you wanted a later table to ask if we still... More
1
Vote
Marina P
20 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Con_BellBar | Property representative |
Hi there, dogs are welcome in the garden but not inside the pub I'm afraid. We do have a large covered area in the garden also.
0
Votes
Norma P
3 March 2016|
Answer
Response from Con_BellBar | Property representative |
Hi Norma, We don't served afternoon teas but we have a snack menu available with jacket potatoes, baguettes and basket meals if you are looking for a lighter lunch. Many thanks, Rosie
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Great North Road | Bell Bar, Hatfield AL9 6NA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Hatfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1707 653263
Description
We Are A Pub For All Seasons With Handsomely Decorated Surroundings Inside And Out, A Stylish Pub With Blissful Real Log Fires, Snug Dining Rooms And A Beautiful Beer Garden. British Heritage Food And Seasonality Are Championed By Our Chefs Along With A Great Selection Of World Wines And Local Mcmullen Ale. Sunday Roasts Are Served With Our Lovingly Made Yorkshire Puddings But When They’re Gone, They’re Gone!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing