We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Paper Mill

££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Stationers Place | Apsley, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
+44 1442 288800
Website
Today
11:00 - 22:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 21:00
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

525 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 513: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed today NEW via mobile

My husband and I returned as we stay in a nearby hotel before heading to London the following day. The Paper mill is warm and welcoming. Fire burning. Lovely Christmas tree was up. Lovely setting. The beer is great and obviously well kept. We ate here this time and ordered a platter which came quickly and was as stated on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Salsxi
Level Contributor
239 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I sometimes dine at Paper Mill during my business trips to Hemel. Last night I enjoyed the improvement since my last visit. New menu, good meat and decent pudding. Not special but not bad. Service was warm and effective while the upstairs room was really cold. At least from an Italian perspective. M.

Helpful?
Thank Maresciallonemo
David C, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for coming back and trying us again, I do apologise as we had a problem with the heating on that night but it fixed now. Look forward to seeing you again in the near future, More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great place to go if staying at Holiday Inn Express - just across the car park. Had a very nice meal, service good, seemed very popular place.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
David C, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this review

Hello Andrew, Thank you for your review, Matthew Coupland More 

London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Went for dinner with my sister in law on Friday night. The bar downstairs was absolutely heaving with people, very buzzing and full of atmosphere. The log fire kept it warm on a quite chilly evening. Luckily we were going upstairs to the restaurant as you couldn't hear yourself talk. They had lost our reservation but found a table nonetheless.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jo A
David C, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this review

Hello Jo, Yes it can get very busy so the restaurant upstairs can be a bit more peaceful for some, than you for the feedback and I will be speaking to the team to make sure that reservations are not misplaced, I do hope we see you again in the near future, More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Too often we expect our expectations to be exceeded... If you are hoping to have your expectations exceeded, don’t visit the area. If you must visit the area, then you should visit here. This may sound like a negative review, it’s not meant to be. It’s a fine gastropub with plenty of charm and lacks in only a few areas.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Justin L
David C, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this review

Hello Justin, Thank you for your amazing review, I look forward to seeing you again when you are back in the area. More 

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Decided to have a pub lunch somewhere warm and inviting, ambiance was great with log fire on and fairly busy for a mid week lunch. Staff also friendly enough and helpful.... then came the food!... fish finger sandwich was very oily and lukewarm, my wife ordered a chicken wrap which was equally cold, very disappointing especially when you add up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anj61
David C, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback of your previous experience with us. I wish that you had said something at the time of your visit as I would have loved to have corrected this for you, I do hope you come and try us again in the near future, Kind Regards More 

St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Just had a late Sunday lunch and really shocked at price. £100 for two, only one of us had a starter and dessert. The other only had a main course. Small servings, slow service, and a grumpy waitress, although not rude, she missed the smiling lessons it seems. There are a lot nicer places to eat in and around Hemel,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ray M
David C, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this review

Hello Ray, Please could you contact me at papermill.manager@fullers.co.uk I would like to talk to you about your bill as that does high. I would also like to talk to you about the rest of your experience as it would be something I would like to learn from, Regards, More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely love this place. Lovely log fire in the middle of the room with a lovely friendly atmosphere. Good choice of drinks and a lovely menu. Would highly recommend. My only bad point would be our chips tasted like they had been left to go stale and chewy but we put this down to a bad batch?!

Helpful?
Thank leelee1969
David C, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this review

Hi lee, Glad you enjoyed your birthday with us, See you again soon More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a nice pub. I thought the food was a little over priced. It is a child friendly pub and does get very busy. The staff are polite. You can go for nice long walks afterwards along the canal. The car park only has limited space and remember to tell the bar staff your number plate.

Helpful?
Thank Tom S
David C, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this review

Hi Tom, Thank you for taking the time to review us, More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I adore this place. Came here again for a late lunch today with my partner. Log fire was burning in the middle, great atmosphere, great scenery with the canal right next to you. Food was amazing as it always is along with friendly and polite staff. I have no faults on this pub. Looking forward to trying it out on... More 

Helpful?
Thank HolidayLoverChel
David C, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this review

Amazing to hear your great review, Thank you More 

Travellers who viewed The Paper Mill also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Paper Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stationers Place | Apsley, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Hemel Hempstead
  • Phone Number: +44 1442 288800

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Paper Mill and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Horeb,Newcastle Emyln
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Paper Mill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?