We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Three Blackbirds

194 St. Johns Road | Boxmoor, Hemel Hempstead HP1 1NR, England
+44 1442 253523
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good37%
  • Average22%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (2 reviews)
“burger” (3 reviews)
“quiz night” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
194 St. Johns Road | Boxmoor, Hemel Hempstead HP1 1NR, England
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

We came here for a quiz night with family and friends. We had booked a table so we'd be sure of somewhere to sit and ordered our meals at the bar. Staff were friendly and service was ok, but meals not so good. We ordered...More

1  Thank Alandnikki
Reviewed 15 April 2017

the food here was good I had a burger it was nice, my daughter had a kids pizza was a bit disappointed at it being a Chicago town microwave pizza but may daughter still ate it. Staff all seemed friendly and happy and were welcoming....More

1  Thank homework84
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Went to the Three Blackbirds with our tribute band. Have to say one of the best places we have performed. The place was packed. Great Atmosphere and very friendly. Love to come back and play again in the future. ----The Abbaholics------

Thank john f
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

This is a good pub for real ale fans with a great selection of ales from around the country. The food is typical pub fare and at weekends they have football on but with the sound turned down. Occasionally they have bands on a Saturday...More

1  Thank TheTravellers2009
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Wow... packet is accepted by one and all in this gaff. Friday, Saturday and Sunday where else would you rather be

Thank Brandon B
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Just went for a drink. OK service, sat out the back, really lacking in character (not nice really), unlikely to go back, I would go to the Steam Coach instead.

Thank Darrenw272
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

What was supposed to be a relaxing meet up with friends was anything but. A large group of young men were loud and obnoxious and there activities including wrestling made us all very uncomfortable. Management seemed unwilling to do anything about it. Despite broken glasses...More

1  Thank Kevin F
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Has had a pretty extensive recent upgrade Pleasant enough for a drink Its one of the better bars around here for watching football

Thank davethedrill
Reviewed 5 November 2016

We haven't been to the three blackbirds for some time, but we were tempted in by the senior's menu which offers 2 courses for £6.99 or 3 for £7.99. When we visited it before, the decor was tired, but this time we were pleasantly surprised...More

1  Thank mouseHerts
Lee E, General Manager at Three Blackbirds, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Good Evening Mouseherts Thank you for the great review, the seniors menu is a new addition to our business, and so far has been a great addition. We re-opened last December after spending £200k on the business. Thank you for the remark regarding the service...More

Reviewed 7 September 2016

Went here for a team Xmas lunch. It was quite a strange meal. Not at all festive and felt like we were intruding on the locals! Cheap crackers and tables not laid nicely. Would consider it for a quick fish n chips lunch but for...More

1  Thank rj7680
Lee E, General Manager at Three Blackbirds, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Good Evening RJ7680 Sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience with us, but I'm confused and not to sure when you had your Christmas lunch with us? Can you Please help me to understand and supply a date please as we haven't started...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Sitar
209 reviews
.07 miles away
K2 Balti House
375 reviews
.56 miles away
Seattle SteakHouse Restaurant
300 reviews
.39 miles away
Boxmoor Foodies
47 reviews
.29 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Delta Force Paintball Hemel Hempstead
160 reviews
1.95 miles away
Delta Force Paintball Kings Langley
33 reviews
1.95 miles away
Amaravati Buddhist Monastery
24 reviews
2.44 miles away
St Mary's Church
19 reviews
1.09 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Ralph1967lezza
Hi can you tell me what time your pub quiz starts on Thursday please? 😊
21 January 2015|
Answer
Response from palaneya | Reviewed this property |
Hi, I am a customer only - its not my pub. I suggest you give them a call or check their website for their entertainment details as they have lots of things going on. I'm sure they will only be too pleased to help you. Good... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 194 St. Johns Road | Boxmoor, Hemel Hempstead HP1 1NR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Hemel Hempstead
  • Phone Number: +44 1442 253523
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing