We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Olde Kings Arms

££ - £££, British,
41 High Street, Hemel Hempstead HP1 3AF, England
+44 1442 255348
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good31%
  • Average6%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
Bar, British, Pub
££ - £££
41 High Street, Hemel Hempstead HP1 3AF, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Had a drink in here and the place had a great sense of history. Good service and friendly staff too - well worth a visit.

Thank DougieFowler
Bennn S, Owner at Olde Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review of the pub. I'm glad you enjoyed your time here.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Love the atmosphere now in the Olde Kings Arms - warm and inviting. We were disappointed last time we ate here but came back because we heard it was under new management. The food is absolutely superb, just as they said - thanks Penny! We...More

Thank Rae002
Bennn S, Owner at Olde Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, your words have made chef Penny and I very happy. We always wanted to be the place to go for great food in the Old Town and are glad we met your expectations. Thank you.

Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Met friends for lunch , I have not been in this pub for years and it was recommended by friends It certainly didn't disappoint , as soon as we stepped in the door we were welcomed, the food was extremely good, the pub spotless and...More

Thank Maureen P
Bennn S, Owner at Olde Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you for such a lovely review, you were a great group and we enjoyed your comments both on the day and in this review.

Reviewed 26 August 2017

Went with a friend mid-week for a quick bite. The restaurant/pub is nice and quiet at the back and we were able to talk easily. The food was good. My friend is vegetarian and she was able to find what she wanted on the menu...More

Thank Fussychops
Bennn S, Owner at Olde Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for this review. Penny the Chef and myself worked hard to create a good mix of vegetarian options on the menu and we are pleased that this assisted your friend. I will pass your feedback to the team.

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

4 of us were in Hemel on business, all Of us here for the 1st time. We were recommended to go to the 'old town' and found this gem of a place. They are going through a refurbishment but did this not affect anything All...More

Thank Steven F
Bennn S, Owner at Olde Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Hello Steven. Thank you so much for this review, I'm really please that you enjoyed your time with us.

Reviewed 28 July 2017

So many improvements, especially the garden which was grotty but now fabulous. Fabulous food & the bedrooms are amazing, quirky but clean & welcoming. The housekeeper & staff are so helpful. Home from home when you have to stay away.

Thank JohnandJaniceO
Bennn S, Owner at Olde Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

I'm really pleased you enjoy the Inn and the service we give. Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 6 March 2017

Called in at the olde kings arms for lunch on Monday,what a pleasant surprise to find the food of an excellent Standard and very friendly staff ,if I stay in Hemel I would definitely stay at the kings arms

1  Thank Spencer S
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Wow, most impressed by the warm hospitality I received throughout my 2night stay. Can't thank Steve enough for looking after us, nothing too much. The Olde Kings Arms offers a traditional setting, very relaxing atmosphere with friendly locals. I would throughly recommend a visit Thanks...More

Thank sgs2017
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

As well as accommodation this pubs has a lot to offer. A fine choice of beers and wine. The food is also very good. Plenty of choice. Staff are also very friendly. Got on with the manger Steve very well.

Thank Nick B
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

I arrived looking for a place for our large family to have lunch. I was told they don't allow dogs. Fair enough. However, the boy said he doesn't want us even with our boy in a lead tied up outside. I don't mind the policy,...More

Thank Dez B
Bennn S, Owner at Olde Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Hello, I am now the new owner at the Olde Kings Arms. We are now very dog friendly, although we reserve the upper bar/restaurant area for human beings only. We have plenty of space for dogs in the main bar and in the garden -...More

Nearby Restaurants
Chiang Mai Cottage
342 reviews
.09 miles away
The Cochin
495 reviews
.03 miles away
Moroccan Kasbah Restaurant
365 reviews
.03 miles away
209 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby Attractions
St Mary's Church
24 reviews
.03 miles away
Piccotts End Wall Paintings
11 reviews
.75 miles away
Laser Quasar
24 reviews
.47 miles away
Sportspace Hemel Hempstead
11 reviews
.99 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Olde Kings Arms staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Bar, British, Pub
Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 41 High Street, Hemel Hempstead HP1 3AF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Hemel Hempstead
  • Phone Number: +44 1442 255348
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing