We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Potting Shed

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
Read more
Updated 11/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Potting Shed
Updated 11/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$5 - US$9
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Healthy, Soups
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
133
32
11
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
133
32
11
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunch cake toasties sandwich garden centre outside seating salad garnish great coffee friendly service my mum good quality food chickens rheas slice filling doorstep lemon
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 10 June 2021

We googled coffee shops Letchworth and the potting shed came up tops. Relaxed and a lovely spot. We will be back with our grandson to see the chickens and Rheas.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
sheila w, General Manager at The Potting Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2021

Hi, many thanks for your feedback and review, we look forward to seeing you again soon 😀

Reviewed 31 May 2021

Lovely independent garden centre. Great selection of good quality plants for sale at reasonable prices. I like the new outside seating and eating area for the Potting Shed cafe which has a good selection of food and yummy cakes. Particularly like the setting and being...able to see the chickens and Rheas. Well worth a visit.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
sheila w, General Manager at The Potting Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2021

Hi, many thanks for your feedback and review, we look forward to seeing you again soon 😀

Reviewed 25 May 2021 via mobile

We love visiting this lovely place! It’s like a day out last week we visited and chose an amazing array of vegetable plug plants. This week we took my little granddaughter to look at the chickens. We bought some from here years ago so it...was nice to revisit. We saw the ‘Potting Shed’ and popped in for coffee and cake. Such a cute little place with lovely table and chairs, brightly coloured bunting so clean and really lovely! We had delicious lattes with yummy lemon cupcakes. The lady was so helpful and made a ‘mini latte’ for our little one. We finished our visit by choosing some really fresh vegetables. All this on our doorstep!More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
sheila w, General Manager at The Potting Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2021

Hi, many thanks for your feedback and review, we look forward to seeing you again soon 😀

Reviewed 20 May 2021

We went because we read the reviews and thought it should be good! we arrived and could not see a menu so asked if they were serving breakfast. They advised they could do a sausage or bacon sandwich. The price was £12.50 for 2 less...than average sandwiches and a packet of crisps. The bread was not fresh and the sausage sandwich was not good and the bacon tasted like it had been cooked and then heated up. Not good. Expensive and poor value .More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
sheila w, General Manager at The Potting Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2021

Hi Kevin, we are really sorry that your experience wasn’t as we or our customers expect it to be. Since we have been in and out of lockdowns, we have had to change our menu a few times to adjust to takeaway, dining outside and...More

Reviewed 1 May 2021

one of their products I purchased just as an example is that I was surprised to find out that their locally sourced Ivel Springs honey smells and tastes almost identical to my preferred Himalayan honey which I obtained rarely through great difficulty. This will definitely...be used as an alternative to that and expensive Manuka. Likewise, am very happy with the quality of all products purchased and service.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
sheila w, General Manager at The Potting Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2021

Hi, thankyou for your kind review 👍👍👍👍👍

Reviewed 20 October 2020

I have been coming here for over 8 years & The Potting Shed is a lovey place to visit for breakfast, lunch or just a slice of cake. They have been working hard with all of the COVID restrictions and have just opened up an...additional eating area. Its within a green house but that does not do it justice. The work they have put in to transform the space into a great place to eat is amazing. You can tell how much the staff love where they work because they really care about the service they provide. The Potting Shed has a lot of charm and is a must see place to visit in Letchworth.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
sheila w, General Manager at The Potting Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2021

Thankyou Rachel, we look forward to seeing you, Josh and the rest of the family soon ❤️

Reviewed 10 September 2020 via mobile

We visited today, the first time this year. Very welcoming and superb organisation to make a safe, COVID secure environment, tables well distanced, good use of outside space, clear signage and visable sanitising of tables and communal spaces. The food was freshly prepared and great...quality. The sandwiches and toasties were tasty with generous filling and attractively presentated with a salad garnish. A lovely place to have a relaxing lunch and great after a short walk at Stotfold Nature Reserve.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
336sw, General Manager at The Potting Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2020

Hi Mandy, thankyou for your kind review and welcome back..kindest regards, TheTeam@Thornes

Reviewed 12 August 2020 via mobile

nice place for afternoon lunch enjoy it very much with my mum and nan will be back soon hopefully, staffed seemed friendly service could have been a little quicker but not a complaint to say about this placeMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
336sw, General Manager at The Potting Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2020

Thankyou for taking the time to review us. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations with speed of service, on the day of your visit we were taking part in the Eat Out To Help Out scheme which means we were very...More

Reviewed 26 July 2020

OK place, car park bit small, access for disabled is OK. Good range of plants. Staff are friendly n helpful. Prices are OK.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
336sw, General Manager at The Potting Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2020

Hi, thankyou for your review. We are not sure if you visited our cafe, as this is the review site for the cafe not the garden centre.

Reviewed 24 June 2020

I visited Thornes this morning to collect my chickens, the customer service was excellent as it always is every time I have visited. Social distancing was being adhered to very well Thankyou very much for my lovely hens

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
336sw, General Manager at The Potting Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2020

Thankyou for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you again soon 😀

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Broadway Hotel
348 reviews
1.43 miles away
Premier Inn Letchworth Garden City Hotel
248 reviews
1.43 miles away
Days Inn by Wyndham Stevenage North
423 reviews
2.09 miles away
The George at Baldock
131 reviews
2.41 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Raj Villa
33 reviews
1.11 miles away
India Lodge
153 reviews
1.33 miles away
China Garden
36 reviews
1.42 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Norton Common
62 reviews
1.20 miles away
Stotfold Watermill & Nature Reserve
149 reviews
1.59 miles away
Radwell Lake
17 reviews
1.61 miles away
The Bannatyne Spa
422 reviews
.36 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
26PaulC
8 August 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Janis H | Reviewed this property |
Yes, no room inside for pushchairs but can leave outside or in a covered room. Seating outside if nice. Children's menu.
0
Votes
ianrI1377AH
10 June 2019|
Answer
Response from 997julieo | Reviewed this property |
They do a delicious cooked breakfast. Think they open at 9.30. Enjoy!
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Potting Shed

Yes, The Potting Shed offers takeaway services.

Yes, The Potting Shed is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Potting Shed is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4