We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Akeman

9 Akeman Street, Tring HP23 6AA, England
+44 1442 826027
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good36%
  • Average15%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“scotch egg” (9 reviews)
“pork belly” (8 reviews)
“halloumi” (8 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
9 Akeman Street, Tring HP23 6AA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 220 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2015

We went to this restaurant mid-week for dinner to celebrate a birthday. I had been told great things about it so thought that it would live up to its reputation which, sadly, it did not. Firstly, the place itself is nicely furnished and decorated meaning...More

1  Thank Matthew T
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2015

H Matthew T, We are very pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and attentive on your most recent visit as customer service is very important to us. We're saddened that you were disappointed with some of your food and want...More

Reviewed 11 September 2015

We went for dinner with friends, having been in the past. This is a pleasant room, pleasant staff and the only real ale on tap was very good. Nibbles in short supply. There is a really good choice of different things on the menu, tapas...More

Thank Watfordbloke7
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave your recent review. We are saddened to read that you didn't have the best experience with us and i sincerely apologise if the slow service impacted your experience. we are incredibly passionate about customer service, and I...More

Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

What a great atmosphere. We booked as we thought it would be busy and we were glad we did. Food was tasty and the service was very good. Definitely go again.

Thank Floyd M
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Thanks for your lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave your positive feedback. We always love hearing what our customers have got to say. The Akeman Team

Reviewed 8 September 2015

I have visited The Akeman on many occasions, and I still find it to be one of my favourite places to go out for food and/or drinks. The atmosphere is always buzzing, and in my experience it always tends be busy but not uncomfortably crowded....More

Thank Gentlemanbastard
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

We are delighted that you always have a great dining experience here at the Akeman. Customer service is a very important part of our business so thank you for your constructive feedback (we would never forget about you). Our aim is to ensure all customers...More

Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

A bit more expensive then other places in tring, need to get there early if you want to be seated with drinks (in the bar area not restaurant) can get very busy on weekends so expect to wait a lot longer to be served at...More

Thank Hayley A
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Hi Hayley, Firstly, I would like to apologise if the service was a little slow on your recent visit. I am pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your food and appreciated the excellent quality. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review....More

Reviewed 6 September 2015

Having been let down on my birthday reservation my daughter in law rang The Akeman when it was 1:15. We were told we couldn't have a table for 8 adults and 2 small children until 2:30. When the situation was explained the gentleman called back...More

1  Thank mouserouse
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Thank you for your lovely review, remouserouse. Its good to see that our excellent service team took great care of you and your family and gave you a fantastic dining experience. We are so passionate about the food we serve and go to great lengths...More

Reviewed 3 September 2015

Best food in downtown Tring, costs a bit more, but well worth it. Nice deco, great cocktails and drinks, and beautiful interior.More

Thank Marisha R
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Hi Marisha R Thank you for your comments on the interior, we have recently had a little refurbishment so we are pleased that you liked it. It sounds like you had a great dining experience and we are delighted that you enjoyed your food. Thank...More

Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

I stopped in here after Tring parkrun for coffee & cake, the prices are reasonable (comparable to a Costa) nice place, friendly staff, I'd go again.

Thank baze187
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Hi baze187 Thank you for your recent review! We hope you visit again soon The Akeman Team

Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

Visited here for lunch after going to the natural history museum and wasn't disappointed The menu is wonderful, lots and lots of choice, you can be as healthy or unhealthy as you want, also a good choice of kids food Only negative is the slow...More

Thank mojo80rockstar
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive review. Thank you for your wonderful comments on the menu, we put a lot of time and effort into creating these amazing dishes. I apologise if the service was a little on the slow side...More

Reviewed 25 August 2015

Lovely interior Open fire Coffee and cake on couches Or through to restaurant seating at back for a good meal Kitchen is open so you can see the chefs cooking Courtyard outside with overhead heating and water feature Excellent food Excellent serviceMore

Thank KariMelaniePoole
TheAkeman, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We source our food from the best suppliers and feel the quality of our produce is reflected in our tasty dishes so we couldn't be happier to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your food. I...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Francesco's
284 reviews
.14 miles away
Kings Arms
163 reviews
.19 miles away
Jack and Alice
238 reviews
.11 miles away
The Espresso Lounge
169 reviews
.17 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Natural History Museum at Tring
675 reviews
.16 miles away
Tring Brewery
31 reviews
.44 miles away
Tring Local History Museum
32 reviews
.21 miles away
Tring Park
11 reviews
.27 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Akeman staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 00:00
Saturday
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Akeman Street, Tring HP23 6AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Tring
  • Phone Number: +44 1442 826027
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing