We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Octopus Garden Cafe - CLOSED

63 High Street, Cowes PO31 7RL, England
+44 1983 291188
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good22%
  • Average10%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible3%
29 Oct 2013
“Closed Forever”
15 Sep 2013
“Excellent food as always”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
63 High Street, Cowes PO31 7RL, England
All Details
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and myself went one morning without the family for a 'quick' breakfast which turned into waiting for a disastrous late brunch. Everything went wrong it seemed to be one of those days. Long wait on service and food. Didn't get asked for drinks....More

2  Thank Bluesimon78
octopusgardencowes, Owner at Octopus Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear Simon, I was very disappointed to read the comments made concerning your visit to the Octopus' Garden. I would be grateful if you would kindly clarify a few points. 1. On which day and at what time did you visit? 2. Which item from...More

Reviewed 16 July 2013

If you like a big, high quality breakfast with friendly staff and great service then this is the place to go! It’s nice to finally enjoy a bit to eat in cafe that hasn’t tried to serve you the cheapest ingredients they could find! The...More

1  Thank karl h
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Good food, friendly staff, wonderful Sixties (& especially The Beatles) music & memorabilia - we liked it so much we went twice!!

1  Thank SeasideMaiden
Reviewed 10 May 2013

A cafe with real character. It has Beatles pictures and toys everywhere. The food is good value and cooked to order. Reasonably priced and good for kids

Thank Sue D
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Visited for breakfast - loved The Beatles memorabilia and the food was really high quality - local produce / free range eggs really does make a difference and coupled with friendly and very efficient service this makes the Octopus a must visit if you are...More

Thank Steve D
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Love the food and the service, and of course the fantastic 60s memorabilia. An excellent little place with great use of local produce and free range meats - delicious.

1  Thank KeithMx
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Having read the reviews and visiting Cowes I just had to see if it was as bad or as good as some attested. Foregoing breakfast with the plan to fill up whilst listening to The Beatles I was not disappointed. A plate almost overflowing with...More

1  Thank Dogberry64
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Thank you for a fantastic meal,(28/10/12),you made me an off menu Spanish omelette and it was perfect, you even made me (my little quirk) coleslaw to go with the food and to be honest it was the nicest coleslaw I've ever had. My 2 1/2...More

1  Thank PlumsteadSanta
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We recently visited the Octopus Garden cafe and were very underwhelmed given the previous reviews. The food was poor quality and not good value for money. The cafe also did not have any real atmosphere. Maybe we also visited on an off day however you...More

1  Thank anotheryoungfamily
octopusgardencowes, Owner at Octopus Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear anotheryoungfamily, Thank you for your review and I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your visit to the Octopus' Garden. We constantly strive to provide the best service possible and I am immensely troubled by your comments that you considered your food...More

Reviewed 15 October 2012

Can this be the same place that others reviewers have raved about ? Ordered cream tea, ten minutes later we are told no scones , so we re-order , my daughter's order arrives promptly ,I wait another ten minutes for a tea cake . Toilet...More

1  Thank SurreyShamrock
octopusgardencowes, Owner at Octopus Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear Surrey Shamrock, I am sorry that your visit to the OG was not to your liking. I also apologise for the fact that we had run out of scones. The afternoon before we had a coach party in and sold out; our deivery did...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Number 3
210 reviews
.03 miles away
The Grill
164 reviews
.07 miles away
Eegon's of Cowes
148 reviews
.02 miles away
The Yachtsman
141 reviews
.10 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Classic Boat Museum
39 reviews
.50 miles away
Cowes Floating Bridge
232 reviews
.60 miles away
Cowes Ale House
58 reviews
.25 miles away
Random-Rooms
15 reviews
.62 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$8 - US$15
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 63 High Street, Cowes PO31 7RL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Cowes
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 291188
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing