We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
£3 - £16
CUISINES
Bar, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (160)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
109
30
13
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
109
30
13
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mash potatoes sherry trifle pork belly pudding calamari roast dinner steak waterfront hotel pre christmas meal most enjoyable evening warm reception fresh vegetables served hot full english breakfast great sunday lunch relaxed atmosphere fabulous food
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 16 September 2023 via mobile

Good English breakfast and nice service nice wiew with the beach nice hotel to stay in for some days . Recommended the breakfast and hotel

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2023

Waitress was helpful and polite but she didn't cook the food which was mediocre, uninspiring and generally overcooked

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2023

A gem of a Restaurant, Sunday lunch is second to none, and their cheesecakes are to die for. Paella is probably the best in the area. Very much recommended.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 May 2023 via mobile

Sunday lunch. Good value, nicely cooked and presented with plenty to eat. However, desserts are a bit of a letdown. In my view Sherry Trifle really needs, um, trifle and Sherry! A glass flute of tinned fruit, jelly and custard really doesn’t cut it! Even...a taste of Sherry would have lightened my mood but I couldn’t taste any. Not a drop! I brought my unhappiness to the attention of the waiter who, taking it personally, argued that there was, in fact Sherry. I assured him there was none! The atmosphere turned icy! Hint: arguing with customers is not conducive to a good tip!More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2023

This was a good choice for a reasonably priced meal. The waitress was charming and cheerful. The service was fine. The food was well cooked, tasty and served on hot plates. There was a good menu and a specials board. If I have a criticism,...I thought that the dining room lacked atmosphere perhaps, and subdued lighting might have helped. But, in all, it was a very pleasant venue with good food.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Stallard, Owner at The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2023

Dear vauxhallvictor333 We're pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. Hopefully we'll see you again. Best Wishes The Waterfront Team

Reviewed 24 March 2023 via mobile

Had a nice stay at the water front hotel. Nice drive down. Parked up the road , downloaded the app to park . 9.80 for the day. Nice welcome nice sea view. Had a cuppa tea before we went out to explore the town. Couple...drinks in local bars and bite to eat. Nice clean sheets and comfy room. Shower was a bit slow but did the job. Nice full English breakfast and other bits. Orange juice and cereals etc . Over looking the sea and the pier. Thank you for our stay. And very good price as well. Nice features in and around the hotel. Nice walk up to the castle.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Stallard, Owner at The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2023

Dear Austen Many Thanks for your review Best Wishes - The Waterfront Team

Reviewed 9 February 2023 via mobile

The steak and kidney topper was very poor. Two large cartilage pieces enough to choke a person if swallowed, rock hard kidney pieces and stringy beef. The lovely lad serving us was told by the chef to say the cartilage gives it flavour (what cookery...school did he go to!) no apology and didn't have the decency to come and tell us himself.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Stallard, Owner at The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2023

Dear 'Wearwhitesox' I'm so sorry you were unsatisfied with your dish, as we have a great reputation with our meat dishes and especially the pies. The meat is always of a high quality, although we do like a small amount of 'skirt' to give extra...More

Reviewed 15 January 2023 via mobile

The last time I reviewed this restaurant was in 2016 and we have since eaten many meals here and frequently recommended it. However, today for the first time we were a disappointed. Maybe we chose the wrong items... My husband wanted the mackerel starter but...unfortunately there wasn't any left so he was offered blanchbait instead, which he enjoyed. He followed up with calamari but found them rubbery and tasteless. I usually have the pork belly and crackling but today I fancied roast beef with all the trimmings, including a gluten-free Yorkshire pudding. The roast potatoes were crunchy and delicious and there was lots of gravy. But the beef, although a generous serving, did not meet the expectations I had, based on the lovely pork belly. Was it precooked and reheated? I don't know, but I know some restsurants do that. In my opinion the best gluten-free Yorkshires come from Sainsbury's. The one served here turned very hard within minutes of being put on my plate and I couldn't eat it. The vegetables, a good selection, were probably cooked to the satisfaction of a lot of customers (crunchy) but for me they could have done with a little longer. This is not the first time a roast dinner has disappointed me. I think I shall have to give up expecting them to be cooked the way they always used to be and order some thing else. We didn't have a dessert. Top marks for the staff though ; friendly, pleasant and helpful.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Stallard, Owner at The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2023

Dear Avril I'm really sorry you were not satisfied with your meal. I was informed that the Mackeral was a strange colour and the chef decided he didn't want to serve it, as although fresh it didn't look up to standard. Our Beef is cooked...More

Reviewed 17 December 2022

I had a lovely Christmas Dinner at the Waterfront hotel in Deal. Excellent food ,price very reasonable , a glass of non alcoholic bubble to begin with. Cannot fault their presentation and attention to detail. I look forward to eating here, knowing the food service...and staff are excellent.More

Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Stallard, Owner at The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2022

Dear 'ehailwood' Thank you for your kind remarks. Best wishes for the New Year from the Waterfront Team

Reviewed 14 December 2022 via mobile

We have been having our group Christmas meal here now for a number of years and we cannot fault anything from the initial booking to having our meal. The service, quality of food and price are excellent. We would like to say that Spencer was...outstanding looking after all of us, making sure everything was served hot to getting our drinks etc. A nice touch was the glass of Prosecco and little dishes of chocolates to finish a most enjoyable evening. We will certainly be returning!!More

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Stallard, Owner at The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2022

Dear Pauline Thank you for taking the time to review us and your continued support. Have a super Christmas and a Happy New Year from all our dedicated team here at the Waterfront. Kind Regards Mark & Geoffrey Stallard

Reviewed 9 December 2022

Wow today had one of the best Xmas lunches I’ve ever had. I had the pork belly with crackling and it was so tender and tasty, lovely crunchy roast potatoes and a good selection of vegetables with their yummy Yorkshire pudding and great tasty gravy....We started with a complimentary glass of sparkling wine with our starters. Mine was a fried camembert which was delicious, one of my favourite starters which didn’t disappoint. The dessert I had was the hot chocolate fudge cake with ice cream very moreish. Maria who served us was very friendly and put up with our noisy party altogether a place I would thoroughly recommend going to.More

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Stallard, Owner at The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2022

Dear Sandra So pleased everything was to your satisfaction - It means alot to us. I will pass your praises onto the staff. Have a wonderful Christmas and New Year. Best Wishes from all out team here at the Waterfront Hotel.

Reviewed 9 December 2022 via mobile

What can I say! After at least 15 years of having our annual christmas lunch we finally found somewhere that we couldnt find fault with anything. From the patient man that took our booking who was extremely helpful with talking us through gluten free options...to the lovely warm reception we were greeted with. Decorated table all nice and festive and christmas music 🥳 Christmas hats off to the chef and waitress. The food was exceptional, it was piping hot, lovely homemade roast potatoes, devine mash potatoe in a word the whole 3 courses were lush and a great price. Thank you for having us, we will be back next yearMore

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Stallard, Owner at The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2022

Dear Amanda Delighted you you enjoyed your meal with us and thank you for your wonderful comments. Best Wishes - The Waterfront team. Merry Christmas and a very Happy New Year from us all at the Waterfront

Reviewed 13 November 2022 via mobile

Great service, delicious food and warm atmosphere. All in team are very kind and friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our time here Heads up; please make sure you book in advance

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Stallard, Owner at The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2022

Dear 'Yaneechf' Thank you for your review and hopefully we'll see you again. Have a super time during the Festive Season and a very Happy New Year. The Waterfront team.

Reviewed 15 September 2022 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for two nights, friendly staff and the food was delicious. Marie who served the food in the restaurant was like a ray of sunshine, a delightful lady, and the food was excellent

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Stallard, General Manager at The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2022

Dear Sandy Thank you so much for your review. Delighted you enjoyed your time with us. I will pass your remarks on to Maria and the team. Best Wishes The Waterfront Hotel

Reviewed 2 September 2022

We stayed at the Waterfront Hotel for three nights and had dinner there one night based on the food we had seen and people eating there and we weren't disappointed. Delicious food served in the cosy hotel restaurant and with really friendly staff. Will definitely...eat there again if in Deal.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Stallard, Owner at The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2022

Dear Ray Thank you for taking the time to comment on our food and service. Best Wishes from us all here at the Waterfront Hotel in Deal.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Waterfront Hotel
302 reviews
.00 miles away
Dunkerley's Hotel
481 reviews
.02 miles away
Royal Hotel
836 reviews
.14 miles away
Queen Street Hotel
44 reviews
.19 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Little Harriettes of Deal Tea Rooms
336 reviews
.05 miles away
The Lane
723 reviews
.07 miles away
Sea View
771 reviews
.09 miles away
The King's Head
538 reviews
.05 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Deal Pier
592 reviews
.08 miles away
Deal Timeball Tower Museum
92 reviews
.10 miles away
Pandora's Box
11 reviews
.01 miles away
Farsim Collection
11 reviews
.01 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
zillah239
3 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Mark S | Property representative |
Hi, Zillah, it was nice speaking to you yesterday and very much look forward to meeting you. I tried to send you a copy of our 'new' menu, as promised, but it bounced back ? Please can you send your e mail address again... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE WATERFRONT RESTAURANT & BAR, Deal - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar

Yes, The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar offers takeaway services.

Yes, The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5