We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (79)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
49
9
6
4
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
49
9
6
4
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews under new management lovely pub jo beers starters bay
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago

Having seen this pub run into the ground previously, we have been a few times since the tenants of the Chestfield Barn took it over. Food has been good - we've always chosen from the 'Something a Bit Special' section of the menu. Staff have...been friendly. We like late lunch/early dinner when eating out, so their 12-8 food service time is perfect for us. However, on a recent visit, we got a frostier reception, and when we said we wanted to eat, we were advised the kitchen was closed 'for about 45 minutes'. When we queried the 'food all the way through from 12-8' we were advised it was due to chef shortage. We were handed new plastic menus. Previously these had been typed up, set out in nice sections, and naming the Head Chef. All that had disappeared, and we weren't convinced the online menu matched the menu we had been given. We didn't want to wait 45 minutes before ordering, and regretted buying our drinks. The pub was otherwise fairly quiet, with bar staff congregating at the bar, not doing very much. Unless you count a couple of them being publicly and unnecessarily sharp with a new member of staff. Not a nice thing to see, let alone be on the receiving end of. So sadly, it looks like regular meals at The Ship are a thing of the past again for the foreseeable future.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 days ago

not only the food is amazing but so are the dog treats//food//drinks. beulah the pup has tried the paw star martini, bark brew beer and the woof bar. she loved all of them and she will definitely coming back for more. very dog friendly and...dogs can have snacks aswell as us! brilliantMore

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michele Clarke, Owner at The Ship, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you so much for leaving us a review, especially to review our dog menu. We hope Beulah really enjoyed trying our new menu :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came upon this pub whilst our on a walk as tourists . The outside looks like it could do with a lick of paint . But once you step inside the place is lovely . The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful . We...had an amazing waitress and the bar staff also chatted and recommended things to do and visit . We ordered a seafood platter for two and it was perfect and so much of it .More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michele Clarke, Owner at The Ship, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for leaving us a fantastic review - we will be pleased to know that work on the outside of the building will be taking place very soon (It was meant to start beginning of April but unfortunately had to be pushed...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was booked for a birthday lunch. We had a table in the window with a nice view. Menu was very extensive with plenty of choice for everyone. My partner had the pie and mash which he was particularly pleased with. I had cod gougons...with proper chips. Overall it was an excellent meal and not expensiveMore

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michele Clarke, Owner at The Ship, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for leaving us a fantastic review. We hope you come back soon :)

Reviewed 17 April 2024

Had a lovely meal tonight , food delicious and good choices , served by Imogen who was so polite and lovely. Our previous visit was not so good it was a blip evening and thank you Michelle and Nikki for your apologies . Definitely will...return again soon . Wishing the Ship Inn a successful ☀️ summerMore

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michele Clarke, Owner at The Ship, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2024

Thank you so much for leaving us a review - we really do appreciate it. We hope to welcome you back soon :)

Reviewed 3 April 2024

The service was very good, even though the pub was busy as it was Easter Sunday. We were served with our drinks within a few minutes, and our order taken as soon as we were ready. The staff were friendly and professional. Our food did...not take long to arrive and it was delicious and fresh. We would recommend visiting the Ship, it also had a great atmosphere.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michele Clarke, Owner at The Ship, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2024

Thank you so much for leaving us such a great review. we really do hope you visit us again soon.

Reviewed 1 April 2024 via mobile

A great transformation from what it was. The exterior doesn’t portray any confidence, but step inside and you’re in a different place. Met by happy and smiling staff. Very well laid out, social drinking area and then a large dining area. The food was great,...well prepared and the portions beat us…….We will definitely return…..More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michele Clarke, Owner at The Ship, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2024

Thank you so much for leaving us a fantastic review. You will be pleased to here that the outside of our building is infact getting a makeover during April.

Reviewed 31 March 2024 via mobile

We were in the area for a couple of days and visited firstly for a couple of drinks. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We decided to go back for food one evening, it was busy and there was a good atmosphere, the food...was very good and reasonably priced, again the staff were very attentive and friendly. A lovely place!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michele Clarke, Owner at The Ship, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2024

Thank you so much for leaving us a wonderful review - we really hope you visit us again soon.

Reviewed 30 March 2024

Pub promoted being accessible, but couldn't even get wheelchair through the door. Door width wasn't even the standard width door frame and was restricted by the door, so couldn't enable a self propelled wheelchair to go through the door. Was advised by a girl it...wasn't there fault as it was a listed building not helpful when its tipping down with rain!!!!! Shouldn't advise that it is wheelchair accessible as it's not, suggested that they rehang the front door so it opens outwards and has different hinges to ensure width of door frame is clear and not restricted by the door - this can be achieved even with a listed building! Shame as we were looking forward to it, ended up eating in Weatherspoons which was DDA accessible.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michele Clarke, Owner at The Ship, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2024

Good Afternoon, Thank you for leaving us a review. We really do appreciate you taking the time to do this. We have looked into your review, and have made a few queries in regards to what you have said. We are also shocked to here...More

Reviewed 13 March 2024

Very disappointed at being charged £9.50 for a medium white wine this is my local and I will have to think twice now especially if I have a meal too😕More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michele Clarke, Owner at The Ship, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Good Evening, Thank you for your review, we do appreciate it. Since our transition from Stonegate to Shepherd Neame and being in a tied tenancy we can only sell Shepherd Neame wines which are more expensive and we can only apologise for that but unfortunately...More

Reviewed 12 March 2024

Another visit to this superb restaurant today !2/3. for lunch. Excellent food (and chef)) and service, which I still think the best restaurant in Herne Bay. Thank you all Tony Green

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michele Clarke, Owner at The Ship, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Thank you so much for your lovely review Tony. We really do appreciate it.

Reviewed 10 March 2024 via mobile

FANTASTIC FROM START TO FINISH! We attended as a group of 4 for Mother’s Day lunch, followed by live music. The service we recieved was brilliant; the staff were so attentive and the food was so tasty and huge portions for Sunday lunch. The live...music provided was fantastic! The singer was brilliant and really got every one up out of their seats to enjoy the evening. We had a blast, we cannot fault this place: the food, the service and the entertainment were all second to none, we will be back for sure. Thanks again The Ship!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michele Clarke, Owner at The Ship, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Thank you so much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really do appreciate it. We do hope to see you back at The Ship soon :)

Reviewed 8 March 2024

Our table was booked for 6 people at 14:30 on March 3rd to celebrate my wife's Birthday. When we arrived it was busy the only food availabe from the sunday menu was Lamb, no pie & mash, beef or chicken. The Lamb Sunday Roast was...the worst we had ever had, just a load of gristle, raw potatoes (2) and dried up veg. Paid a lot of money and all left hungery. Will never go there again, we live in Herne Bay and thought our family would have a good afternoon. Waiting staff were five star, but could not help.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michele Clarke, Owner at The Ship, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Thank you for leaving us an honest review. We do like to know what we are doing right and what we need to work on. At our next staff meeting (which is very soon) we will be discussing Sunday Menu's and seeing what we can...More

Reviewed 3 March 2024 via mobile

We were looking forward to a good Sunday roast. We both ordered slow cooked pork, it was certainly not slow cooked as it had a lot of fat which would have melted in slow cooking. The vegetables were all so undercooked and so hard you...couldn’t cut them with a knife. In fact we couldn’t eat them. We told the waitresses and they said they’d told the kitchen and they had said sorry. It was expensive as we couldn’t eat the veg. Drinks were expensive too. The waitresses were very pleasant and apologised for the veg problem . Two other tables complained about their food whilst we were there. It was so disappointing and we won’t be going back for another meal.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michele Clarke, Owner at The Ship, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Good Evening, Thank you for leaving us an honest review. We are sorry that your experienced was not the best. We are having a meeting with all staff and will be bringing this review to everyone attention. As this is not the reviews we want...More

Reviewed 2 March 2024

really good service and food was amazing and would definitely go again. only thing im really disappointed in is theres no wine list at the moment. although theres new wines coming in you should either have the old one and cross off the ones you...dont have. or have a new wine list ready. there was a table next to me and they were very annoyed there was no wine list aswell. the look on their faces was not pleased. £10 for a large glass of newzeland is silly money! i could get 2 bottle of wine for less that stupid price.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michele Clarke, Owner at The Ship, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Good Evening, Thank you for your review, we do appreciate it. Since our transition from Stonegate to Shepherd Neame and being in a tied tenancy we can only sell Shepherd Neame wines which are more expensive and we can only apologise for that but unfortunately...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Marine Hotel
1,616 reviews
3.91 miles away
Hotel Continental
766 reviews
4.39 miles away
Crescent Turner
781 reviews
5.78 miles away
The Falstaff Hotel, Canterbury
2,102 reviews
6.77 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Wine Bar
408 reviews
.20 miles away
Mortimers Restaurant
517 reviews
.09 miles away
A Casa Mia
703 reviews
.19 miles away
Salt & Light
81 reviews
.08 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Kings Hall
37 reviews
.08 miles away
Herne Bay East Cliff Beach
11 reviews
.08 miles away
Prince of Wales
12 reviews
.06 miles away
She Rose
7 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
XavClaygate_Surrey
17 January 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from sazh999 | Reviewed this property |
Yes it’s dog friendly
0
Votes
mavis p
28 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AJS1309 | Property representative |
Hi Mavis, Yes we do and if you could let me have your email address I’d be happy to send it through.. Kind regards, Andy
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE SHIP, Herne Bay - 17 Central Pde - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Ship

The Ship is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4