Charlie's Bistro

Charlie's Bistro

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 1227 364242+ Add website
Hours
Sun
10:00 - 17:00
Wed
11:00 - 16:00
Thu
11:00 - 16:00
Fri
11:00 - 21:00
Sat
10:00 - 21:00
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Food and ambience
Local cuisine, Mediterranean, British, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Groups, Business meetings
Is this an European restaurant?
PRICE RANGE
£3.00 – £30.00
CUISINES
Bar, Mediterranean, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles326 reviews
Excellent
228
Very good
68
Average
19
Poor
7
Terrible
4
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Phoebe Robinson
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
I visited Charlie's for lunch on Thursday afternoon and was not disappointed! My friend and I both opted for paninis from the lunch menu that were great value for money and really filling. Service was brilliant and the bistro had a lovely atmosphere, with great views of the seafront too. I look forward to visiting again to try more of the menu and I would definitely recommend for any occasion!
Written 15 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Georgia-Lisa
Margate72 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
Great restaurant ! Service was amazing ! We were a group of 5 including a hangry 4 year old . The waitress was lovely and very understanding( I didn’t get her name but she had a Scottish accent ) . She was brilliant with him , not minding at all that he wanted his food separated onto different plates so that it didn’t touch . His meal was made very quickly and brought out to him so that he could eat , which was a thoughtful thing to do xx Food was lovely , staff lovely we will definitely be returning xxxxxx
Written 25 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jon C
Wrotham23 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 family
Always loved Charlie's Sunday roast but Gill and I are not yet ready to eat indoors with others (vulnerable due to medical issues,) so we thought we should try their takeaway . Good move 🙂 . The food was as good as ever ( best roast potatoes in Herbe Bay) and Lauren and Sean as welcoming and friendly as we have come to expect. SUPERB ! Love you Charlie's. Keep up the good work.
Written 27 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Malcolm J
Broxbourne5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2020 none
When I go to the seaside, the one. thing I dream of, being a Coeliac, is fresh gluten free fish and chips. Unfortunately 99% of the time outlets serving fish and chips just don't cater for people needing gluten free food. However, on a trip to Herne Bay, I managed to find an establishment offering gluten free fish and chips (they also have gluten free beer too, had I not been driving !). The name of the establishment - Charlie's Bistro. The owner of Charlie's Bistro is really friendly, and after taking mine and my wife's order told us that we could go and sit out in the nearby garden and enjoy the sunshine, while he prepared our meal, and that he would bring our meal out to us. About 10 minutes later, our host was as good as his word, and duly brought us our meal to the nearby garden. Each decent sized portion of fish and chips was accompanied by tartar sauce and slice of lemon, and he provided tomato sauce sachets too, when we asked for tomato sauce for the chips. The gluten free batter was light and crunchy and you could definitely tell it was cod from the taste, so was fresh. I really enjoyed the fish and chips, and would recommend this place to other Coeliacs wanting gluten free fish and chips.
Written 26 June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

J'Marie Dewdrop
Herne Bay253 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 family
I called Charlie at around quarter to two on a Sunday and by 3.30pm I had picked up 6 beef roast dinners. Absolutely stunning food, 2 adult meals and 4 children's meals for under £40. So not only stunning food but a great price. (The hubby moaned when I said I'd ordered it "great that's going to be about £80 then" so he was super pleased at the price, and has said we will Absolutely be ordering again. Thank you for getting a student out of her bedroom, off the pot noodles and pleasantly plump. Now to lay on the sofa with a Sunday belly.
Written 13 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

vimmes
Eastbourne37 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
After a brisk walk along the seafront we decided to give this Bistro a go, we were not disappointed, the carvery was outstanding , meats were cooked just right, plenty of veg and roast pots . Staff super friendly...we will be back
Written 5 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

drdanielmacdonald
Birmingham523 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 friends
Went here with my TasteCard offer for lunch. A chicken burger and chips..circa £13.. seems pricey for good cafe food..more like what a decent main might cost. Glad we had a TasteCard offer as deffo not worth full price from the a la carte menu during the day.
Written 8 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

PennyPepper123
8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 couples
Visited Charlie’s last night with my partner. We shared a baked Camembert to start, Followed by Chicken and King prawns flamed in Sambuca for myself and steak for him. We were so stuffed after our mains but couldn’t help but be tempted by the Belgian waffle! It was absolutely delicious. 10/10 food and 10/10 service! Will definitely be back again and can’t wait to bring friends next time! Thank you Charlie’s for a lovely evening.
Written 13 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

pianogirl60
London23 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 couples
We were lucky to get a table on a Friday evening. It was our first visit to Charlie’s, but definitely won’t be our last. We decided on tapas, and when they arrived each one was delicious - some of the best we have tasted, and better than most we’ve had in Spain. Decor is plain, service is friendly and welcoming, and there’s a beautiful sea view - what more could you ask for. Charlie’s is now our new favourite restaurant in Herne Bay
Written 31 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Katie B
Herne Bay7 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2023 friends
Very over priced for what it is and worst chicken caeser I’ve ever had. No Parmesan shavings no bacon and the chicken was breaded and was the same as I had last night for my tea which cost £1.69 for 4 - all server with ridiculous mound of bad not an iceberg or gem lettuce in sight. My friend who had the cod and chips had a piece of cod smaller than her hand and oven chips. If you’re expected to pay these prices then you expect quality - shan’t be returning.
Written 27 April 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sean Barber
Dear Katie, You have given Herne Bay Restaurants The Shad 1 star, A la Turka 1 star, Chop & Oyster 1 star and the 4 Fathoms 1 Star so I guess I should be happy with your 2 star review. I would like to respond to a couple of points. You mention your Caesar salad had no Iceberg or Gem lettuce, this is because neither belong in this Dish. We use a mix of Romaine lettuce (the base of all Caesar salads) and other premium leaves. The dish is described as crispy Caesar Salad however to say we use the same chicken you posted a picture of from a supermarket that you use at home is untrue as I wouldn't buy that product if you paid me. You mentioned there was no bacon which is correct as this would make it a chicken & bacon Caesar Salad which we don't advertise and also that there were no shavings on your salad which is true we grate our cheese. Lastly you accused us of using oven chips, why would we use a product which takes 25 minutes to cook and taste awful when we can fry chips in 5 which taste better. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your meal however if you had raised your concerns when asked how your meal was we could have rectified the situation immediately. I hope in future you find somewhere in Herne Bay you like however you seem to be running out of options in the area as we all seem to be sub standard. Best regards Charlie's.
Written 28 April 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

StanSteel
Cape Town26 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022 friends
What I thought would be a nice treat to have a lunch off and go out and eat where someone has certificates from Raymond Blanc! Nope, silly small portions, uses salad cream, burns the bread so it’s almost inedible, coats beautiful pulled pork in a bought bbq sauce it just tasted of sugar (The actually thing was difficult to eat and I now have ulcers at the top of my mouth. Flat over cooked burger (we asked for it medium rare), I think Someone sat on the bun. Very mediocre coleslaw, pretty tasteless… the chips were hot and ok. Some kinda frozen brought in breadcrumb mushrooms which we needed a knife and a plate to cut, they were rock hard. Anaemic looking calamari, I think 9 small rings, soggy lettuce (what’s that about?) This is not a Bistro it’s a cafe and a bad one at that. If you want bulk food on a plate like some low life’s (which we saw getting thru so much food it was off putting,) then u might like this. I was so unimpressed I just wanted to get out of the place. Friendly service but that’s it. ZERO STYLE.
Written 16 July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
warehorn
I am afraid that your review lost all credibility once you called my regular customers "lowlifes" as part of your feedback. I am not sure why you think it is acceptable to insult others who were dining when you allege to have visited however your comments are unacceptable , rude, unnecessary and show nothing but disdain to those around you. I do however thank you for your review and I apologise we did not live up to your incredibly high expectations however it is unfortunate you chose to say nothing at the time as we received no negative feedback at any point and had you done so could have perhaps dealt with this like gentlemen instead of you doing so on line and insulting my clientele anonymously from behind a keyboard. I note from your previous reviews on other establishments that you are incredibly unlucky as the majority of restaurants you visit are all sub par, clueless or too expensive in your opinion as I have seldom seen so many 1 or 2 star reviews from 1 person. May I suggest you only eat in Michelin star restaurants moving forward as only these establishments would be capable of satisfying your refined palate and the other customers would not make you feel so uncomfortable. Many thanks again.
Written 19 July 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MabelG
London1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022 couples
Visited Charlie’s on a Friday night for dinner and found they had a £5 Tapas deal which apparently runs every Friday evening. The food was exceptional and the service was excellent and very friendly. We enjoyed ourselves so much we returned for Sunday Carvery which was outstanding.Can’t wait to return.
Written 29 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Debbie
Herne Bay26 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2023 couples
Popped into Charlie's for an impromptu dinner and, once again, couldn't be more impressed with this lovely little Bistro. Sean and Lauren provide such a warm and friendly welcome, the restaurant is bright and comfortable and the food, we took advantage of the Friday £10 burger deal, was delicious, well cooked, well presented and plentiful. This little Bistro, tucked away on the corner, is a gem of a find in Herne Bay. We will be back soon!
Written 5 May 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

NickyRodley
Harlow24 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 family
Delicious food - great burger and chips, and generously filled grilled halloumi baguette. Staff friendly and helpful. Whn we came in our son, who is autistic, wouldn't move from a table that had a reserved sign on it but they let us sit there anyway. We're hoping to return to try the breakfast!
Written 31 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Lynn M
Canterbury6 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022 none
Booked in for the carvery today and was really looking forward to something special. It was 2pm so expected a good selection. The vegetables consisted of cabbage, carrot, cauli cheese (which was almost dry) and 3 pieces remaining of roasted parsnip which was overdone and chewy. The potatoes were just about roasted - no crispiness at all The Yorkshire pudding was ok. Definitely not worth the money which although advertised for 12.95 was actually £3 more. Desert was small and overpriced. Sorry I wont be returning.
Written 21 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 325
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
The Wine Bar
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Grill
The Green Door Deli
££ - £££ · Cafe, British
The Vintage Empire
££ - £££ · Cafe, British
Mortimers Restaurant
££ - £££ · Cafe, British
The Wallflower Cafe
££ - £££ · Cafe, Healthy
The Pier Ceylon
££ - £££ · British, Sri Lankan
Coconut Tree Noodle Bar
££ - £££ · Chinese, Hong Kong
Miller & Carter Herne Bay
££ - £££ · Steakhouse, British
Hampton Inn
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

CHARLIE'S BISTRO, Herne Bay - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

All Herne Bay HotelsHerne Bay Hotel Deals
Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire