We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Market Inn - CLOSED

7 Cattle Market, Sandwich CT13 9AE, England
+44 1304 448410
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good32%
  • Average12%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (3 reviews)
“bar billiards” (6 reviews)
“amazing pub” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
British, Pub
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
7 Cattle Market, Sandwich CT13 9AE, England
All Details
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

I have been coming to this pub for 27 years and have always had a great time with my husband and my sons but this year a change of management and a hostile stare on arrival. A wait to be served , when bar maid...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Lorraine F
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Since Ann and Paul have taken over they have returned it to a proper town centre pub. Offering food at genuine prices, pool, darts and bar billiards. Bonus on a Sunday 17.00 - 19.00 great live music.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank scoobydoo163
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Since returning from uni and hearing of new management I decided to give the market inn another try. Massively impressed! The new owners are personable and hugely welcoming. Ate there for the first time the other day and again I was thoroughly impressed, good food...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Thomas W
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Dropped back in after change of managers, much better atmosphere and service. Prices have been adjusted slightly down and quality of wine improved.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank scoobydoo163
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Nothing special to commend this place except the Shepherd Neame beer which was excellent as usual. Seems to have strong local custom but not over welcoming to new customers.

Date of visit: June 2018
2  Thank JohnB2151
Reviewed 16 March 2018

As my usual pub was shut, we walked into this amazing pub, as they were happy to let our chameleon curly in, we ordered food to find incredibaly tasty and fresh food quickly served by very friendly staff, very pleasent suroundings no airs and graces,...More

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Michael G
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Popped in for lunch today. Dog friendly which is nice. Member of staff was very nice. Burger was delicious. Food was hot. Have been in before with previous landlord. Would definitely order the burger again.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Cath6310
Reviewed 28 December 2017

We popped in here on the off chance thinking we may have missed lunch as it was nearly two thirty. However, we were warmly greeted and informed that the kitchen was open until three. We chose a table and ordered drinks and given the menu...More

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Helen S
Reviewed 13 September 2017

choice of food was ok on menu but veggie burger was sold out and veggie replacement was rubbish. Also fish and chips was poor my salad was ok. the town was busy but in a large place like this you expect better. Waitress apologised as...More

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank smileatcamera
Melissa C, Public Relations Manager at The Market Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you for your review however it would appear that you have left us this review in error as we neither have fish and chips nor a veggie burger on our menu.

Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Lemonade is good - 3.05 so middle of the range in price. Comfortable atmosphere and a nice pool table.

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank JohnsLemons
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Sandwich
The Fleur de Lis
108 reviews
.01 miles away
The Bell Hotel
839 reviews
.13 miles away
The Salutation
524 reviews
.22 miles away
The Blue Pigeons
241 reviews
1.32 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Beach Hut Cafe
234 reviews
.11 miles away
Goats That Dance
117 reviews
.05 miles away
The Hop and Huffkin
735 reviews
.03 miles away
My Thai
171 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Guildhall Museum
98 reviews
.01 miles away
Richborough Roman Fort and Amphitheatre
217 reviews
.94 miles away
The Salutation Gardens
276 reviews
.23 miles away
St Peter's Church
86 reviews
.19 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Cuisine
British, Pub
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 Cattle Market, Sandwich CT13 9AE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Sandwich
  • Phone Number: +44 1304 448410
  • E-mail
Description
Situated in the ancient market town and Cinque Port of Sandwich, the Market Inn was first licensed as a pub in 1874 although the building is almost certainly much older. In the early days, the pub was the meeting place for traders bringing their livestock to the market, hence of course its name. It continues the tradition of warm hospitality to this day. The Market Inn is a family run public house & restaurant under the supervision of the Cavell Family. All The food is homemade and made fresh to order. We serve hand pulled real ales alongside wine, draught lager, cider and spirits. We are open daily from 10:00 am. Breakfast is available between 10:00am and 12:00pm. The main menu is available everyday from 12:00pm until 3pm and 6:00 until 9pm.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing