We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cafe Rouge Tenterden

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
43 High Street, Tenterden TN30 6BJ, England
+44 1580 763029
Website
Today
09:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 09:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 293: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Went with my mum and dad for a family meal, there was a lot of choice on the menu. All the food was very tasty. Only 'issue' as such was the melt in middle chocolate pudding wasn't hot enough so it wasn't very melt in the middle. Service was very good and quick and any questions answered quickly. We had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe F
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

As part of a surprise weekend away my wife had booked a table at this restaurant even though we were based in Eastbourne for the weekend, so not the easiest place to get to from the south coast, but she had arranged a friend who I haven't seen for over a decade to meet us for dinner. He had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ken J
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited for lunch with my Mother. The decor is lovely but.. no one acknowledged us on arrival. After a longcwait wecwere told they couldnt find the winter elderflower mixer. I had fishcakes...just over £11 which were dry and tasteless. The real disappointment was the do called bouillabaisse. The portion was tiny....a small soup bowl with a couple of slices... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Tenterden, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the opportunity to let us know your recent visit - we value all feedback no matter how disappointing it is for us to read. We take pride in everything we do including the service we offer, it is clear however on this occasion we have failed to deliver our usual high standard of both food and... More 

crowborough
Level Contributor
104 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Tenterden lovely town ,Went to Café Rouge for lunch,at present on crutches but this did not stop us having a lovely lunch. Waiter was very attentive explaining the menu.. Well worth a visit nice place, good food, country town. Only parking in tenterden is not very good and expensive. where I live parking is free and attracts more people councils... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rita A
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Tenterden, responded to this review

Thank you Rita - great to hear you had a good visit with us at Tenterden and were well looked after by the team. We do hope to see you again when you are next in the area. Best wishes More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Only popped in for a coffee on a wet day. Flavour of the coffee was strong which we like .The tables and premises were spotless and the staff were very smart

Helpful?
Thank Kirsty C
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Tenterden, responded to this review

Thanks Kirsty for your review - great to hear this was a good visit for you and we do hope you will return next time you are in town for a visit. Thanks again, best wishes More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Haven eaten in this Restaurant a lot in the past year, a few times a week in the past, I have to say that the staff in Tenterden Rouge go about their work in an upbeat, professional manner, providing excellent service and quality food. I have read a lot of reviews on this particular restaurant, many of which are negative... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Magic_Diner14
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Tenterden, responded to this review

Thank you, we really appreciate both your positive review and your support of our team at CR Tenterden. I will most certainly pass your feedback to the team at the restaurant, and they will i'm sure be thrilled to receive it. As always, we aim to give the most welcoming of service and atmosphere to make your visit valued and... More 

hastings
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a birthday lunch with in laws was told on arrival that there was no mash or many of other items on menu should have left then but stayed wish we hadn't bothered they forgot to make one of the starter's so it came after everyone has finished the chicken meal my husband ordered was some kind of thrown... More 

Helpful?
Thank JaneHastings
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Tenterden, responded to this review

Thank you Jane for taking the opportunity to let us know your recent visit - we value all feedback no matter how disappointing it is for us to read. We take pride in everything we do including the service we offer, it is clear however on this occasion we have failed to deliver our usual high standard of both food... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017

It was a christmas celebration meal and we turned up to be told most food wasn't available we wasted petrol and journey after getting all dressed up. Was told brake brothers the mega frozen food company didnt deliver? for the prices they charge it should all be fresh not from a prepackaged meal frozen and then microwaved in a plastic... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gregory H
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

We waited more than 40 minutes for four standard main courses (one was a minute steak!), and about 20 minutes for a post-Christmas celebratory bottle of champagne. Our part of the restaurant was only half full, yet we had to go chasing a waitress for everything. The food was very average. The same dishes at the Canterbury outlet are far... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne L
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Tenterden, responded to this review

Thank you Anne for taking the time and care to let us know of your recent experience with us. We take pride in everything we do including the service we offer, so are disappointed to learn neither were to the standards experienced at the Canterbury site. We would like to take this opportunity to look into your visit further and... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Not the first time I've eaten here. Couple of things missing from the menu but still enough to choose from. The one thing with Cafe Rouge is that because the menu choice is small compared to other restaurants what they do serve up is good and is good value for the money, especially when you have a discount voucher. Will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roger P
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Tenterden, responded to this review

Thank you Roger for getting in touch and letting us know of your recent visit - great to hear this was a good experience and you will continue to visit with us. Thanks again, best wishes More 

Travellers who viewed Cafe Rouge Tenterden also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Rouge Tenterden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
French, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:30
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 43 High Street, Tenterden TN30 6BJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Tenterden
  • Phone Number: +44 1580 763029
Description
We're open all day for delicious French food. Drop by for a quick bite or linger a little longer and soak up the atmosphere. Located in a charming building on the broad High Street in the centre of Tenterden, and easily accessible by rail and road.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cafe Rouge Tenterden staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?