We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cafe Rouge Tenterden

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
43 High Street, Tenterden TN30 6BJ, England
+44 1580 763029
Website
Today
09:00 - 23:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 09:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 274: English reviews
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We have used this town centre restaurant on several occassions and found that it does what it sets out to do pretty well. We have enjoyed croques and light meals, prices are reasonable and service is genarally quite goodm although the staff are presed at busy times. This is not a gourmet restaurant but an honest, straightforward cafe..

Helpful?
Thank John G
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Tenterden, responded to this review

Thank you John for your review - we are pleased to hear you are a regular guest with us at CR Tenterden and regularly enjoy your visits. Thanks you once again for letting us know, best wishes More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

returned following a negative experience last year, literally as could not get a table anywhere else on a busy friday lunchtime, in a party of 4 people, we all ordered different items on the menu, but sadly just confirmed my opinion of this chain restaurant, having eaten over the years in the Hans crescent, and Cambridge locations, when there on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Catherine L
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Tenterden, responded to this review

Thank you Catherine for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the attentive service, but sorry to hear your food was not as enjoyable. We would like to look into your visit further so would welcome some additional details at our contact page - caferouge.com/howwasyourvisit. This would also allow us the opportunity... More 

England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stopped going for several years and then started again recently. I go for lunch every Tuesday and have a main course and a glass of wine and have been doing this for more than 4 weeks. I would like to say I am very impressed with the quality of the food. The hot smoked salmon on my bistro salad... More 

Helpful?
Thank NevilleEngland
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Tenterden, responded to this review

Thank you Neville for this review - we are delighted to hear you are now a regular visitor once again and I will most certainly forward your feedback to the Restaurant manager to share with the team. They will be thrilled, as we all are. Thanks once again, see you Tuesday ! Best wishes More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly the cutlery was dirty. Had to ask to change it. Had to wait 45 ms. for our order. No apologies for the long wait. Noticed everyone in the restaurant had to wait. When the food did arrive it was not the best by a long way. The fish was dry and my cheese and beetroot tart was burnt. Standard... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor D
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Tenterden, responded to this review

Trevor, although it is most disappointing to learn of your experience, we do appreciate very much you taking the time and care to let us know. We strive to ensure our guests leave our restaurants delighted with their experience, so we are sorry to hear you left feeling disappointed with both the food and service. So we may look into... More 

Eastbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

Whilst visiting Tenterden, my wife and I decided to have lunch at this restaurant. We both ordered a starter and main course for lunch. The meals were poorly presented and badly cooked. If you like bendy chips, tough tasteless fillet steak accompanied by a piece of wilting watercress, greasy duck, a stodgy dollop of potato dauphinois and overcooked beans, then... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Tenterden, responded to this review

although it is most disappointing to learn of your experience, we appreciate that you took the time and care to let us know. We would appreciate the opportunity to look into this matter further and also provide a more detailed and personal response, if you would permit us to do so, additional details may be provided at our contact page... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We popped into cafe rouge last night for a warm drink whikst waiting for the in laws to finish a steam train experience. The bars were a little too lively and we wanted a calm cozy place to sit. The 2 frmale staff and the manager didnt batter an eye lid when asked if ee can have a cup of... More 

Helpful?
Thank K L
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Tenterden, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback - we are delighted to hear you were made to feel most welcome during your recent visit and you were well looked after by the team. Thanks again for letting us know, and we do look forward to welcoming you back again. More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016

Popped in for lunch Saturday ordered drinks alongside olives and bread.. wrong drinks turned up, olives we had to ask where they were, another waiter told us that we hadnt ordered them ?? eventually came with lots of apologies, the table we sat on was wobbling all over the place went to move tables and the other one was the... More 

Helpful?
Thank loopyjen
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Tenterden, responded to this review

We are sorry to learn of your recent experience, we strive to ensure all our guests leave our restaurants delighted with their experience so are sorry to learn this was not the case for your visit. So we may address the many points you raise in a more detailed and appropriate response, we would request some additional details at our... More 

Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016

Booked table for 6.30pm Friday 21/10/10.Arrived 6.30pm before we had sat down we were asked what we wanted to drink.Wife choose Pate to start arrived two small slices of bread/toast and very small piece of Pate.We both chose Bouillbaisse 14.50 each ,Came in small oval pot ,fish across top ,still with skin on ,prawns and mussels below ,prawns had no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank frank601947
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Tenterden, responded to this review

Thank you Frank for taking the time and care to provide this feedback. We strive to ensure our guests leave our restaurants delighted with their experience, so it is disappointing to learn this was not the case for your visit. We would like to look into this further and would request some additional details at our contact page - caferouge.com/howwasyourvisit.... More 

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016

Have eaten here before and been quite satisfied with the Service, not sure if they have changed their menu but the food seemed to be of poor quality. The Burger was very compact and needed chewing and the Quiche was minimal. Bread and Olives well overpriced at £5.75

Helpful?
Thank nigelmelbert
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Tenterden, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear on this recent occasion you were left feeling disappointed with the standard and quality of the food. We do value all guest feedback, so thank you Nigel for taking the time and care to let us know. We would appreciate some additional details of your visit at our contact page - caferouge.com/howwasyourvisit so we may... More 

Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

Excellent full English breakfast perfectly served and much enjoyed, plus bonus of two for one offer.

Helpful?
Thank NickyTredway

Travellers who viewed Cafe Rouge Tenterden also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Rouge Tenterden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
French, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:30
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 43 High Street, Tenterden TN30 6BJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Tenterden
  • Phone Number: +44 1580 763029
Description
We're open all day for delicious French food. Drop by for a quick bite or linger a little longer and soak up the atmosphere. Located in a charming building on the broad High Street in the centre of Tenterden, and easily accessible by rail and road.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cafe Rouge Tenterden staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?