We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Travellers Rest

) #51 of 169 Restaurants in Chorley ££ - £££ , British,
Dawbers Lane, Chorley PR7 6EG, England
+44 1257 451184
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good28%
  • Average11%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“steak pudding” (18 reviews)
“rice” (7 reviews)
“fish cakes” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Dawbers Lane, Chorley PR7 6EG, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I have dreaded going out for a meal due to becoming intolerant to a number of foods. I have found some pubs and restaurants helpful and some (The Withy Arms in Leyland) very unhelpful. However my trip to the Travellers Rest was brilliant. They could...More

Thank dlost
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

VERY DISAPPOINTED. Went to Travellers as had not been for a while. Unfortunately a lot of the dishes were not available, no t-bone, no sirloin, no drunken pot, unusual for a Saturday night. Service was very slow and one table left after their starters. The...More

Thank mazzadazza2016
Travellers_Rest_PR, Owner at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wow. I am totally mortified by your experience. Please call me on 01257451184. Ask for Judith. Regards.

Reviewed 11 July 2017

This is a lovely old pub on the main road, we were passing and it looked a lovely place for lunch. Inside was clean and inviting and the only staff member apparently on duty was friendly and pleasant.. we were excited to see t bone...More

2  Thank Lynne P
Travellers_Rest_PR, Owner at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thankyou for your comments. Our food is fresh and sometimes we sell out. I think you will find both meals were removed from the bill without any discussion with you regarding removal. Our policy is, if a meal has not been eaten or enjoyed we...More

Reviewed 16 June 2017

my husband and I went here for lunch and we have both said never again my husband got fish and chips not much flavour not the best but he ate it,when I ordered my meal I explained that I couldn't eat cooked onions and asked...More

4  Thank osprey04
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

The staff are fantastic the food was wonderful ! The young lady from behind the bar even came over said hi to the dog and gave her a treat. The burger is really good 8oz just get an extra topping to finnish it off and...More

Thank Bren D
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Called here on returning from a shopping afternoon a few weeks ago, just for soup and sandwich which was lovely. Then again last week, both times we have really enjoyed the food. Its a relaxed atmosphere and it also has a beautiful beer garden. There...More

Thank HMargaret1960
Reviewed 26 May 2017

We received a warm welcome as usual, got our drinks and ordered our food. Our meals were freshly cooked and delicious. My husband had ordered a lager top but when we went to pay the bill we found it a little excessive to be charged...More

Thank 108Joan
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

Terrible service waiting for ages for drinks & food. Had been before for lunch & enjoyed it. Got onion gravy with raw onions in it. Staff were friendly but the waiting ruined the evening had to go up for bill in the end & the...More

3  Thank Michelle C
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

Went for dinner last night after place we normally go was not serving food. This pub looks like a more traditional pub, with number of rooms which I guess back in the day were 'tap room' & lounge. All done nicely & very cosy. I...More

Thank Hootie1963
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

Not been to the travellers rest for a few years so decided to give it a try was pleasantly surprised the atmosphere was welcoming food was great,the staff were friendly and helpful ,l would definitely recommend you visit .Also dogs are very welcome

1  Thank 2021margaret
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Girasole
9 reviews
1.81 miles away
Naseeb Indian Takeaway
22 reviews
1.47 miles away
Money Tree
8 reviews
1.65 miles away
The Bowling Green
367 reviews
1.80 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Worden Park
225 reviews
1.53 miles away
Bygone Times
239 reviews
1.53 miles away
Astley Hall
391 reviews
2.72 miles away
Charity Farm
18 reviews
3.14 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ruby F
14 August 2015|
Answer
Response from addz78 | Reviewed this property |
don't even have a TV 👎
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dawbers Lane, Chorley PR7 6EG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Chorley
  • Phone Number: +44 1257 451184
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing