We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inn at Whitewell

££ - £££, British,
Dunsop Road, Clitheroe BB7 3AT, England
+44 1200 448222
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good23%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“fish pie” (62 reviews)
“lamb” (34 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Dunsop Road, Clitheroe BB7 3AT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Fantastic location and food is very good. The only problem is that dogs are allowed anywhere. I don’t want to eat in the same room especially when it is raining because like it or not dogs do smell especially when wet. I have family who...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank VickiL353
Reviewed 3 days ago

Great location rooms were fabulous staff couldn't do enough for us to make the wedding an unforgettable day our meal was hot nicely presented and served by smiling staff the drinks prices were very reasonable and plenty of bar staff to serve us all very...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank andcoralie
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We enjoyed Saturday lunch at Inn at Whitewell. Having read reviews about the views, we were there on a day when the surroundings were shrouded in mist. All the more reason to be indoors by a real fire eating a tasty meal and with a...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank UKtraveller077
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Very kind of you to write us a review thank you so much. Glad you found us in the mist, we are a good place to snuggle down when the weather is a little hostile. Regards Cb

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We came here for the first time, with friends who have been coming here for many years. Wow. Love this place. Great ambience, space, food and staff. I definitely want to come here again. Pure pleasure. 👏👏👏

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 686job
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you so pleased you had a happy initiation and i hope we'll see you back for many years to come. Regards Cb

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been here for lunch on many occasions and went today for lunch. We love the place. Staff,are Good and helpful , love the place and log fires. The food was fine apart from the chips with the fish . We both had the...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Preston1955
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review, I'm so sorry about the soggy chips, that's rubbish, we should have got you more. We twice fry them so this shouldn't happen bahhh! Thanks again. Regards Cb

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have been coming here for many years and the experience never disappoints. The atmosphere, location, quality of food, service, second to none. Don’t ever change, until the next time. Thanks so much again.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank AliLov1
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your very kind words, the old inn can't really change too much as we are what we are, quiet evolution really. Thanks again. Regards Cb

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It’s a little strange that you cannot book for the bar area. This doesn’t mean that driving all the way to the Inn you need a little luck just to get a table but we managed. I was very disappointed that at 1pm on a...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Ollie000
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your thoughts, I know what you mean but booking in the bar is not done because we are a proper pub, it would be awful if you'd been out for a walk with the dog or fishing on the river, came into...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a wonderful lunch today with my husband, our first time to the Inn at Whitewell and definitely won’t be our last! What a beautiful historic place set in the most beautiful surrounding’s. on arrival we had such a warm inviting welcome lovely and warm...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Lisa-withers
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much, really lovely to hear that your visit was a success and I do hope you'll come and try us for a night, we had a couple who traveled all the way from Mitton the other day, 4 miles! Thanks again. Regards...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited with my mother for the bar lunch service, so this review doesn’t cover accommodation. The Inn at Whitewell is set in a beautiful area of Lancashire; both the drive and the view from the bar are stunning. We arrived just after midday and...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank racheld884
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had wanted to stay at this hotel for some time.I wasn’t disappointed. Our room would be classed as a suite in most hotels very spacious with tasteful antique furniture a large and very comfortable bed Fabulous view directly over the river and open countryside. Bathroom...More

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Peascod
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your very kind review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the old antiques, they are what an old country inn is about really, that and the odd fisherman with a dog. Thanks again. Regards Cb

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Clitheroe
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
509 reviews
3.07 miles away
Eaves Hall
302 reviews
5.08 miles away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
351 reviews
5.64 miles away
The Shireburn Arms
357 reviews
5.84 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Restaurant at The Gibbon Bridge
141 reviews
3.04 miles away
Parkers Arms
523 reviews
3.22 miles away
The Red Pump Inn - Restaurant
126 reviews
3.25 miles away
The Higher Buck
495 reviews
4.66 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Trough of Bowland
340 reviews
4.15 miles away
Bowland Forest Gliding Club
9 reviews
4.45 miles away
Browsholme Hall
38 reviews
1.86 miles away
Bowland Wild Boar Park
545 reviews
2.82 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Missyxxx
17 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jacinta M | Reviewed this property |
There is indeed- although it’s a country pub with hunting type people in it, there’s a good choice.
1
Vote
Evie S
31 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from danielii2015 | Reviewed this property |
No it is probably about 8-10 miles from the centre of Clitheroe but as a result of the narrow country roads, I would budget for 20-25 minutes. You should also note that there is no public transport that goes anywhere near... More
0
Votes
Margaret S
20 August 2017|
Answer
Response from City1fan | Reviewed this property |
In the bar they serve up until 2p.m. don't about the dining room
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$80 - US$80
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dunsop Road, Clitheroe BB7 3AT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Clitheroe
  • Phone Number: +44 1200 448222
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing