We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Inn at Whitewell

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Forest of Bowland Dunsop Road, Clitheroe BB7 3AT, England
+44 1200 448222
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

443 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 442: English reviews
Adlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We ate here for my Dads 70th birthday and the food and service was excellent. The staff were helpful without being too overbearing. The food although on the expensive side is definitely good value and some of the best food I have tasted. The menu also wasn't too large to be hard to decide what to have. I can highly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and so pleased the 70th went well, hopefully we can host the 80th too. Regards Cb More 

Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night while at a meeting. Lovely (quite scary) rooms with four poster bed, roll top bath, Molton Brown toiletries. Food was great and staff were very helpful. Would love to come back for the whole weekend. Very remote and difficult to find but I guess that's part of the charm.

Helpful?
1 Thank EverydayTraveller
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Love your comment about scary, that's a first. Thank you so much though. Regards Cb More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Friends who have stayed very kindly bought us a voucher so decided to use it for lunch . Also had read good reports on trip advisor. Greeted by a very friendly barman sadly his colleague wasn't so friendly when we ordered a second round of drinks from the bar. Drinks have to be ordered from the bar even in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank alanandpatricia
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

That's awful I'm sorry you were ignored and didn't enjoy your lunch, I think we're usually much better than that and I can't understand the cold we usually have fires roaring and if anything it's too hot. Sorry. Cb More 

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My Parents, Brother and I ate here for dinner after a day on our LEJOG Charity Cycle Ride. The steak, burger and all the other food we had was really nice and the atmosphere was welcoming.

Helpful?
1 Thank Phil G
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Many thanks for your thoughts glad you had a good lunch, hope the rest of the trip was successful. Regards Cb More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is without doubt my favourite restaurant in England, by a country mile. You have to travel a few miles out into the countryside to reach it but it's worth it. I have never had a bad experience at The Inn at Whitewell, the place just runs like clockwork. The bar is well stocked and the bar staff are always... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank expat1616
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for this, very much appreciate your thoughts and great to have approbation from a long term Whitewell ite, so important. Regards Cb More 

West Sussex GB
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I don't visit very often but when I do the Inn is a 'must'. Lunch was excellent with a wide choice and a good wine list. Always very busy. Not expensive for the quality. And the stunning view from the terrace of the river, the hills and the autumn colours in the trees is spectacular

Helpful?
Thank deltadry
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review most appreciated. I've taken some really poor shots of the leaves this autumn they never seem to do justice to the real sp[splendor. Thank you. Regards Cb More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely place to stay in a beautiful part of the country, food is great rooms are lovely. We love it best In the winter when when you can sit in front of the log fire.

Helpful?
1 Thank cp1569
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for this, I like this time of year too, fire, newspaper and glass of wine post walk with the dog, heaven. Regards Cb More 

Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016

The Inn is pretty big so loads of people in there when we rocked up for a Sunday dinner. Service and the food were really good considering how busy this place is. Log fires burning in all the dining areas and lots of contented people tucking into their Sunday lunches. Great views from the rear windows and it's a place... More 

Helpful?
Thank MikeChorley
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Lovely review thank you so much. Regards Cb More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016

We ate in the restaurant, and at the bar. Can't floor either of them. Note - there are different menus. The kitchen was efficient in getting meals out. There is a big selection of wines - also purchasable from their store in house, and local beers. The Inn uses locally sourced produce. It's all farm fresh and well cooked.

Helpful?
Thank CSItraveller
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Kind of you to post a review thank you. Most beers local all though we did have a keg of Fullers on last week! Very exotic. Regards Cb More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016

Love coming here for relaxed country house atmosphere and coffee and scones. Well behaved dogs welcome.

Helpful?
Thank lindamike2016
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

And children too! Although the dogs invariably have better manners. Many thanks for your kind review. Regards Cb More 

Travellers who viewed Inn at Whitewell also viewed

 
Clitheroe, Lancashire
Waddington, Clitheroe
 
Bolton by Bowland, Clitheroe
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 

Been to Inn at Whitewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$80 - US$80
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Forest of Bowland Dunsop Road, Clitheroe BB7 3AT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Clitheroe
  • Phone Number: +44 1200 448222

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Inn at Whitewell staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?