We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Nags Head

££ - £££, British,
2 Abbey Road, Bourne PE10 9EF, England
+44 1778 393644
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good23%
  • Average19%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (13 reviews)
“salad” (4 reviews)
“potatoes” (2 reviews)
Open Now
18:00 - 21:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Abbey Road, Bourne PE10 9EF, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2018

Awesome, food was hot and tasty , plenty of it and staff were fantastic, well done all. Can highly recommend this fora group dinner

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank andyholt16
Man a, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2018

Hi Andy Many thanks for your review, we're really pleased you all had a great time and enjoyed the atmosphere and the food! Look forward to seeing you again soon! Thanks The Nags Head

Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Cannot fault this food at all . Portions are amazing and great value for money . Bar staff are very friendly . This pub doesn’t get the custom it deserves better than sugar mill anyday

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank sarayoung1
Man a, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Hi Sarah Many Thanks or your kind review. We are really pleased you have enjoyed visiting us. Spread the word!! Thanks The Nags Head

Reviewed 13 July 2018

Visited just for a light bite. Unfortunately no baguettes. We felt that it was a little expensive for what it is. Some of the light bites at £8 are over priced ie very small steak & chips is a disappointment, £6-75 would seem a more...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Glynn E
Man a, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Hi Glynn Thanks for your review. We provide freshly made sandwiches on bloomer bread, we used to offer baguettes but the vast majority of our customers prefer sandwiches so we have stopped offering the baguettes. The light bite meal you refer to is a 4oz...More

Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Food good staff friendly a lot better than my last visit well worth a visit keep up the good work wild definitely call again

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank monhill32
Man a, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thank-you for your valued feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon! We will pass on your praise to the team.

Reviewed 3 June 2018

We popped in for a light lunch. It was not very busy, probably because we arrived at about 1.45, after the main lunchtime rush. We were asked to chose a table, which was a pleasant change rather than being shown to a specific table, which...More

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Glen F
Man a, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear Glen The door lock has since been repaired as the toilets are shared with the late night venue above the door lock had been damaged and not been repaired properly from the wkend prior. The Chef felt that as you had asked for no...More

Reviewed 17 March 2018

Have been today with my wife and two friends and despite poor reviews; admittedly some time ago; and before new chef installed; found the food excellent today, St Patricks Day,17 March 2018. Food as good as you get in the Emerald Isle, and that's says...More

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Bob R
Man a, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Hi Bob We're really pleased you enjoyed your visit with us on and look forward to welcoming you again very soon!

Reviewed 10 March 2018

Visited one lunchtime. Ordered granary sandwiches and was told the bread was actually bloomer bread instead which we were more than happy with. What was served was the worst food ever. Standard brown bread with warm chilli chicken - it was actually disgusting! First time...More

Date of visit: March 2018
3  Thank kibongi1965
Man a, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Hi We're really sorry you didn't enjoy your sandwiches, we have spoken to the Chef and he asked us to pass on his apologies. We normally use bloomer bread but he had just ran out of our brown bloomer bread and so as you had...More

Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Excellent service, great food. Great price too, £20 for two steaks and a bottle of wine!!! This is well worth a visit, better than smiths!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank NickC8
Man a, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Hi Nick We're really pleased you enjoyed your visit and the offers we run! Please feel free to spread the word! ;) Thanks The Nags Head

Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

Visited Sunday evening with family. Was made aware at booking the roasts would be finished at that time. 7 of us had great food and great service. The nags is back to its best. Well done all. We will be back regularly again

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Neil O
Man a, Owner at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Hi Neil Thank you for your kind review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again very soon! Many Thanks Richard

Reviewed 13 December 2017

Mrs Mac and I enjoyed a delicious dinner of Lasagne, Salad and Slaw,as well as Chicken, bacon, cheese and sauce with chips and salad. The helpings were so huge we could not manage any dessert. A shame as there were several good choices on offer....More

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Ian M
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Dormy House
18 reviews
.20 miles away
The Stage
154 reviews
6.90 miles away
The Fox
1 review
9.04 miles away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
628 reviews
9.10 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Wild Heart Cafe
107 reviews
.06 miles away
George's Fish Bar
138 reviews
.59 miles away
Gurkha 91
171 reviews
.14 miles away
Subway Bourne
35 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bourne War Memorial Gardens
26 reviews
.10 miles away
Bourne Outdoor Pool
32 reviews
.21 miles away
Baldocks Mill - The Heritage Centre
8 reviews
.14 miles away
Marston's - The Sugar Mill, Bourne
42 reviews
.91 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Penne d
19 November 2017|
Answer
Response from Man a | Property representative |
Hi, Our Steak offer (2 x Rump steaks & a bottle of house wine for £20) is available on Wednesday & Thursday nights from 6pm. If you would like to book please feel free to contact us on 01778-393644.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$19
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
10:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
10:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
10:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Saturday
10:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Abbey Road, Bourne PE10 9EF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Bourne
  • Phone Number: +44 1778 393644
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing