We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£5 - £30
CUISINES
British, Pub, Bar
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (134)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
119
5
5
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
119
5
5
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken supreme lamb sunday roast fish and chips pudding ice cream burger community pub new chef dark chocolate real credit b and b excellent food and service lovely pub nothing too much trouble lovely evening friendly atmosphere
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely fantastic meal. Had a Sunday roast and the food was amazing. Staff where very friendly and helpful. The manager hayley, she was always walking around making sure every table was ok and if there was anything she could do. I also noticed that hayley...was not afraid to help out when it got busy taking orders from customers, bringing out food and taking empties back to the kitchen Was always happy to help and very polite and always had a smile. A great little village pub managed and staffed by pleasant and friendly people. I would recommend anyone go here for a superb meal.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Tyler, Marketing at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Really glad you enjoyed your visit. Many thanks for the glowing review!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Brilliant local community owned pub was made to be made very welcomed and now have my own bar stool love this place thanks

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Tyler, Marketing at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hey, that's my stool! No, seriously, thanks for the lovely comments.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The pub inside is really really nice, a nice warm welcome feel and it was very clean, I like the addition of sofas so you don’t necessarily have to sit at a table, that’s kind of where it ends. I really do think a place...should have background music and then you wouldn’t have to listen to the 2 people in the kitchens conversation as they chat loudly across the kitchen. The lady who served us can be described as pleasant, not over friendly but just ok. Panini took a good 25 mins to come out, have no idea why this long with 2 people in the kitchen and 3 other customers. I ordered a chicken panini as I thought it the least calorific and was not particularly happy when it arrived with cheese on, I mean there was no mention of cheese on the menu so why have it in the panini, suppose I had been dairy intolerant? Anyway I scraped off the cheese and panini was edible so we ate and departed. I suppose you get one chance to impress and hopefully customers will return but sadly not based on this experience.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Tyler, Marketing at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your valuable comments. We'll make sure the menu is more accurate.

Reviewed 5 January 2024

Love this pub! called in on the spur of the moment for a couple of pints on Thursday with my wife and mother and ended up staying for a meal. My wife and mum just wanted a simple omelette ,which they happily cooked despite the...fact it wasn't on the menu. I had the venison, cooked to perfection and served with a delicious sauce. A good range of beers are are available and my pint of Timothy Taylors Landlord would indicate they are all well kept. Prices are very reasonable too - £19 for my venison! Staff were exceptionally friendly, efficient and attentive - special mentions for Eloise? Tom and of course the chef who all made our visit so enjoyable. A real hidden gem of a country pub, definitely well worth a visit.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Tyler, Marketing at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you. Glad you enjoyed your visit!

Reviewed 11 December 2023

Our family ate at the thorold on Sunday with family and it didnt disappoint Great roast lunch beef was a high light and spiced apple crumble a classic winner. Serve was a little stilted although friendly and polite

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Tyler, Marketing at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Glad you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 10 December 2023

We were looking for somewhere to stay while visiting Belton Woods and I found this absolute gem. Clean, comfortable great location and value for money. We enjoyed dinner and breakfast on our stay which was both 5 * staff were friendly and made our stay...one we will remember we would definitely recommend and hope to return in the future.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Tyler, Marketing at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Please visit us again!

Reviewed 8 November 2023

ate here in late October for Sunday lunch place buzzing food 5 star very filling great value Great wine choice real ales to die for love this place Gardens very well.kept

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Tyler, Marketing at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your nice words.

Reviewed 5 November 2023 via mobile

A fantastic place to eat and stay, we stayed the night and the room, shower was outstanding and friendly staff on hand to help. We had an amazing dinner last night with everything tasty and cooked to perfection. Really fantastic place and a community pub...too!!!More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Tyler, Marketing at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 15 October 2023

Food here is amazing, we are not local but we eat here when we are karting at the local track, 3rd visit to The Thorald and it never disappoints. Lovely country pub, gives you that proper homely feel, on our last visit the curry was...on the specials menu and it was lovely, bit disappointed it wasn't on the menu this time round, wouldn't usually order pork but thought I would have a change, it was delicious. My son likes his Steak and the home cooked chips are lush, compliments to the chef and the staff that make you feel welcome. Wish is was our local.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Tyler, Marketing at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It wouldn't be a specials menu if it was the same every time - glad you found a good curry substitute! Many thanks for the kind words.

Reviewed 14 October 2023

This place is my new favourite local for a good, honest pub lunch! Visited with 7 friends and 9 dogs... yes 9! They welcomed us inside, however, we did elect to sit in the lovely, modest garden. Nothing was too much trouble for the team...working...we felt so spoilt. Food was delicious and the service, second to none! So glad we visited here....and will definately call in again soon!More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Tyler, Marketing at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Glad we managed to fit you all in. Many thanks to you and all your companions!

Reviewed 4 September 2023 via mobile

A lovely pub with great rooms and lovely staff . Only stayed for one night but had a fabulous welcome and a really comfy room. It is the best value b&b/hotel I have ever stayed in and the breakfast was excellent quality. The poached eggs...were fabulous.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Tyler, Marketing at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Great review! So glad the stay was a success.

Reviewed 25 August 2023

What a change it makes to have different options on the menu both for starter and main. So many country pubs are all the same standard(nothing wrong with it)options. This menu excited on the specials alone. Plenty of choice which left it hard to choose...from but we made the right choices tonight. We had chicken and chorizo croquettes and the baked souffle,both of which were gorgeous and we would have them again. For mains we had the pie which was really well made. The pork belly was delicious and a good size portion. We only live a few villages away and will absolutely come here more often We came a few years back and there wasn't anything wrong with the meal but nothing bought us back.i presume it's new people or new chef.we will be back. Our favourite deserts were on the menu too but unfortunately we were too full to try them but next time we will leave a bit more room. Thankyou to everyone that made it a lovely evening out. Rachel and Gemma( I believe )were really attentive and looked after us wellMore

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Tyler, Marketing at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2023

What a great review! Thank you so much and come again soon!

Reviewed 20 August 2023

We stayed over on a Saturday for a wedding nearby. Had a super warm welcome from the landlady, room was new and immaculate, great bed, great shower. Cooked breakfast was awesome too. Couldn't fault a thing. Would def recommend. Rob & Linda

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Tyler, Marketing at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2023

Thank you, Rob and Linda. We really appreciate your kind words and are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 14 August 2023

The staff were absolutely amazing. All of them could not do enough for you. The room was clean and really comfortable. Breakfast was brilliant and the location is lovely.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Tyler, Marketing at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2023

Thank you so much. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 4 August 2023

Had a fab meal, with a varied menu choice, reasonably priced and good portion sizes. We were a group of 12 and provided pre orders. Great communication with Rachael and nothing no much trouble. Everyone commented how lovely the food was with good service. Will...definitely be back.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Tyler, Marketing at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you and do come and visit us again!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Barn Hotel & Spa
3,203 reviews
.54 miles away
Travelodge Grantham A1
337 reviews
2.36 miles away
Belton Woods Lodges
120 reviews
2.98 miles away
Eden House Hotel
18 reviews
4.54 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Brownlow Arms
386 reviews
2.53 miles away
The Welby Arms
470 reviews
3.03 miles away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
255 reviews
3.16 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Alpaca Centre at JandJ Alpacas
199 reviews
2.77 miles away
Ancaster Leisure
138 reviews
3.18 miles away
Belton Woods Spa
269 reviews
3.30 miles away
St. Wulfram's Church
172 reviews
4.90 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
car0lyn174
2 March 2021|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 3844e9f | Property representative |
Hi Aubrey, we are currently finishing the renovations at The Thorold. We hope that we will be able to launch all information, including prices and pictures very shortly. Please keep an eye out on our website and social media... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE THOROLD, Marston - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Thorold

Yes, The Thorold is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Thorold is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 5