Iron Forge

Iron Forge

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 1724 410440+ Add website
Hours
Sun
11:00 - 23:00
Mon
11:00 - 23:00
Tue
11:00 - 23:00
Wed
11:00 - 23:00
Thu
11:00 - 23:00
Fri
11:00 - 23:00
Sat
11:00 - 23:00
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
£5.00 – £13.00
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Brew Pub, Bar, European, British, Pub, Central European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
meals, features
Does this restaurant have a full bar?
PRICE RANGE
£5.00 – £13.00
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Brew Pub, Bar, European, British, Pub, Central European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles461 reviews
Excellent
225
Very good
47
Average
46
Poor
50
Terrible
93
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

nortonfen
Gainsborough126 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
Call here after a hospital appointment and there were a few customers in the restaurant. I asked for advice on gluten free option. I was given the allergens foler. This okay but not very user friendly and it is a bit off putting . The food order was served promptly and was very tasty and hot. The staff did ask if the meal was okay . It was a good experience.
Written 11 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DanielT7870
Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your experience with us at The Iron Forge. Unfortunately we cannot guide guests through options that are gluten free, same as nuts and other allergies as all allergies are different and we may advise wrongly; it is company policy that the guest chooses what best suits their requirements. However, I'm sorry you felt this was not user friendly, I will look into this. Hope to see you again soon.
Written 13 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

shell_164
New Milton200 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 family
Food was lovely and well priced would go there again for a family meal. Large groups were handled well and we all sat and ate together even the people who chose to have Carvery were given a 5 minute warning food was coming out to sort themselves out as well. Would recommend to anyone
Written 2 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DanielT7870
Thank you for your feedback Shell_164, It's great to hear you had a good experience with us at The Iron Forge, I'm glad you've recognised our efforts as a team to make sure guests and staff are safe in these unpredictable times; we are adapting every day to make sure our standards and guest service is high. Thanks again and please visit soon
Written 11 November 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ray B
Scunthorpe1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022 friends
Carvery very poor only turkey available veggies left out too long and hard very little choice compared to previous visits Yorkshire pud very solid and hard to cut. Lasagne was lovely but came without garlic bread. Red pepper curry came without mango chutney Very very poor Will not be going back for a long time
Written 24 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team Iron Forge
We are so sorry to hear your recent visit fell short of our usual expectations. This is not how we want our guests to be left feeling when they visit us. We have recently undergone a change in managment and we are working really hard to improve our business and return it the 5 start standard we stive for our guests to experience. We hope you will give us another try soon so you can see we are better then your past visit.
Written 27 June 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sahara
248 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2018 family
We booked a table for 7 to eat and no one was impressed. They had ran out of a couple of meals on the menu one been mixed grill which they dont tell you untill you go up to order. We asked to be told a couple of minuites beforehand when meals were coming out so others could go up to get carvery so we would all be eating together. Apparently its standard they do this or so we was told but they didnt even bother telling us. When we went up to get carvery no one was serving, was looked at by other staff members and ignored just left waiting. One staff member said she would get the chef but she actually ended up getting him twice! We was waiting at least 5 minuites and no apology for this. The meat from the carvery was fatty, some veg was undercooked to hard to bite into, roast potatoes looked to of been stood there all day so we didnt try these. When going back to table others were half way thro there meals. The fish was burnt and soggy, meat all fatty, those that had chips were only given about 5 and the carvery wasnt great!. Complained to our server who looked uncomftable as she was only young so told her not to worry about it but pass on to manager. Manager never came to talk to us but on our way to moving to the bar area i approached her and started talking, however enougher member of staff aporoached said there was a problem in the kitchen so she left the conversatiin to sort this out and altho she saw where was sitting nit once came to see us. This is the 2nd time i have ate here and both times not good so wont be eating again. The pub this night was led by Poor management, Staff dont seem to know what they are doing and basic manners were not even used. Avoid the food restaurant side but it wanting just a drink then its quite nice.. we went in for few drinks on NYE They had a disco/dj night on it was good atmosphere, adults/kids seemed to be enjoying it and few dancing, dj was good. So would recommend just for few drinks.
Written 2 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DanielT7870
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you had a negative experience with us on this occasion. Unfortunately, we cannot preempt stock running out despite us, as a team, doing our upmost to try avoid this as it doesn't reflect the correct impression of how we perform. I can only apologise that you weren't able to order what you requested at this time and can assure you it won't happen again. Unfortunately, the chefs working on the carvery deck are required to make sure they have cook and prep replacement vegetables and joints of meat ready to replace those that have been sold which leaves the deck momentarily unattended when all our guests have been served but as a team, we communicate constantly to make sure our guests are not waiting long to be served; I'm sorry you felt this was not the service you had received. I have passed on the comments to the team in regards to the quality of the meals that were sent out to your table so that we can rectify this issue in the future and make sure it never happens again. If you'd like to discuss this further so we can try restore your faith in us at The Iron Forge please don't hesitate to give us a call between 9am - 11am Monday - Sunday 01724 410440
Written 9 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

kristen
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 family
I have been here on two occasions, both of which were very poor. The food, was either over done/ or / underdone. And quite frankly everything I have tried there has been a let down, I have had to send food back because it was too cold or undercooked and just poor as a whole. i was waiting over 55 minutes to order! I was absolutely disgusted at the state of the seating, of which 99% of them were covered in stains ( not only does this not look good but puts you off from sitting down!!! And makes you wonder what there hygiene rating is ) The service is slow ( and I can understand at this current time they probably are understaffed, so taking that into consideration it’s not the easiest) but I have been unbelievably disappointed, considering the amount of money our meals cost, for the service and food we were provided with. Will not be costing again, would not waste your money.
Written 14 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel T
We appreciate all feedback as is gives us the opportunity to improve and grow as a business. I however can assure you that we hold ourselves to a high hygiene standard in our business at all times especially in these unprecedented times. We hope you visit again in the future.
Written 15 December 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Helen A
Banbury1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 none
We were looking for a place to have a full English today and many of the usual greasy spoon cafe’s were closed. We happened to notice that the Iron Forge was advertising on a board outside as we drove past that they served breakfast, so we thought we would give it a go. To our surprise we were the only customers in there. This took away our worry of adequate social distancing but as no one else was there it made us wonder on the quality of the food, Did the Scunthorpe folk know something we didnt? Well we needn’t have worried. The menu gave us a reasonable amount of choice but we knew we were looking for a full English. We had to wait approx 20 mins as the food was cooked to order but this wasn’t a problem as it meant it was beautifully hot and fresh. The bacon and sausages were of good quality which you don’t always find at a typical greasy spoon cafe and they were cooked on the griddle which gave them an authentic taste. We really enjoyed it though we did miss not having any mushrooms. But the tomato was fresh and not the tinned variety you usually get. The server was courteous and attentive. My only concern was that the he wasn’t wearing a mask. I understand this isn’t mandatory and controversial but at a time when I can’t wear a mask because I’m eating, I do like the restaurant staff to have them. To me it seems futile socially distancing the customers if the servers are not going to protect themselves and the customers by donning a mask. Maybe something for the management to think about.
Written 6 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DanielT7870
Thank you for your feedback Helen A, I'm glad you had a great visit to us on this occasion and it's great to hear your detailed compliments of our breakfast service. We are forever following the guidelines that are given to us via the government and the company which changes daily so we keep adapting to the change that is necessary to keep our business running. You'll be thankful to learn that we are now in fact wearing masks as a team unless exempt, and hope this encourages you to visit again soon. Thanks again
Written 11 November 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Hanna
Lincolnshire6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 couples
Firstly we arrived and waiting at the stand for a while until we realised we take our own seat. Surely a member of staff could of explained this so us as there was plenty of them wondering about. Me and my partner both had a carvery so we waited at the stand. We waited quite some time till someone came to serve us. No hello how are you? Or sorry for your wait but what meat do you want? The plate was dirty so we asked for another one. We noticed this while we was stood around waiting but the member of staff didnt notice which he should of took more care about the service. He then just stormed back off into the back after giving us our meat which wasnt very welcoming or polite. The stuffing was really dry, I must admit I visited a few months ago and this was the same. We wont be visiting again.
Written 18 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DanielT7870
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that you didn't have a positive experience with us on this occasion, this is not the type of service we expect to hear from our guests. I have addressed these comments with the team and hope that this doesn't happen again. I wish for you to return so we can restore your faith in us at The Iron Forge
Written 5 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Simon Cutts
Scunthorpe7 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 family
My family and I visited for the first time on Monday teatime, your social distancing measures are well thought out and there was plenty of room between tables, a job well done. The food on the other hand not so much, certain items, such as the soup and the burgers were lovely, the burgers were well cooked with nice charring but still juicy in the middle. However the carvery side of things left much to be desired, powdered mash which was tasteless, frozen roast potatoes, all three meats were dry and tasteless, the stuffing was undercooked and too dry. To be honest the only things reasonable on the plate were the Yorkshire pudding, though slightly overcooked and the carrots. I know we had money knocked off due to the eat out scheme but that shouldn't result in a lack of food quality. I'm sure by taking a little more care and using better ingredients the carvery could be so much better. I used to visit the mallard on the odd occasion and the carvery quality was far superior, you really need to aspire to this. I rather email than speaking with the guys on the shop floor after having worked in the industry myself I know how upsetting and demoralising it can be to have a customer complaining in you face but as you have not replied to my email, social media it is. I may visit again but I would be cautious about opting for carvery.
Written 29 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DanielT7870
Thank you for your feedback Simon Cutts, I'm glad that you enjoyed majority of your visit to us at The Iron Forge although I am disappointed that the carvery was not up to standards on this occasion. I have passed on the comments to the team to make sure the carvery is at its best all of the time. We have certain specifications to adhere to in accordance to the menu and what is stocked onto the carvery deck so we cannot alter this to match or run alongside other carveries that you may have visited in the past that were not Marstons. We as a team encourage our guests to speak up when they have complaints during their visit so we can resolve the issue before guests leave as we want our guests to leave happy regardless of experience. We are trained to deal with complaints and we are not at all offended or upset in dealing with them. We discourage guests from posting on social media as it discredits our efforts and makes us feel helpless as we are there to take care of you whilst in our establishments. Thanks, and please come again soon.
Written 11 November 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Helen
Scunthorpe72 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 couples
Visited this evening for the first time since they reopened. We were met at the door by a meeter and greeter who fully explained the new rules and how we were to order our food, the directional arrows, social distancing etc. The menu is more limited than usual but still had plenty of choice. We ordered scampi and hunters chicken which were both cooked perfectly and we only had to wait about 15 minutes. All in all very well organised, well done to Dan and his team for getting everything in place, hope to return soon.
Written 9 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DanielT7870
Hi Helen Thank you for your feedback! We're glad to hear you had a great time with us at The Iron Forge. We are sorry about the limited menu but hopefully we'll be able to increase it back to normal soon! We take our guests and staff's safety very seriously and I'm proud that we have a team that explains the rules and guidelines clearly for our guests. We hope to see you again soon for another 5* review !
Written 30 July 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ann19542021
Scunthorpe21 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2022 family
We booked a table for 9. They contacted us as there was a problem and only carvery available. We accepted and happy to go. We had mostly regular carveries. Mine had two very small slices of gammon the end of joint so small in size and beef, again end of joint and very small. Given one piece. So small amount of meat I commented and he gave me one small piece more still not sufficient for a portion. I like a small carvery but because I wanted extra meat I asked for regular. Totally disappointed in amount and quality. My husbands beef was inedible. My brother in law got two lovely big slices of turkey on a small carvery. Maybe they thought they'd run out because only carvery available and were told to give small portions but I am very disappointed. This is our local and we go regularly. It's not acceptable. Pull your socks up iron forge!
Written 11 December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dan C
Hi Ann We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your time with us All your comments have been taken on board this will be investigated further and dealt with accordingly We hope that this experience hasn’t put you off as this isn’t our usual standard So I send my apologies for the experience that you received on this occasion Kind regards- Iron forge
Written 13 December 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nicola B
Scunthorpe20 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2023 family
Rang up in advance to advise coming in for carvery Meal for 2 (mum and daughter) Came in and pre paid Carvery - no mash only 2 meat and not much to choose from other than vegetables Meat was dry and not impressed with £30 bill for what we received Service was fine but food such as mash potatoes (which is a must for a Sunday dinner) should have been advised way before we were had plates in hand. Even on payment . Then we would have choose somewhere else as my child is a mash potato fan on a Sunday dinner. It’s not a carvery without mash in our opinion
Written 26 February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dan C
Hello Nicola, Thankyou for your feedback, please can you email us directly regarding this review at Ironforge.scunthorpe@marstons.co.uk Kind regards, The Iron Forge team
Written 2 March 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ashley C
7 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2023 family
Came for a meal with my wife who has dietary requirements and needs to eat gluten free. They have a great menu for those who need to eat GF, but as per usual for this area, we where told when we ordered that the gluten free fryer was out of order. Guys, if you can't be bothered to offer gluten free options then take them off the menu and we'll go elsewhere. It's really that simple. We've visited a number of places in Lincolnshire in recent months who all mysteriously seem to be plagued with broken gluten free fryers. There's no need for this bs, either offer a full menu or don't, but never advertise what you have no real intention of delivering.
Written 13 January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dan C
Hi Ashley Unfortunately due to our fryer being condemned we were unable to provide full gluten menu but was given other options. As I’ve been made aware you were informed before your arrival by our General Manager on this and you were given other options in which you chose from. Due to this being no fault of our own and currently rectifying the issue in hand. We are sorry on this occasion we couldn’t fulfil your needs as we aim to cater to all needs. Unfortunately in this case that was not possible due to fryer which is currently in the process of being replaced. Kind regards- Iron forge
Written 16 January 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

bridget c
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 none
been today for lunch carvery was cold, our table was dirty no condiments or napkins or cutlery on the table. Tables very close together no social distancing. Have booked for another time but after today will be cancelling. Prices through the roof for rubbish cold and poor service food, bad service
Written 3 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dan C
Hi Bridgetcd8945wv, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. Please contact us at 01724 410440 when you have an opportunity, and we will be more than happy to try and turn your experience around.
Written 6 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Howaaa123
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2022 family
No service what so ever, advertising money off on Father’s Day can’t use the voucher till the day after? Literally makes no sense what so ever. Food and drinks are so overpriced, they advertise paying on your phone “no service available” shock! And the portions are an absolute joke all microwaved. Never again strongly do not recommend do not waste your time in this place.
Written 19 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dan C
M8169doneilh, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. Here at Iron Forge, we are always looking for ways to improve; we appreciate your input. If you would be willing, we would like to have you contact our manager at 01724 410440 to discuss ways we can better serve you in the future.
Written 21 July 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

kristian s
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 couples
The Carvery was really dry, the plate was filthy, and the server, christ where to begin. The most rudest individual I've been served by once he came out after waiting for 5 minutes without being seen too. The whole experience was terrible. From services to food. I shall not be returning or recommending to anyone.
Written 18 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DanielT7870
Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry you did not have a positive experience with us on this occasion. This is not the level of service that we expect to hear from our guests and I hope that you return in the near future so we can restore your faith in us at The Iron Forge.
Written 4 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 461
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
The Stables
££ - £££ · Mediterranean, European, Greek
Colosseo
££ - £££ · Italian, Mediterranean, European
The Ferryboat Bar and Kitchen
££ - £££ · British, Gastropub
The Anchor Beefeater
££ - £££ · Steakhouse, Bar, British, Pub
Gills vintage tea room
££ - £££ · Cafe, British
The Paddocks Tea Room
££ - £££ · Cafe, British
The Shires
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub
Megna Restaurant
££ - £££ · Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
Jaaz Pavilion
££ - £££ · Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
Miller & Carter Scunthorpe
££ - £££ · Steakhouse, British
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

IRON FORGE, Scunthorpe - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

All Scunthorpe HotelsScunthorpe Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Scunthorpe
Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire