The Egg & Spoon

The Egg & Spoon

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 1723 512032+ Add website
Hours
Sun
9:00 - 17:00
Mon
9:00 - 17:00
Tue
9:00 - 17:00
Wed
9:00 - 17:00
Thu
9:00 - 17:00
Fri
9:00 - 17:00
Sat
9:00 - 17:00
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Travellers' Choice 2023

RATINGS
Food
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
CUISINES
British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
features
Is this a juice / smoothie bar?
About
Cafe in Filey serving hot and cold breakfasts, hot and cold lunches, desserts, cakes, hot and cold drinks
CUISINES
British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles522 reviews
Excellent
379
Very good
80
Average
33
Poor
22
Terrible
8
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Zane B
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
Me and my partner decided to walk into this lovely bistro on a hot day for some great food and drink after being on the beach all day. Upon arrival we were greeted by a lovely blonde hair waitress who politely took our details for track and trace and took us to a free table outside. We walked into a lovely closed off garden with flowers everywhere, the sun shining and most of all a great area to sit at a social distance. Straight away we were given menus and given enough time to order our food and drinks. Once we had finished deciding, our order was taken right away by a lovely young man with spiked hair. We had about a 10 min wait for the food and drink (which me and my partner were very surprised at given how busy it was!) I ordered the 'New Yorker Panini' and my partner ordered a full breakfast. I must say the food was delicious and went down a treat! The mrs even treated herself to a cheeky Jaffa Cake gin! (they're licensed too which is fantastic, oh and I of course was driving.. ha!) Once we had finished, the lovely blonde haired waitress came over to our table and with her huge smile, asked if we wanted anything else. We both said we were fine and just asked for the bill. The pricing for our food and drinks came to around £20 which we thought was very underpriced so happily tipped to £25. Overall, our experience at Filey Bistro and Coffee Bar was second to none and we will most definitely be coming back here again.
Written 12 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

gwynt123
Scarborough19 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
Went with a friend for lunch, we both decided on the Bistro meat pie, we both agreed it was the best pie we'd had in ages. The meat was tender in a very rich stout gravy and the shortcrust buttery pastry was delicious, well done to the chef. Also the waitress did warn of a possible 25 min wait as they were very busy and the pies were cooked to order, which was very good. we will be back.
Written 2 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

DMalone
Gainsborough61 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021 family
Food was lovely and served quick quickly, thank you kitchen team. The beef was lovely on my Sunday dinner....however We were shown to our table and given two menus, for 4 of us, that’s no problem,one normal and one Sunday menu. We had to ask when someone passed about 10 mins later what the meat was for the Sunday dinner. Now I have been a waitress and that would be what you tell the customers when you seat them, also what the specials are, also offered drinks at this point too. But no...I’m afraid not. We ordered and 2 drinks arrived after 10-15mins and no other drinks?? JFood came 10 mins later, perfectly acceptable as quite a few tables occupied and I never mind waiting as you know it’s cooked fresh. We had to ask for condiments, again surely they should be offered. We then chased the other drink at this point. No apology when they arrived. Seems it takes 2 people to sort out pieces of cake for a table near by to take away while we sit and wait for gravy/horseradish etc. Over charged on the bill too 😩 I did leave a tip as a youg lad looked like he was working really hard serving and the food was lovely, however bit disappointed with the rest of the service.
Written 30 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Andrea V
Leeds41 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 family
We went in without a reservation and were sat on a table in direct sunlight by a young man (about 18-20 years), although it’s now turned cloudy in the photograph). Thought fair enough as the other tables had reservations. He gave us one menu for three people and then left us for a good 15 minutes before taking our order. The worst was to come. He brought our cutlery and napkins on a dirty looking tray and dumped it on our table without even looking at us. When he brought our drinks he also dumped these on our table and asked us to take our own drinks and cutlery. We thought ok, social distancing and all. But when he brought cutlery and drinks to the table of 4 next to us, he took his time placing each knife and fork on top of each individuals napkin for each person. He also placed each drink next to each person. I am a teacher and my husband is a graphic designer, but we’re a bit scruffy. We don’t look like we’re middle class because we’re not materialistic, so this young man judged us and found us of less value compared to the 4 people on the table next to us. He lost out on a BIG tip as I usually leave 20% as I waitressed in my youth and I know how little they earn. Note to all waiting staff; don’t judge people by their appearance and treat everyone the same. That’s true in life anyway. We come to Filey every year, but we’ll never return here even though the vegetarian food was very nice.
Written 12 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

jason b
3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 couples
Popped into Filey for a spot of lunch and found this place. The waitress was very friendly and polite with our order placed promptly. Soup was okay and homemade, but when it came to my main meal I ordered a chicken fajita ciabatta and a wrap came (What!!!) I asked for this to be changed to a ciabatta which they did (I would have thought they would have filled the ciabatta with the filling) and they brought the meal back without the ciabatta to let it go cold. When the ciabatta arrived I had to make the sandwich (the chef probably doesn’t know how sandwiches work) but the chicken and sauce was to salty. Fair to say that all I had eaten was half of the ciabatta with the sour cream and salsa and one strip of chicken from the bowl with the salty sauce. I said I would pay for everything else but not the bad chicken meal. The owner refused and I had to 50% of the bad meal I would have paid 25% but not 50%. I will say that the waitress was polite about the confusion that is on the menu which is why I am not giving 1 out of 5. Unfortunately as a restaurant co-owner myself it is not pleasant getting bad food complaints but unfortunately these things happen, and I am unlikely to return to this place.
Written 6 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joanne K
Thank you for your review which we were expecting! I’m somewhat confused by your heading ‘sort out your menu sections’. Our menu is perfectly fine as it is thank you. If you took the time to read our menu it very clearly states it is served with wraps!!!!! We do not use additional salt & you are the first person to say it’s salty? If you wouldn’t have eaten all the dish bar 2 bits of chicken then the dish would have been removed from your bill, however as you had eaten all your horrible salty food we very fairly reduced it by 50%.
Written 7 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Watkins4
Wakefield60 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 none
We visited for Sunday lunch as a family of 4. The food was as delicious as always, the service friendly & quick. The covid19 precautions were clear with hand sanitiser available & a check & trace book & there was plenty of room between tables. The 3 course lunch at £9.95 is great value for money with a choice of starters, roast meat, potatoes, vegetables, Yorkshire pudding & stuffing (or veggie alternative) & either hot pudding of the day or a choice from the chilled cabinet - very difficult to make as everything looked so lovely. Eventually flake cheesecake, lemon cheesecake & chocolate fudge cake were chosen, along with the hot dessert of jam & coconut sponge with custard. Each one delicious. We will definitely be back soon!
Written 26 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Rose O
Halifax89 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 family
We visited here 3 times during our stay in Filey, 2 lunches and a breakfast. As a vegan it was a relief to find somewhere that catered for me as well as the meat eaters. First visit I had tofu and veg kebabs with sweet chilli sauce which was lovely and tasty. Second visit I had falafel on flatbreads, also lovely. The vegan breakfast was really good, so often I end up with beans on toast so it was a joy to just order the breakfast as a whole, there was a large vegan breakfast option too. The rest of the group all really enjoyed their meals too, including an afternoon tea. Just a couple of small details not quite right, no non dairy milk and prawns suggested as a vegan option! That said overall it was lovely, the staff were friendly and it was well organised for COVID regulations. Definitely recommend and will be back next time we are in Filey
Written 2 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Wombattles
42 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
Okay, we're not from Filey, and from the reviews it looks like I'm late to the party here, but what a great place! Called in on a VERY stormy day, windswept and soaking wet, and we were lucky enough to get a table without having booked. The menu was extensive and the quality of the food far exceeded my expectations (no offence intended!). It was the best meal I have had in a long, long time without exception. The quality and taste of the home-made food puts other larger, more expensive eateries to shame. Absolutely delicious. Great service, too.
Written 1 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
629joannek
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit & enjoyed our food & service. We look forward to you visiting again if your ever back in Filey.
Written 2 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

alantheyorkie
Newcastle upon Tyne34 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 couples
This restaurant was very communicative and helpful when we were making our booking, but was a bit disappointing on the night. Although masks may not be compulsory, it was disappointing that none of the front of house did, and when the table near us left, the table cloth was just given a brief wipe down with a bare hand, and not changed. One wonders what precautions are being taken in the kitchen. The food was ok, although portions were not big.
Written 4 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
629joannek
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. As we don’t re-book tables out on our evening service we don’t change tablecloths when customers leave - they simply all get stripped together at the end of service and washed! When you book a table it’s yours for the evening - we don’t rush people out to turn tables neither do we strip tablecloths off tables when other customers are still enjoying their evening!! I can assure you all precautions are taken within our 5* hygiene rated business. Glad your food was ok though!
Written 5 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

rosgraymarykaren
Tamworth79 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 family
We were staying at Primrose Valley and strolled along the Beach to Filey. We had read that this restaurant had good reviews and were unable to book as we had no Wifi so took a chance on getting lunch. Upon entry we were greeted by a very pleasant lady who said it was not a problem and seated us straight away. I can highly recommend the Pie it was delicious. Everything was hot and well presented The Restaurant was spotless The Toilets were cleaned to a high standard. Although we didn't eat out there the small courtyard garden looked beautiful. Can highly recommend Excellent
Written 18 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

MrsV_00
London323 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 none
We popped into the bistro for breakfast because we saw the menu had cooked breakfast on the menu (which is what my husband was keen to have). We walked in and stayed after asking about their GF options. The staff member who met us at the door knew they had some options for us without having to ask the chef, or another member of staff. Two thumbs up for that! The service was good, The bistro had two other couples sat down. As soon as a waiter came over we ordered straight away as soon as a waiter came over (because we need to check what is GF). The waiter wasn't sure about the GF items (ie the sausage isn't GF) so he was really good about checking all of that first. From ordering to the food coming out was 25minutes. My husband had the large breakfast and asked to substitute the black pudding for hash browns. The waiter said that was possible, but it didn't happen. I had the eggs benedict, which was nice. It was probably the richest sauce I've ever had, and it didn't go too well with the salty bacon. I think the dish would be nicer without the bacon. From ordering to food arriving it was 25 minutes.
Written 7 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joanne K
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 3* review of your visit to our Bistro. I apologise for our staffs error In not changing the black pudding to hash browns - if you would have notified a member of staff this could have been changed immediately for you! In relation to your eggs benedict I’m sorry this wasn’t to your taste but I can honestly say you are the first person to say our bacon is salty.
Written 7 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dale C
Bebington90 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 family
Fantastic meal with family on Thursday evening 23/7/20. Our 1st visit here and the food and service was excellent. Less than £9 for a great steak meal with all the trimmings, really tender steak with no waste. Really good quality for all our meals. Wine reasonably priced for a restaurant. Staff really friendly and helpful. Will certainly book again on our next time in Filey- Brilliant!!!
Written 25 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

David A
West Bridgford1030 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 family
Stopped on a wet day for lunch. We had cheese & onion panini with chips and salad, whilst the others had broccoli & Stilton soup. All were ample portions and tasty. Service was quick and friendly and as when were going to leave it rained even heavier they said that’s OK just take a seat until it eases. I would recommend them both for the food and excellent service.
Written 7 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Aries0
Manchester55 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022 none
I have previously reviewed this restaurant in May providing a detailed glowing experience. How very different was my second visit. I didn’t require a full meal so as a vegan I asked the waitress for the vegan burger with a little salad. The usual meal then arrived without the chips. The food was very tasty and well presented. The waitress then never returned to our table at any point, Eventually my friend and I were wanting hot drinks. I left my seat and approached the waitress asking for a sweets and drinks menu. The waitress VERY abruptly informed me the drinks menu was on the back of our menu. I informed her we would be requiring drinks but again her continued absence was noted. We waited a considerable time and I then suggested we get coffee elsewhere. At the till point we waited a while to pay whilst three members of staff huddled around the till explaining to customers they had messed up their bill and had to key in different items to reach the total amount. I then paid for our meals and politely questioned why I was paying as much for the meal without the chips. The same waitress appeared and VERY abruptly informed myself I had asked for extra salad. This was not the case. There was no extra salad either. She then ignorantly walked away. The second time she had been abrupt with me and I politely said “rude”. I was then offered a £1 discount for the chips by those at the till! In these challenging times people will make choices where to eat and this type of service will not encourage customers to return. Overall it’s a nice restaurant but totally ruined by extremely poor service.
Written 31 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Filey B
Hi Aries0, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your visit on Wednesday. Apologises for the delay whilst I spoke to the staff members concerned. Firstly I would like to offer you an apology if you felt like the young waitress who served you was abrupt. She is only 15 and I appreciate that sometimes the younger members off staff can come across abrupt when not meaning too. On this day our manager was working and if you'd have asked to speak to her she would have dealt with any concerns immediately for you. Also, as you say times are hard for businesses at the moment so unfortunately we are unable to charge customers less when they choose not to have what that particular dish is served with. And to be honest I've never know anywhere to allow someone to only have a burger and adjust the bill? I find your comment about not being hungry so only wanting the burger and salad without the chips and being disappointed at being served the burger, salad and coleslaw very odd. If you choose not to have the chips your making that choice. You could have had something smaller from our light menu. The fact that you are vegan is irrelevant. You then seemed annoyed that you was charged for the meal you ordered? As a small business we pride ourselves on being very accommodating but we can't control what our customers order, vegan or not. Also in your review you mention that the staff were sorting out an error that had occured with another customers bill when you came to pay, I'm not sure why you've felt the need to mention this?? Our manager then proceeded to give you a discount for the chips you chose not to have as part of your burger meal as you complained upon paying. I wouldn't have given you a discount. Many thanks
Written 4 September 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Fraser R
Inverness46 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 none
We popped in at the right time and were offered a table inside. After arriving lots of people tried to get in but they were full because of bookings. So if you visit phone and book a table first you wont be disappointed. The outside dining area is very popular and definitely requires booking. It is beautiful. The staff were very friendly and the service was excellent and fast. They were ensuring that covid guidlines were adhered to and very polite if anyone "slipped up". The bistro was not only very clean but the food were beautifully presented. I had the Bacon and Black Pudding Salad and it is one of the best lunches I have had for a long time. The two poached eggs on top were cooked perfect and just as I like them. The portion size was very good too. A must visit place if in Filey but be sure to book to ensure you get to sample this gem of a place.
Written 26 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 522
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Sponsored
Royal Tandoori Scarborough
££ - £££ · Indian, Asian, Grill, Street Food
The Boat Shed
££ - £££ · British
The Lighthouse Tea Room
££ - £££ · Cafe, British
The Ship Inn
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub
Bella Italia Ristorante & Pizzeria
££ - £££ · Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean
Charlottes of Filey
££ - £££ · British
Horse Shoe Inn
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub
San Marco Ristorante
££ - £££ · Italian
The Piebald Inn
££ - £££ · Brew Pub, Bar, British, Pub
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE EGG & SPOON, Filey - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

All Filey HotelsFiley Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Filey
Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire