We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (175)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
151
18
1
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
151
18
1
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews truffle cakes chocolate treats chocolate selection ice cream sandwich great coffee dark chocolate chocolate based lovely chocolate friendly cafe lovely shop lovely little place visited twice bite to eat market place visiting richmond
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This small cafe was full and other customers were waiting even on a drizzly Monday. As the scones were not on display one of the staff kindly brought one out for my inspection. It passed and my first ever chocolate scone was enjoyed.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elizabeth Graves, Owner at Mocha, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. Our chocolate scones are unusual but for me they combine two of the best things in life - chocolate and a warm soft-inside not too cakey scone! I’ll pass your comments...More

Reviewed 6 January 2024 via mobile

Absolutely amazing Mochas and Hot Chocolates. Go for the dark chocolate Mocha it’s absolutely delicious. The free truffle was a lovely bonus too!

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elizabeth Graves, Owner at Mocha, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2024

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your lovely comments 😊

Reviewed 1 November 2023 via mobile

Visited yesterday whilst in the area. As always great, friendly service and advice of which chocolates to select. Lots of chocolates to select from with a range of flavours. Takeaway cakes and chocolates we got were lovely. Well worth a visit

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2023

Popped in for some hot chocolate just after our arrival in Richmond. There is a great variety of hot chocolates and extras to be had. Our drinks were lovely but maybe a little expensive compared with other places in the area that we tried.

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 October 2023

We thoroughly recommend Mocha. Friendly staff and tasty food! We enjoyed the tastiest sausage and bacon roll followed by an apple and cinnamon scone with delicious home made damson jam! The truffle with our drinks was a lovely surprise! Thanks! We'll be back next time...we're in Richmond!More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2023 via mobile

Called by for a take out coffee and tea when visiting Richmond. Cafe was busy and the cakes and scones I saw looked lovely. All staff I dealt with were really lovely and helpful. Coffee and tea tasted good. And we loved the complimentary truffle...you gave us with our cuppas. We will be calling back to buy some chocolates after seeing them. And sampling a cake in the cafeMore

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elizabeth Graves, Owner at Mocha, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2023

Hello and thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m really pleased you enjoyed your visit and I look forward to seeing you again when you’re in Richmond next time 😀

Reviewed 9 August 2023 via mobile

Visited Mocha at aske hall near Richmond North Yorkshire. Have been many times before and had reasonable customer service. However this time they got our order wrong over and over again and reacted as though it was our error. Very disappointing and off putting.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elizabeth Graves, Owner at Mocha, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2023

Hello, thanks for getting in touch. I’m sorry you had a bad experience at our cafe at Aske. I am aware of the particular busy day in question as we had sickness and a new member of staff having to cover - it isn’t always...More

Reviewed 27 July 2023

Terrible. Profiteering from coeliacs. We ordered 2 take out toasted cheese and ham sandwiches. Gluten Free. cost £16 for 2 tiny sandwiches and a bag of crisps. I wrote a review on Facebook and they responded with a snotty response about it not being their...fault the GF bread was small. Apparently under some sort of duress in their procurement department they are forced to buy tiny GF bread and pass on the loss by charging more and providing less to their clients. They did not respond to my further comments. Today we were fortunate enough to eat at a more reputable establishment and I shared a photographic example of what can be accomplished in the same price range for a substantially better product, simply by actually caring about what level of quality you provide to a client. Photos below of the review from FB they have deleted, and the example sandwich I sent before they blocked me.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elizabeth Graves, Owner at Mocha, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

Hello again. On receipt of your initial correspondence we reviewed the details of your complaint and as a result we have made some changes to our take away menu. We have increased the quantity of gf bread used in our sandwiches and toasties, and have...More

Reviewed 9 July 2023

We had coffee several times at both shops , fab coffee ! We had Yorkshire breakfast at the riding school Mocha - excellent, and smoked salmon/ cream cheese bagel and Welsh rabbit with red onion chutney The chocolates are delicious we bought a box of...17 and have 3 left! the salted toffee truffles you have with your coffee are delicious ( I am not a great toffee fan ) the staff are all friendly and even remembered Ted our cockapoo - he said thanks for the treats - my niece is visiting Richmond soon may need another box of chocolatesMore

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elizabeth Graves, Owner at Mocha, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2023

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'll pass your comments to the team who will be thrilled. Hope to see you and Ted soon x

Reviewed 23 April 2023

Popped in to get your delicious salted caramel hot chocolate, stood at the counter waiting to be served, could see the waitress was busy so waited, was not acknowledged, another waitress appeared, still ignored, then she served customers that came in after me, the customer...came to pay and asked if I'd been served, I said no, the waitress was stood in front of me behind the till and still! did not acknowledge me. So I left and took my business elsewhere. I've previously visited Mocha Aske and was delighted with the service. Very disappointed with Richmond.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elizabeth Graves, Owner at Mocha, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2023

I’m sorry to hear of your experience today. As you know at Mocha we pride ourselves on excellent customer service so this is very disappointing to hear. Please accept my apologies and please be assured that I will look into this.

Reviewed 19 April 2023 via mobile

We popped into Mocha a couple of times for coffee, lunch and cakes during our February holiday to Richmond. It’s a friendly cafe, serving a good variety of brunch, lunch and cakes. Not to forget the great selection of coffee and of course their homemade...chocolates. They were delicious so we bought a couple of boxes to take home- one for ourselves and one as a gift. It is also dog friendly. Would recommend!More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elizabeth Graves, Owner at Mocha, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

Thank you for your review and apologies for my late response, I have just found your review and I have passed your comments on to the team. I look forward to welcoming you again when you're next in Richmond

Reviewed 13 April 2023 via mobile

Always brill coffee and lovely staff. I called ahead as my daughter was sleeping in the car and I had parked outside as needed coffee after a long night. They even brought it out to me to save me moving. Thank you so much

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elizabeth Graves, Owner at Mocha, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

I've just seen your review, so apologies for not respoinding sooner. Thank you for your kind words and we'll see you again soon 😊

Reviewed 18 March 2023

Wandered in from the market place for a coffee on an icy cold March morning. Got a little chocolate with drinks too. Staff were really lovely a made up a large box of them while we were there. Every single cho was gorgeous. So nice...that next day we went for a lunch at the nearby Ask Hall chocolate workshop/ cafe which was even more welcoming. This place is not to be missed if visiting Richmond and have a taste for a bit of chocolate. Serious risk of addiction now because since arriving home I discovered the boxes can be ordered on line.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elizabeth Graves, Owner at Mocha, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2023

Thank you so much for your review. How fantastic that you've had chance to sample both our Mocha cafes! Hope it's not too long before you visit us again x

Reviewed 31 January 2023

Only went in for a coffee & teacake but were seduced by the gorgeous salted caramel truffles that came with the coffee. What a clever bit of marketing - bought a whole box for later.

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elizabeth Graves, Owner at Mocha, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2023

Thanks for taking the time to post a review Sue, we’re really pleased you enjoyed your visit. Those truffles are so good aren’t they?! We also have these on our website if you need to buy more 😋

Reviewed 17 December 2022

Great choice of chocolate based drinks - White, milk, dark with orange & other flavours. Wide choice of chocolates including some interesting flavours like dandelion & burdock or peanut butter & marmite. Service was slow but we weren’t in a hurry. Coffee & tea also...available!More

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elizabeth Graves, Owner at Mocha, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2022

Thanks for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon 😁

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The King's Head Hotel
1,690 reviews
.03 miles away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
1,029 reviews
.17 miles away
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
546 reviews
3.24 miles away
Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner
1,152 reviews
3.75 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Number 29 Tapas Bar
200 reviews
.07 miles away
Rustique
1,618 reviews
.06 miles away
The Noted Pie Shop
137 reviews
.03 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Georgian Theatre Royal
495 reviews
.09 miles away
The Green Howards Museum
316 reviews
.03 miles away
Richmond Castle
1,075 reviews
.04 miles away
The Station
613 reviews
.29 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Catherine R
20 June 2021|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Elizabeth G | Property representative |
Hi, no we don’t I’m afraid, but our table turnover is quite fast so you shouldn’t be waiting too long 😁
0
Votes
Elaine R
15 March 2018|
Answer
Response from melady3 | Reviewed this property |
It’s very small in there but I’ve seen customers with dogs at the tables
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

MOCHA, Richmond - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mocha

Yes, Mocha offers takeaway services.

Mocha is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5