We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Blue Bell Inn sits on the border between North Yorkshire and the Wolds in the village of Weaverthorpe overlooking the village green, surrounded by open fields and woodland. Come and relax in our oak beamed cosy bar for a drink or two and in winter enjoy the open fire. Dine in our celebrated restaurant or one of our two private dining rooms and enjoy our excellent food and wide choice of wines and champagnes. Stay in one of our six comfortable en suite rooms or indulge in one of our six champagne rooms. We look forward to welcoming you. Karl and Julia Norton
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Bar, British
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Table Service, Highchairs Available
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Traveller rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb shank sorbet fish cakes pudding pate scallops champagne room private dining rooms pol roger log burner a great stay bluebell inn onion gravy the pub stayed here compliments to the chef sunday lunch
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

Very occasionally you get to experience something special, normally by chance. We were looking for somewhere to stay for five nights in the area and a friend recommended this delightful country pub to us. What a find..! We stayed in one of the 'Champagne' rooms...More

Date of visit: June 2021
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Just enjoyed a 2 night stay in one of the Junior Suites (Dom Perignon) and what a gem this place is! Accommodation was lovely, with a very handy private courtyard for our fur baby. The service was first class from very friendly staff, and the...More

Date of visit: June 2021
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful Food , Fantastic Service , So nice to be back here and have a pleasant landlord . We only came once and swore never to come again while the previous Arrogant , rude landlord was here . Will definately be back here now regularly.

Date of visit: May 2021
Karl N, Owner at The Blue Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi and thanks for the great review (and compliments/ feedback to me). It was an absolute pleasure and we look forward to more of he same when you visit again. Warmest of Regards, Karl

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came for Sunday lunch with my wife. We were seated and asked to sanitise etc so felt safe Covid wise. We hadn’t booked so weren’t too disappointed when we were told the whole menu wasn’t available. However, the table next to us had booked and...More

Date of visit: May 2021
Karl N, Owner at The Blue Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm sorry that you didn't have an enjoyable experience but with it being the first week back after a five month closure there were some items that our suppliers were unable to deliver! We have been assured that this will be rectified going forward. I...More

Reviewed 29 December 2020

Very disappointed to book a table here, we were seated and food ordered waiting with a drink. Then started arriving in two’s, all very cleverly planned, the ‘cadet party’ - surely this would not be within the covid regulations in place at the moment! It...More

Date of visit: December 2020
Karl N, Owner at The Blue Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2021

Dear Haley. Sorry you didn't have a pleasurable visit and that you felt the need instead to cast wild aspersions via TripAdvisor rather than talking to us directly... However, in response, we confirm (as MANY of our other valued customers have) that we are indeed...More

Reviewed 8 December 2020

Liverpool’s original T3 restrictions and Lockdown 2.0 mean that it is 2months since we have been to a pub. But oh how that wait was rewarded at The Bluebell tonight. Excellent beers, and the food was just superb in choice, presentation, flavours and quantity. Couldn’t...More

Date of visit: December 2020
Reviewed 27 October 2020

We booked a table to eat here for my birthday and we are so glad we did - a warm welcome as we entered the pub an shown our table - we ordered drinks an browsed the menu everything looked appealing but we settled on...More

Date of visit: October 2020
karln549, Owner at The Blue Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2020

Hi Tracey. What a great review to receive (its making me hungry lol) Here's hoping you return soon to try our other amazing offerings. Warmest of Regards, Karl and the Team

Reviewed 25 October 2020

Everything about the Blue Bell Inn was stunning. The food, the staff, the atmosphere was absolutely fantastic. I’d recommend this place to everyone.

Date of visit: October 2020
karln549, Owner at The Blue Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2020

Thank you very much for the kind feedback. It's great to know that all our hard work pays off. Warmest of regards, Karl and the Team

Reviewed 21 October 2020

I went with a friend and the food, atmosphere and service was excellent. We had brisket which was a special on the night and wow absolutely gorgeous. The red wine was just the right temperature too. Felt very safe in our Covid world. Thank you...More

Date of visit: October 2020
karln549, Owner at The Blue Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2020

Hi Julie. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a fab review. The beef brisket is one of my personal favourites (especially washed down with a nice red). Warmest of Regards, Karl and the Team

Reviewed 11 October 2020

Just had one of the best Sunday lunches I've ever had, The Yorkshire pudding starter served with Cranberry pickle on the side was amazing, I don't think Karl realises how nice that was lol, my wife and parents loved there meals as always, this place...More

Date of visit: October 2020
karln549, Owner at The Blue Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Hi Richard. ALWAYS a pleasure having you visit us and it was great to see you again yesterday after such a long time. THANK YOU so much for the excellent review as it certainly helps guide customers to paying us visit. Lets hope we see...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Best Western The Bell In Driffield
386 reviews
8.89 miles away
Wrangham House Hotel
267 reviews
9.14 miles away
East Ayton Lodge
110 reviews
9.15 miles away
Reighton Hall
1 review
10.60 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Sally Middlewood Farm Bakery
133 reviews
4.00 miles away
The Triton Inn
330 reviews
4.23 miles away
The Dawnay Arms
297 reviews
4.67 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Great Ryedale Maze
49 reviews
3.38 miles away
Wolds Way Golf
12 reviews
4.01 miles away
Sledmere House
326 reviews
4.39 miles away
Waggoners' Memorial
31 reviews
4.43 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jacqui M
10 May 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Larry L | Reviewed this property |
They have a vegetarian menu so I’m sure if you asked them in advance they would try to be accommodating. We’ve visited here many times and always found the food and service to be excellent.
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Blue Bell Inn

The Blue Bell Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4