We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£4 - £13
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Healthy
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (112)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
74
17
10
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
74
17
10
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paninis scones lovely cafe table service quality food great coffee for sunday lunch cyclists c2c chips dog
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 October 2023

Our second trip to this lovely little cafe. After a walk around the surrounding moor, we headed for The Hemmel Cafe just as the rain set in. Dogs welcome inside, so we sat down and despite intending to ‘only’ have a sandwich, we went for...the Sunday Roast. Both (one beef, one nut roast) were delicious, with crispy roast potatoes and a selection of veg, all done to perfection. We were tempted to have crumble and custard for dessert but didn’t - I regret that now - oh well, we’ll have to return next time we are in the area and put that right!More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sami Nash, Owner at The Hemmel Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2023

Thank you lovely to meet you xx

Reviewed 22 August 2023

Have been reading some of the other reviews on Trip Advisor.. Very strange... We've been in the Hemmel a few times and have always found the staff very friendly, efficient and can't do enough for you.. Food is good too - very generous helpings and...can't fault the quality.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 April 2023 via mobile

Visited this cafe today .plastic table covers grubby. staff feeding the fire with logs .and just wiped their hands on their clothes NOTwashing them .then making coffee handling the cups not by the handles but hands round the main cup !!- and handling plates of...food !!+ the food was awful heated up in microwave. pie crust was hard .and the inside was lumpy and hard ..!!, chips dry and tastless . the pudding was actually lovely!!! public toilets floor flooded no seats on loo .and filthy dirty . ADVICE GIVE THIS PLACE A MISS !!!More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sami Nash, Owner at The Hemmel Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2023

Thank you for your appalling review however please get some if your facts correct before you write reviews ! Our pies all homemade we don't buy in! And as your pie was egg and ham it's naturally going to be lumpy ! And as you...More

Reviewed 7 April 2023 via mobile

Very poor service got order wrong after we waited for about 30 mins poor quality food when we finally got it. To be fair it was busy and a lovely sunny day

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sami Nash, Owner at The Hemmel Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2023

Thank you for your review sorry to hear you got the wrong the wrong order and did you inform us about this at the time and if it was the wrong order

Reviewed 25 September 2022

We finished our trip on Isaacs Tea Trails with a hearty meal at the Hemmel. Lovely weather so we sat outside. Very dog friendly and great that the little ones could play in the playground while we ate.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sami N, Owner at The Hemmel Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2022

Thank you hope to see you soon x

Reviewed 21 September 2022 via mobile

We visited here on the basis of a recommendation from the lady we were staying with. She knew I love a good panini! The first time we visited the cafe wasn't open despite us being a good 10 minutes after the advertised opening time. It...didn't matter because the location is lovely, but we did wonder if we would be able to have breakfast! We did! However, we didn't feel overly welcome, is that because we were strangers? I don't know. When asking for a decaf coffee we were met with "well what type of decaf coffee", we kind of felt 10 years old. Having said all that, the breakfast was nice with lots of variety (and the bog standard decaf coffee was fine). But I still wanted that panini!! So we went back a few days later. We sat down and were asked what we wanted to order. Erm, we hadn't seen a menu at this point. On asking what was available we were told "whatever is on the board" outside. Now, we're not locals, we didn't know there were no menus on the tables. And being honest, I felt like a bit of an idiot. Still, I wanted that panini. Sadly, we don't have a happy ending. No panini's available, out of paninis but I could have the filling in a sandwich. So, being the stubborn person I am, I did just that. It was ok. It wasn't a panini. You know what, whatever walk of life we work in, we all have off days but we can't let that spill into the public arena. I'm disappointed I couldn't give more than 3 stars today because I so wanted to enjoy the experience. The food we did have was ok, the breakfast was good. The service was lacking and really depended on who spoke to you. I did feel like an outsider and not particularly welcome and I wanted to enjoy it. I wish The Hemmel every success going forward, my only suggestion is to aim to make every single person who walks through the door or who sits at your lovely outside tables feel welcome. Sadly, I don't think I will be back, promise of a panini not withstanding.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sami N, Owner at The Hemmel Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2022

Thank you for your review sorry your experience was not 100% how ever altho we do endeavour to be there every morning before 10am there has been odd occasions we have been late due to events beyond our control As for your coffee wether its...More

Reviewed 6 September 2022

When you walk into a cafe and are made to feel like you shouldn't be there, didn't get this experience off to a good start. Unfriendly and unwelcoming waitress. Won't be going back. Avoid.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sami N, Owner at The Hemmel Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2022

Thank you for your review sorry you have a had a bad experience how ever all our waitresses recieve very good reviews are well known in the area for the pleasant manner and good service ... however we all have off days no need to...More

Reviewed 28 August 2022

A very pleasant cafe in a good spot. A wide menu and lots of outdoor seating. Plenty of local exploring.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sami N, Owner at The Hemmel Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2022

Thank you xx

Reviewed 27 August 2022 via mobile

Fabulous breakfast absolutely delicious Service from Jen was amazing Thank you for a great experience

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sami N, Owner at The Hemmel Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2022

Thank you xx

Reviewed 25 July 2022 via mobile

This little cafe in a tiny village has gone downhill. Uninspiring menu, very slow service, average food, when it finally arrived. The chips and the coffee were good, though. I’m sure it’s fine for C2C cyclists who need ‘fuel’ but it’s no longer the treat...for lunch that it used to be.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?5  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sami N, Owner at The Hemmel Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2022

very sorry to read your review we have never had a complaint about our menu and our customers vary widely not just c2c however we are fully aware of how rude you were to staff and your husband after he ordered lasagne chips garlic bread...More

Reviewed 21 July 2022 via mobile

Sad to see for the second time we have visited no cheesecake or any other cakes other than tray bakes and scones it has been amazing in the past shame things seen to have changed

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sami N, Owner at The Hemmel Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2022

Hi thank you for your message we have been closed a couple of days this week and with the heat cheesecakes don't last we need time to restock and make items after being closed and the fridge is now full of cake and cheesecakes

Reviewed 11 July 2022 via mobile

We had a splendid trip for lunch today to the Hemmel Cafe in Allenheads. Lovely setting, friendly and attentive service - and excellent home cooking! Best cheese scone for a very long time…

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 July 2022 via mobile

Been meaning to visit for ages so on a glorious Sunday morning we thought we'd give this a go for breakfast. Great location and a steady flow of customers..just managed to get a table outside. Sign says "table service available" so we waited, waited and...waited. At least 2 staff members came out and passed us by without a second glance. In the end I went in to order. At least 5 members of staff in the kitchen area and all seemed very friendly and welcoming. Food/coffees were brought out without much of a wait. Piping hot and generous portions but we were sitting on a table previously occupied that had dirty crockery etc to take away. I moved it to the end of the table in the hope that one of the staff would clear it away - they didn't. In the end I had to ask one of them to remove it all. Left feeling disappointed that a place with so much potential & promise was spoilt by a lack of customer focus. It wouldn't take much to put that right to achieve a more positive overall review. Can't take anything away from the food that was spot on. 5 for food, 3 for service so average rating 4.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sami N, Owner at The Hemmel Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2022

Hi sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit unfortunately at present we are short staffed and have young staff in training and as we can't always plan how busy we can be from day to day we have to go with the amount...More

Reviewed 3 July 2022 via mobile

Absolutely superb breakfast freshly cooked !!! Friendly people wonderful service!! Would fully recommend a visit Lovely coffee

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sami N, Owner at The Hemmel Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2022

Thank you so much hope to see you soon

Reviewed 2 May 2022 via mobile

Stopped here for a coffee and scone before our walk. Great coffee, lovely scones and very friendly staff. Will definitely be back

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sami N, Owner at The Hemmel Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2022

Thank you xx

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
746 reviews
6.30 miles away
Cumberland Inn
166 reviews
8.86 miles away
Slaley Hall, Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
5,673 reviews
10.35 miles away
Langley Castle Hotel
1,750 reviews
10.79 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Chatterbox Cafe
311 reviews
4.84 miles away
Hive at Nenthead
43 reviews
4.95 miles away
The Golden Lion
82 reviews
4.87 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Killhope Lead Mining Museum
314 reviews
2.49 miles away
The Weardale Museum & High House Chapel
36 reviews
4.28 miles away
Nenthead Mines
44 reviews
4.87 miles away
Museum of Classic Sci-Fi
77 reviews
6.70 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
G301WPjoannem
10 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sami N | Property representative |
Hi yes dogs are very welcome at the cafe
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE HEMMEL CAFE, Allenheads - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Hemmel Cafe

Yes, The Hemmel Cafe offers takeaway services.

The Hemmel Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5