We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
A café by day and an intimate bistro by night. We serve breakfasts, lunch and dinner alongside a range of coffees, pastries, cakes and savoury snacks​
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
Cafe, Seafood, British
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (787)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
784 results
Traveller rating
532
120
55
49
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
532
120
55
49
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cakes hake seafood platter cheesecake crab kippers club sandwich panini sea bass steak potatoes chicken fries pudding full english lovely little cafe craster arms
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I wrote a breakfast review on Google. It won’t allow an update….. We enjoyed breakfast yesterday and decided on dinner tonight. Small venue, all tables occupied, the Boss, Chico was around Arron was serving. Pace was perfect, no hurry, asked off menu for a shared...bread starter - served quickly, warmed, with room temperature butter !!!! Drinks organised, mains decided. Beef Cheek Seafood Linguine Fish Chowder Chicken with etc ! OMG…. All presented hot and together, lots of oohs and ahhs as we sampled and shared. Couldn’t face a pudding, but the coffee was most excellent. All together a fantastic evening. Well done to all.More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 days ago

Attractive spot in Beadnell by the church of St EBBA. Excellent coffee, very warm welcome by the gentleman, owner, chef, not sure which but good staff too. Coffee very good, menu excellent choices. Especially the Mussels for lunch. The cheese scones are delicious. Visited 3...times this year and 3 last year. Looking forward to next June already.More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had 2 amazing nights here whilst in Beadnell for a weeks holiday. The food and service were excellent. Cicco and Aaron were really friendly and accommodating. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really great evening… the atmosphere was great for a small place, food really nice, we had mixed starters - chicken tarragon, red Thai curries and lamb followed by puddings/ cheese and all were great, service great .. cocktails available and just a really good friendly...vibe! Definitely recommend 😊More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely food, service and atmosphere. We came here for dinner and also sat outside during the day for coffee, and we received friendly and attentive service from Arron and Chico. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Love this cafe. Went for breakfast today and the Northumberland breakfast and the Eggs Royale were fabulous. It was obviously fresh local produce and so well cooked. The owner and staff are lovely. We’ve been for the last couple of years when we’ve stayed at...Beadnell and will definitely be back.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

came in ordered as normal, sat outside for half an hour waitin for coffee then went inside to be told they were out of pancakes and coffee syrups then wete brought more menus only to be told that they are out of all the pastries...n had nearly nothing left. this was all after we already payed and spent total of 50 mins sat waiting for nothing. do not come here its a tourist trapMore

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael Dawson, Owner at Saltwater Cafe Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I apologise for your experience. We were very short staffed and also very busy yesterday. We always have pancakes and syrups available but unfortunately the relief Chef wasn`t aware of where they were kept. You can see from the reviews that this is not how...More

Reviewed 8 May 2024 via mobile

Tucked away in the quirky streets of Beadnell, opposite the local church & pub, this lovely cafe has indoor & outdoor seating & welcomes dogs. The staff are friendly & enthusiastic. We had an evening meal which was lovely - roast lamb chops with veg...& red Thai seafood curry. We were offered fresh bread to start. You can get breakfast, lunch or evening meals here. Usually shut MondaysMore

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael Dawson, Owner at Saltwater Cafe Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit!

Reviewed 3 May 2024 via mobile

Absolutely superb restaurant run by the chef, Chico, as a real labour of love. This is by far the best option for dining in Beadnell, easily outclassing the swankier, more expensive and less reliable Beadnell Towers. All the fish and vegetarian dishes we tried on...our 3 visits were cooked to perfection and absolutely delicious. We don't eat meat so cannot comment on those dishes but can say that everything is freshly prepared from high quality locally sourced ingredients. The reasonably priced wine list is mainly Italian with a good selection for all tastes.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 April 2024 via mobile

Such a lovely place , by day it’s a cafe serving breakfast and lunch . By evening it’s a licensed bistro . We visited for breakfast and it was totally delicious. We chose a full English and a veggie full English and would highly recommend.... Good value and the young man who served us was a delight!More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 April 2024 via mobile

We ate in the Salt Water Cafe after reading positive reviews. We were not disappointed, and the owner (Chico I believe) made us most welcome. Being out of season the area felt quite quiet, therefore the Cafe was not too busy. I chose the special...which was a Seafood Linguine and my wife had Salmon with Pak Choi. Both meals were delicious and Chico was very attentive. We called in the following day for lunch and had a lunch with Monkfish pretty much made to order. We had the impression that if quiet the owner would prepare a meal to suit his ingredients. We shall return I hope as we found the area very nice to visit.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 April 2024

We visited here twice in September 2023 and this visit was just as enjoyable. Lovely atmosphere, great food. My wife had the chowder and the mussels were perfectly cooked. My risotto was also perfectly cooked although if I was being picky I thought was a...little light on the Stilton cheese. Excellent atmosphere in the restaurant. The owner/chef's personality enhances the great experience. We have already booked for another night.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael Dawson, Owner at Saltwater Cafe Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments and we do hope that you will visit again. Chico

Reviewed 7 April 2024 via mobile

Overall a good visit with great hospitality! But disappointed with the Mussels, surprised a £25 main didn’t come with frites/chips and they were very sweet - they had added a ‘bit’ of cider to the white wine and garlic sauce?

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 April 2024 via mobile

We enjoyed a family meal at this lovely seafood bistro. We were comfortably accommodated as a party of eight and the waitress was very patient with us. Would recommend the scallops, the mussels and the seafood chowder!

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2024 via mobile

So happy to eat here this evening. My mum who has coeliac and dairy intolerance was delighted to find the mussels were booked without cream. The chef and owner could not have been more helpful. The risotto and chowder were amazing, then the pavlova was...superb.What a beautiful little placeMore

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Bamburgh Castle Inn - The Inn Collection Group
2,331 reviews
1.88 miles away
Newton Hall
417 reviews
2.68 miles away
Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa
2,644 reviews
4.13 miles away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
1,249 reviews
4.14 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Courtyard Coffee Shop
61 reviews
.06 miles away
The Lazy Cow
44 reviews
.90 miles away
The Craster Arms Restaurant
1,783 reviews
.03 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Serenity Farne Island Boat Tours
3,083 reviews
1.93 miles away
Low Newton-by-the-Sea-Beach
401 reviews
2.94 miles away
Preston Tower
106 reviews
3.71 miles away
Embleton Bay
315 reviews
3.76 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Marie H
12 January 2023|
Answer
Response from swc22cr | Property representative |
Yes through the day. Allows one dog in the evening if not too busy so need to book in advance
0
Votes
Passport34278354504
23 May 2021|
Answer
Response from swc22cr | Property representative |
Yes we are until 4.00pm
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

SALTWATER CAFE BAR & BISTRO, Beadnell - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Saltwater Cafe Bar & Bistro

Yes, Saltwater Cafe Bar & Bistro offers takeaway services.

Yes, Saltwater Cafe Bar & Bistro is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Saltwater Cafe Bar & Bistro is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5