We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Swan

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2 Union Street, Seahouses NE68 7RT, England
+44 1665 720227
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 194: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Swan is my local when me and my other half are in Seahouses. It's a wonderful atmosphere with friendly staff that will happy chat for hours with customers. Dogs are welcome and the roaring fire is just right after a walk on the beach. I've read some reviews on here by people complaining about the smell of fish and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

Very friendly, the owners are great. Stairs up to room smelly.Needs painting finishing Room was reasonable.Bed comfortable. Lovely bathroom Very helpful owners Lovely breakfast

Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
coaster2014, Owner at Black Swan, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to place a review. I see from your profile you are a level 2 reviewer with over 1000 followers, also international reviewer...Brilliant well done. How do you manage to get through a day without help. Firstly we do not do breakfast Secondly we do not do accommodation. Thirdly we do not have smelly stairs. I... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016

It was a lovely fire on a cold night and good choice of real ales, a traditional pub Dogs can go in which is a bonus for us

Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon R
coaster2014, Owner at Black Swan, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post. your comments are much appreciated please pop in and see us again Cheers gil chambers (owner) More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

We called for a lunchtime drink there was only us in yes they do allow dogs in.The bar man was not very friendly at all we had our Drink and then left we go regular to sea houses but have not been back since .

Helpful?
Thank phillsykes
coaster2014, Owner at Black Swan, responded to this review

I am sorry your visit was not a good one I don't know what the problem was with the barman our staff are always courtiers and responsive. Sometimes people only give back what they get in ...A two way street Cheers gil chambers (owner) More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2016

No food available now, beer ok but prices for the type of pub. Bar staff friendly and they allow dogs in

Helpful?
Thank Tom B
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2016

Popped in here for a pint of ale. They only had one real ale on tap so I gave it a go. Unfortunately the cloudy pint remained cloudy for the next ten minutes so had to take it back to a different barman than the one who had poured it. He told me it was off and that he didn't... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Frenchexplorer99
coaster2014, Owner at Black Swan, responded to this review

Wow. Two faced springs to mind. My manager apologised for your cask ale being cloudy as it was the end of the cask.he offered to replace it with a different product because the replacement was not ready.you were fine with this and chose a pint of means best scotch ale and he refunded the difference in price, you were happy... More 

preston
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2016

lovely public house clean friendly and and good ale, would highly recommend not to.modern or busy but dog friendly,

Helpful?
1 Thank shazy85
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2016

A very old pub very local and fitting with seashouses. We like it because not too modern or busy but dog friendly

Helpful?
2 Thank marshalls12
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2016

Fab little place,friendly atmosphere where you can relax. Prompt service with a smile.Quiz nights on a Thursday are a must! Really good fun . Drinks are reasonably priced and you can also enjoy a nice meal too.Traditional and pleasent.

Helpful?
Thank Linda D
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2016

Relatively tucked away but still very central. Not in the least touristy but a good old fashioned, no frills pub. It doesn't have a ton of memorabilia hanging off the walls but it has good beer and when we were there were a handful of friendly happy punters enjoying it and a bit of a natter. Recommended (as too is... More 

Helpful?
Thank JN65

Travellers who viewed Black Swan also viewed

Seahouses, Northumberland
Seahouses, Northumberland
 
Seahouses, Northumberland
Seahouses, Northumberland
 

Been to Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Pub, British
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Television, Highchairs Available
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Union Street, Seahouses NE68 7RT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Seahouses
  • Phone Number: +44 1665 720227

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Black Swan and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Black Swan staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?