We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (187)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
98
55
15
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
98
55
15
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sausage rolls jacket potato salad sherwood pines lovely cafe hot drinks cafe today tea and cake lovely food forest lauren cycle cob
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 29 July 2023 via mobile

Post parkrun treat! We did parkrun then did another 5km. Lovely veggie breakfast. The ‘sausages’ were not what I was expecting but nonetheless they were tasty. Only downside is the expensive parking, we had just ticked over the 2-3 hours and was meant to pay...£9!! Glad we had the parkrun discount code because our 2 hour trip with breakfast would have been almost £30.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 April 2023

Great quick meal, lovely food and reasonable price! Staff super friendly and helpful! Ate outside however cafe look clean and looked after!

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2023

I can hand on heart say the sausage rolls from this cafe are the best sausage rolls I have ever tasted, I often come to sherwood pines purely for a sausage roll!! In addition, the staff are always so lovely and friendly :)

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2023

Been to this cafe quite a few times staff very nice and polite manager Lauren is really nice and professional. I had quiche and it was really nice with salad well presented will be going back soon reasonably priced

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2023 via mobile

The cafe appeared busy today as Sherwood Pines was busy with human leisure activities. However we found a table quickly (which had clearly been recently cleared and cleaned), and ordered hot drinks and food. The food came quite quickly and was well presented and tasty....I thought the jacket potato good value for money. We returned later in the afternoon for a further hot drink.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2022

Tea and cake was OK. A little disappointed that there's lots of Magnum choices - but not the Vegan ones (I'm dairy intolerant - so these are great for people like me :-)

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2022 via mobile

That usual word ‘Overwhelmed’springs to mind with a restaurant that is woefully inadequate to cope with crowds at this major tourist venue in Sherwood Forest. Staffing levels are ok but there are not enough tables. Food wise it’s ok, although whoever decided to add Caesar...Chicken wraps need a re-check. Swimming in cheese is a fail. Chicken too is processed. The experience could be much better. Hopefully a completely re-fit and upgrade is on the agenda.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2022

Kirsty who served me twice at the cafe today was fantastic! She served me for lunch and then late afternoon for a cup of tea. She had had an incredibly busy shift but at 4pm she was still professional, smiley and polite and couldn't do...enough for me. She went the extra mile with a smile and was very flexible. I commend her working ethic and wish all hospitality staff were like her! She will go far in whatever she choses to do in the future. The sky is her limit! Thank you. You made my trip extra pleasant!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 February 2022

Cycled out to 'the Pines' on a Saturday. We'd previously drove out to cycle round the various routes, but my 14 year old wanted to 'ride out'. We had about an hour in the bike park and dirt jumps when we decided to get some...lunch. We rode to the visitors centre and found a few people queueing at the take-away, we were stopped from joining the queue by a member of staff who said 'we're closed because of high winds' yes it was windy, but I'm pretty sure the building wasn't under threat of being blown away! By the way, it was about 12.30pm - I think the staff were just looking forward to 'an early bath'. We then had to coax a starving teenager to the Rumbles cafe at Vicar Water, which we managed, and had a lovely (and cheap) bacon cob.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SherwoodPC, General Manager at Sherwood Pines Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2022

If you would like to check the social media pages of Sherwood Pines Forest Park on Saturday you will find the Park was closed by Forestry England ( the Park operator) at 11.46am Our staff were instructed by them to close and not “ taking...More

Reviewed 9 January 2022 via mobile

Awful slow service at the takeaway services. One person serving and two queues of at least ten people. Took about ten mins to serve each person. Then when I saw served I was over charged for two extra coffees. The staff need more support or...training as they didn’t seem to have any initiative to queue bust or just be more streamlined in making hot drinksMore

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SherwoodPC, General Manager at Sherwood Pines Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2022

Thanks for your feedback unfortunately we were short staffed at the weekend and along with good weather on Sunday it resulted in queues which were regrettable but unavoidable. Due to a shortage of staff we were only able to open one of the takeaway windows...More

Reviewed 18 September 2021 via mobile

3 takeaway coffees and 3 takeaway slices of caramel slice £17.50 ! We won’t be stopping again until a sense of reality returns to pricing. Utterly ridiculous!

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 August 2021

Great service. Friendly counter assistants. The bacon cob was a bit of a let down as it was dry and no sauce was offered. Bacon, Brie and cranberry panini however very good! Coffee and ice-creams expensive and worth it.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2021 via mobile

Good cafe, sat outside enjoying the sunshine and the view. Staff were polite and friendly and the food was good. It was however a little pricey and I think the kids meals should include a drink.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 July 2021 via mobile

Appreciate that these are trying times, but the takeaway menu was beyond limited. And pricey for what you get. Essentially half a sausage roll for £2??!! Better to get something on the way to Sherwood Pines - more choice, better quality, and a better price....Avoid.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SherwoodPC, Owner at Sherwood Pines Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2021

In response to your review we have had a slightly reduced menu for the takeaway point. This is due to a shortage of staff and to speed up orders. We don’t agree with your opinion that it is ‘beyond limited’ We still have a wide...More

Reviewed 21 June 2021 via mobile

There's a cafe not far from the campsites in the middle of the forest, not too far from the bike hire, toilets or the GoApe. Good walk for working up an appetite. Ate there a couple of times, got a cob and a bottle of...juice which was a good price. It was delicious, I haven't had bacon or sausages that tasty in a long while. I regret not having a full English, you had an option as to what size you wanted it, and it was absolutely delicious judging by the reactions of my friends. They had cakes and bottles of juice a cup of tea and the pot did about 3 cups. You got a good deal for your money. They have a wonderful roofed decking area which we sat out on and it's such a lovely view across the forest. Place was really clean and they made every effort to distance the tables and put markers on the floor. Staff were friendly and helpful. Felt at home here, this was a fab way to begin the morning.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Forest Lodge Hotel
307 reviews
2.10 miles away
Mansfield Lodge Hotel
222 reviews
4.63 miles away
Clifton Hotel
75 reviews
4.64 miles away
Warner Hotels - Thoresby Hall Hotel
4,407 reviews
4.85 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Pancake House
524 reviews
1.09 miles away
Rumbles - Vicar Water Country Park
83 reviews
1.70 miles away
Spice Regency
20 reviews
1.63 miles away
The Rose Cottage
1,365 reviews
1.97 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Aqua Sana Sherwood Forest
1,610 reviews
1.54 miles away
Vicar Water Country Park
240 reviews
1.64 miles away
Rufford Abbey Country Park
1,048 reviews
1.97 miles away
Go Ape Sherwood
524 reviews
2.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
EmilyJane2009
19 March 2019|
Answer
Response from d3er | Property representative |
Hi yes we have Wi-fi
0
Votes
GeoffNickolds
21 October 2018|
Answer
Response from d3er | Property representative |
Hi I’m sorry only assistance dogs are allowed but we do have I covered decking area.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

SHERWOOD PINES CAFE, Edwinstowe - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sherwood Pines Cafe

Yes, Sherwood Pines Cafe offers takeaway services.

Sherwood Pines Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4