We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£5 - £18
CUISINES
Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (1,690)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,680 results
Traveller rating
1,047
317
134
88
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
1,047
317
134
88
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday roast pudding steak roast potatoes clifton hampden the pub lovely meal family meal the river car park lovely location sue doggy garden oxfordshire pint
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago

Very disappointing. Food was strange. Had vegetable tart (which had seeds in and no vegetables ) with salad, potatoes and Gravy. The combination of salad and gravy just did not go and when we mentioned this to the waitress, after she asked if we enjoyed...our meal, our feedback was completely dismissed. Will not returnMore

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear JMSR_11 I am so sorry to hear you had a disappointing visit. Please can you email us at 6105@greeneking.co.uk with regards to the time and date of your visit so I can investigate this further. Kind regards Fiona - General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Barley Mow never fails to please! Great atmosphere and even better food. Service was exceptional from freya and libby, will definitely be returning soon! :)

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear John Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Fiona - General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a lovely experience! The food was absolutely amazing with delicious guest ales. It was an absolute pleasure to be served by the fabulous Freya, she is truly amazing. Will definitely be back again soon!

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Lizijgj1 Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Fiona - General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I’ve been coming to barely for a while now, such lovely staff - and quick service. The food is also very nice. and dog friendly.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Freya Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Fiona - General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Barley mow has a great family atmosphere. The menu changes seasonally and the staff have always been friendly, accommodating and understating of any child related menu pickiness which is always a relief as a parent! The food is reasonably priced and there is always...something to take your fancy…sometimes too much which makes decision making very hard! Lots of choice on the bar too, which the husband is always happy about! Long may this all continue!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear T4msp Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Fiona - General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Absaloutely lovely experience at The Barley Mow. Freya provided class customer service and value the warm welcome and quality hospitality.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Josh Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review. I’m so pleased Freya looked after you well. I have passed your comments back to to the team. We hope to see you again. Kind regards Fiona -...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We’ve been coming to the Barley Mow for almost 50 years (!) and it almost never fails to please. Some new items on the menu which we tried and were very good. Served by very friendly staff in particular Freya, James and Libby. Thank you...for a lovely evening.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear PaulbJ222AV Thank you very much for the 5 star review. We are so pleased you always enjoy your visits to us and over 50 years!!! I have passed your kind comments back to the team and we hope to see you again soon. Kind...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great service, really attentive and Libby made sure we had everything we needed. Plenty of room for the pushchair and really patient letting our little girl run aroundMore

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Natali Thank you so much for leaving us a review. I am so pleased Libby looked after you well…. She is a gem!!! I have passed your comments back to the team and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Fiona -...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked the Barley Mow a couple of weeks ago for a special event, and they did not disappoint! I emailed the venue and was in touch with the General Manager, Fiona, who was brilliant in helping me make the booking look and feel special....My partner and I had a wedding ceremony on the day of our booking and Fiona was very responsive, helpful and caring when it came to arranging things for the 6 of us that came to have a meal. The staff on the day were fantastic. Ella, the Assistant Manager, was friendly and welcoming to us the moment we arrived and we had welcome drinks on our table, as well as some lovely decorations to make it feel more special. Heidi and Fred were also brilliant in their service with us, even when some in the party took forever to decide what food they wanted! They were both patient, attentive and made us feel so welcome. Thank you Fiona, Ella, Heidi and Fred. We loved our booking and we can't wait to come back for more food soon!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Micah Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your wedding celebrations with us and it was a pleasure helping you keep it a surprise!!! I have passed your comments back...More

Reviewed 18 March 2024

We went as a family of five for a special occasion. On arrival the staff member was friendly, our waitress lacked any warmth or interest. There was a very limited choice for vegetarians and vegans. The child’s ‘meatball’ pasta was macaroni with a beyond burger...cut up and some pale red Neapolita bland sauce. The peas can only be described as akin to bubbles in a bubble tea, but with a slightly thicker filling. The sriracha beyond burger lacked flavour, barely at all sriracha, dry and lacking salad or topping. The mushroom and ale pie was mostly sauce though the pastry was substantial, if a little indigestion inducing, Fish and chips was standard, kids fish goujons was actually a slightly smaller Atlantic cod. A great deal with a fair sized fish at less than half the adult price! Disappointing for a 7 year old wanting dunkable goujons. Service was abrupt and ungenuine. We asked for water after our drinks, a jug was brought but no glasses. The pub was not busy and closing early for (much needed) staff training. We certainly won’t go back and would only recommend for those that eat fish or meat and want standard, or sub standard pub grub.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Lornie I am so sorry regarding your experience with us and the miss communication from my team. We did have team training for our new menu which goes live today however we were open throughout and did continue to serve guests through the evening....More

Reviewed 14 March 2024

We are from Sussex and were staying in Abingdon on a short break with friends from Dorset. Whilst in Abingdon I asked the shopkeeper of The Shed (a shop in the town) if she could recommend a pub outside of the town for dinner the...following evening. Without hesitation she told us The Barley Mow at Clifton Hamden (about 4 miles away) would certainly meet our needs. This turned out be very true. This country pub is a wonderful example of how comfortable guests could be made to feel on entering a pub. The ambience and staff proved to be a welcome start to the evening. We ordered dinner from a wide range of options and all four of us commented on the quality and presentation of the food served. Value for money was the best we have come across for many a year. The standard of food presented by the two chefs would have been well received in any five star restaurant. I would recommend this pub to everyone. Seek it out and enjoy yourselves.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Dear Woofalot1 What a fantastic username!! Thank you very much for the lovely review, it was very kind of The Shed to recommend us… I hope you enjoyed your visit there too!!! We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope that you come...More

Reviewed 12 March 2024

I visited the Barley Mow with a friend for dinner last week. I had been before for breakfast and had always had a great time. The staff are polite and welcoming, the food is very good and I love the fire on a cold day....However, it was my first time in the evening and I was disappointed. Although the staff was not exactly rude, we were rushed to pay and leave, being told at 2115 that they were closing in 10 minutes. We really got the sense that they wanted rid of us. My friend and I don't see each other often and it would have been good to be told at the start of the night that they were going to close early, we would have chosen a different place. In short, if you want a nice pub for a quick meal (or breakfast), this is your place. If you want more time with your friends, maybe look somewhere else or ask before.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Dear Clarisse Thank you very much for the feedback. I am so sorry you felt rushed, it is not something that I advocate with my team and I have passed your feedback to them so it doesn’t happen again. We do hope to see you...More

Reviewed 12 March 2024

We have used The Barley Mow at Clifton Hampden many times. It is a charming character place to enjoy a meal and a drink or two. The food is always of a very high standard and reasonably priced which is why we tend to use...it for special occasions such as Burn's Night and Mother's Day. Our latest visit was on Mothering Sunday and all 3 courses were delicious (although we were full up before dessert). There was a good choice on the menu for each course, and the waiters were very friendly. We will be back again in the near future.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Davidrusu Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so pleased that you enjoy your visits to us and chose to celebrate special occasions here. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Fiona -...More

Reviewed 10 March 2024

My family and I had a wonderful Mother's Day Breakfast at the Barley Mow in Clifton Hamden this morning. The service was very friendly and fast and the food delicious. Best of all, this pub is dog friendly and welcome our black labrador Luna as...truly part of the family.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Dear LisaCBolc Thank you very much for leaving us a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Mothers Day breakfast and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Fiona - General Manager

Reviewed 10 March 2024

Celebrated Mother’s Day at the Barley Mow with my family. It has a lovely warm atmosphere and all the staff are very friendly and attentive. The food was presented beautifully and was absolutely delicious. It was busy as it was Mother’s Day however this did...not affect their quality of service at all. Me and my family had a lovely time. Will definitely be back in the future. Would highly recommend!!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Dear Marisa Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your Mothers Day breakfast and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Fiona - General Manager

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The White Hart Hotel
928 reviews
1.91 miles away
The George Hotel Dorchester-on-thames
212 reviews
1.97 miles away
The Cosener's House
311 reviews
3.16 miles away
The Crown & Thistle
525 reviews
3.26 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The plough
10 reviews
.27 miles away
The Vine and Spice
459 reviews
.88 miles away
The Chequers at Burcot - Restaurant
621 reviews
1.03 miles away
White Hart Hotel Restaurant
207 reviews
1.94 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Pendon Museum
259 reviews
1.15 miles away
Dorchester Abbey
194 reviews
2.02 miles away
Grill Academy
7 reviews
2.43 miles away
George Orwell's Grave
6 reviews
2.73 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
David J
22 November 2021|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ivors65 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they are open Boxing Day but get in quick as I know they are pretty booked up already.....
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE BARLEY MOW, Abingdon - Clifton Hampden Rd - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Barley Mow

The Barley Mow is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4