We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Contactless payment
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$4 - US$23
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveller rating
222
150
64
40
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
222
150
64
40
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cod and chips burger ham sunday roast marine lake mulled wine parking ticket outside seating sea front pub grub sunny day lovely location booked a table clevedon pier alehouse gary refund
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Lovely place to eat at with lovely views throughout. Nice food and great service. Most of the menu is freshly cooked in house. Parking is available if you require it. I Would recommend a visit

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

TIP - Download the RingGo app for the car parking fee, if paying by card, to save a painful time getting through annoying menu options!! Once inside Service was good, menu was varied - typical pub grub. If you get a sea-view inside its lovely...More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Tina S, Marketing at The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Greetings and thank you for taking the time to review the Salthouse. Thanks for the TIP and I would like to add that if you are paying online you will not be able to claim back your parking refund at the bar. Hope to see...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was disappointing. Kids didn’t even get there drinks with the meal. The service from the waiters was poor. Not a very good experience for us as a family.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Tina S, Marketing at The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, Reviews are a means of reporting a situation to describe the experience to others. As a business we follow up and investigate every negative review firstly because they are often written and contain false information and secondly because they couldn't get something they wanted...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My only gripe was the length of time it took to get served, when the order was eventually taken and brought to the table, it was absolutely wonderful. The service apart from the initial delay was very good, they seemed to have plenty of staff,...More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Tina S, Marketing at The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Nick, Many thanks for your review and we understand that there is sometimes a wait for the food. Everything that comes out of our kitchen is freshly prepared and cooked and during busy times it often causes a delay. We note your comment regarding...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had an impromptu visit to this pub today . We were greeted by a very friendly member of staff. We chose to sit outside as it has a lovely view over the front with the pier in the distance. We chose our drinks and...More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Tina S, Marketing at The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good day. Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I will be sure to share it with the team and look forward to seeing you again very soon. Best regards, Tina Searle Marketing Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Been waiting for my favourite pub & restaurant to re open & they never disappoint. The fresh new painted pub front stands out and looks stunning at night with its front of house lights & can be seen from the whole of the seafront. The...More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?2  
Tina S, Marketing at The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good day Mikee, Many thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed and in depth review. I will be sure to share it with the team and look forward o seeing you again very soon. Best regards, Tina Searle Marketing Manager

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Highly recommended the beef lasagne! Family friendly pub in a beautiful location! All of the staff are lovely and go above and beyond with service! The pub was clean and tidy and all covid measures were in place.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
Tina S, Marketing at The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good day, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team. Hope you visit us again very soon. Many thanks Tina Marketing Manager

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Always go above and beyond for their customers, provide very lovely food and also follow the guidelines set out by the government regarding the health and safety of their customers and employees. Very happy with the service and kindness of everyone.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Tina S, Marketing at The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team. Best regards, Tina Marketing Manger

Reviewed 19 June 2021

Covid restrictions all in place, hand sanitisers everywhere, one way system, masks to be worn when not seated and all staff have to wear masks and sanitise regularly. Saw there were plenty of pay for parking signs around so knew we had to pay. Staff...More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Tina S, Marketing at The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Sophie, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about the Salthouse. It is much appreciated and I will be sure to let the staff know. Kind regards, Tina

Reviewed 18 June 2021

Great lunch at The Salthouse. Food was excellent as always. The staff are happy, friendly and always make you feel welcome. Definitely worth a visit.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Tina S, Marketing at The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good day, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on the Salthouse and we are so happy to hear that we met your expectations. Hope you visit us again very soon. Kind regards, Tina

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Walton Park Hotel
1,412 reviews
1.15 miles away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
3,184 reviews
4.56 miles away
Ambassadors Health Farm
5.54 miles away
Premier Inn Portishead hotel
1,127 reviews
5.68 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
New Red Rose
488 reviews
.69 miles away
Junior Poon
638 reviews
.78 miles away
Number Five The Beach
805 reviews
.56 miles away
Scoozi
565 reviews
.78 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Clevedon Pier and Heritage Centre
846 reviews
.66 miles away
Poet's Walk
102 reviews
.40 miles away
Clevedon Marine Lake
111 reviews
.03 miles away
St.Andrews Church
24 reviews
.28 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
I t
28 June 2021|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Tina S | Property representative |
Hi, Many thanks in your honest support regarding the parking which was installed for the customers. People who write negatively about it are the ones who abuse it and think that they are above paying and will get away with... More
0
Votes
omzts125
14 August 2017|
Answer
Response from LouiseJ740 | Property representative | Reviewed this property |
Hi Gareth, Please send me a copy of your letter and ticket and I will look into it for you. Regards Gary
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant

Yes, The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 3.5