We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant

££ - £££, British,
Salthouse Road | North Somerset, Clevedon BS21 7TY, England
+44 1275 343303
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good29%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“faggots” (10 reviews)
“burger” (18 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Salthouse Road | North Somerset, Clevedon BS21 7TY, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Clevedon is an idea place to walk for all ages and capabilities. After our walk we called into the Salthouse for lunch. The menu was packed with options from traditional pub grub to something more exciting. We had grilled pear with stilton and bacon salad;...More

Thank Gillian S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Whilst not expecting 5 star dining I did feel the whole lunch lacked. There was no greeting or goodbye, it was self service on a busy Saturday afternoon, there was no table check to ensure the meal was alright (despite staff being in and out...More

Thank ECM76
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were looking for a cheap and cheerful pub to get some dinner that allowed dogs. The pub only allowed dogs in the bar area which was fine. Food was good. Gourmet burger, scampi were good. Ham egg and chips was ok but small in...More

Thank Serenity201
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After spending £60 on food and drink I incurred a £60 surcharge for overstaying in the pub car park by 10 minutes. I shall be taking my custom elsewhere, and to judge by the reactions of people I know - so will they.More

1  Thank Happiness797405
Gary S, Manager at The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am sorry to hear you have incurred a fine. Should you have asked us we might have been able to help. The Car Park is managed by Premier Parking and you should of appealed. The expiry time is on your ticket and that is...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I absolutely love the Salthouse, the food is always amazing and the staff are always polite. However, after reading the replies to the negative reviews with the "managers" calling people morons and blind I do not think I shall be returning. Keep it classy, don't...More

2  Thank Lizzie F
Gary S, Manager at The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comment. This comment was made because people don't tell the whole truth and if they choose to ignore all the signs for parking that is not our responsibility or fault. I have taken a lot of abuse from people who use...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We've eaten here several times recently and have never been disappointed. The food swiftly served, always hot, fresh and tasty. The cost is reasonable and the views uneaqualed in Clevedon. Its always a pleasure to meet the friendly staff.

Thank David Y
Gary S, Manager at The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are pleased you had a great dining experience. hopefully see you soon Regards Gary

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Better than the last time we (a group of ladies) went. The main menu had plenty of choice, was well presented and came in a timely fashion. However, a real lack of choice for desserts. Nothing (other than ice cream) was chocolate! No good telling...More

Thank marsamchar
Gary S, Manager at The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry that we ran out of Desserts. Our Desserts are made fresh by a Patisserie who deliver twice a week. If we run out we don't buy from a supermarket as its not locally sourced. I cannot...More

Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Had a family meal for 10 and did very well getting meals out together let children in and lovely views also outside seating

Thank Karen R
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

This is a fantastic way to spend a lovely afternoon. I come here often and always am greeted by the loveliest of staff/customers. The food especially the sunday roasts are amazing and have a high selection of dishes on the menu and do cater very...More

2  Thank X9979ZP
Reviewed 1 October 2018

This pub/Restaurant ticks more boxes than any other in the area. I took my Mother who suffers with mental illness to her fave pub last Sunday for her fave Roast dinner we didn't pre book as we normally do but luck to be there was...More

2  Thank Mikee1970
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
Warrens Village
242 reviews
1.14 miles away
Best Western Walton Park Hotel
1,205 reviews
1.15 miles away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
2,822 reviews
4.56 miles away
Ambassadors Health Farm
5.54 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Il Giardino
332 reviews
.60 miles away
New Red Rose
420 reviews
.69 miles away
Number Five The Beach
691 reviews
.56 miles away
Tiffin at the Pier
186 reviews
.66 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Clevedon Pier and Heritage Centre
711 reviews
.66 miles away
Poet's Walk
75 reviews
.40 miles away
Clevedon Marine Lake
64 reviews
.03 miles away
St.Andrews Church
14 reviews
.28 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
omzts125
14 August 2017|
Answer
Response from Gary S | Property representative | Reviewed this property |
Hi Gareth, Please send me a copy of your letter and ticket and I will look into it for you. Regards Gary
0
Votes
Spanishsal
10 August 2017|
Answer
Response from Jeff C | Reviewed this property |
Yes there is, you can drive right to the top where the disabled bays are and the staff will put a ramp out on the front step for you if you need it.
2
Votes
Matssats
20 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from georgevader | Reviewed this property |
You buy a ticket at the machine and when you purchase drinks in the Pub they refund you the ticket cost
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$22
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, View, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Salthouse Road | North Somerset, Clevedon BS21 7TY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Clevedon
  • Phone Number: +44 1275 343303
  • E-mail
Description
A warm, cheery welcome greets everyone and their dog on arrival at Clevedon's Premier Bar & Restaurant 'The Salthouse' - the venue of choice by locals & visitors alike. This prominent listed building complete still with many of it's original features is surrounded by woodland & overlooks the spectacular views of the Severn Estuary along with the newly revamped 'Marine Lake' & Victorian Pier' creating a buzzing hive of activity in every direction. This 'something for everyone' venue offers an extensive range of specially selected wines, local ales & ciders which combined with a meal from its' wide selection of home cooked gourmet food, you are guaranteed satisfaction - even the dog gets a biscuit & bowl of water. For the businessman or company 'The Salthouse' has two private function rooms suitable for corporate meetings, training, & private events. An array of regular entertainment includes top local bands, fun quiz nights and ad-hoc events all adding to the fun vibe. We look forward to 'Welcoming' you and hearing your feedback.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing