We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Horse and Groom

££ - £££, British,
East Woodlands | Near Frome, Frome BA11 5LY, England
+44 1373 462802
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good28%
  • Average9%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“game pie” (2 reviews)
“faggots” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
East Woodlands | Near Frome, Frome BA11 5LY, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of my dad's favourite eateries. Wide ranging menus. The liver and bacon was delicious. If you are in a hurry to eat then you'll be disappointed but you are warned about the wait. All the more time to have a pint or two of...More

Thank AshtonKate M
TheHorseandGroom, Owner at The Horse and Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are always trying to find a way to cut down on the waiting times - we do prepare and cook to order and we have a small kitchen manned by at most two people so it...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly staff. The food portions are huge which is better than tiny. Found the food quite basic and most things freezer to fryer. Not a high standard for quality of ingredients, cooking or presentation. I would recommend if you have kids and want a cheap...More

Thank beajayblue
TheHorseandGroom, Owner at The Horse and Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear beajayblue Thank you for your review. However, I must challenge your comment regarding freezer to fryer food, very basic etc etc. Apart from items such as breaded Scampi, Blanchebait etc all our food is prepared from scratch and cooked to order in house -...More

Reviewed 17 December 2017

I had booked this pub for the 14 of us for a family get together as had been several times before and always found it good, but I we where gravely disappointed we know the food is cooked fresh so I expect to wait but...More

Thank somersetlady61
TheHorseandGroom, Owner at The Horse and Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Somersetlady So sorry that you had a disappointing visit to our pub that Sunday lunchtime. I also apologise for taking so long to respond - this particular review somehow slipped under the radar and I have only just been made aware of it. I...More

Reviewed 29 October 2017

poplin for a drink just got un the door and told not that children were not allowed in the pub because the optics were to close, then ent to go to another room also told children not allowed, not a very good experience waited nearly...More

Thank Chris2626
TheHorseandGroom, Owner at The Horse and Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Chris I am sorry that you had a bad experience when you visited our pub on Sunday lunchtime. Unfortunately the conditions of our licence prevent children under 14 years of age from being allowed into our public bar, where the main activity is the...More

Reviewed 16 October 2017

We love the Horse and Groom. First found it on a cycle ride in August. Went again in September and then again on Sunday for a roast. Eaten all 3 times. Both veggie, loads of options for us. Home made food is so delicious. Good...More

Thank jgW6769YX
TheHorseandGroom, Owner at The Horse and Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hello and thank you so much for your great review! I for one am sad that you don't live closer! I am so pleased that you enjoy your meals and the ambience at the Horse and Groom. Sadly the garden is past its best now...More

Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

We are regular visitors for our Sunday lunches and Birthday events and always been greeted by friendly staff and excellent food,got a table booked for today and looking forward to getting stuck in to a real roast dinnerMore

Thank Ken F
TheHorseandGroom, Owner at The Horse and Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hi Ken and I am sorry I missed your review when you first posted it - I thought it was a message from Trip Advisor inviting me to update my page!!!! I am so glad you enjoy your visits to our little pub and I...More

Reviewed 29 August 2017

Great expectations! Giant battered sausage chips and garden peas. Chips delicious sausage great batter, peas, rock hard and not nice. Murmurings from those who had the chicken pie...where was the chicken al sauce? Scampi, well it's scampi, you can't go wrong.!/4 chicken...masses on the plate....More

Thank Crs C
TheHorseandGroom, Owner at The Horse and Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hello and many thanks for the first review of our trial Friday night Menu. I see you have very mixed feelings. We are not happy that this is the right menu for a Friday night and we are looking ahead we plan to incorporate some...More

Reviewed 4 July 2017

We visited this pub recently, not been here for some while, it used to have a good reputation for food. The restaurant was very tired and had quite a number of cobwebs and creatures hanging from the ceiling, the restaurant was almost empty and had...More

Thank 123eatsandtreats
TheHorseandGroom, Owner at The Horse and Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Although obviously very concerned that you were disappointed with your visit to the Horse and Groom, I am very grateful for your feedback. For some time we had been serving our "Saturday Steakout" Menu on Saturday evenings. At first it was very well received, then...More

Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Was told about this pub and there meals for £5. It was chef's choice which turned out to be liver and bacon, I haven't had that since I was little my mum used to give it to us. It was just how I remembered it....More

Thank Sexysomerset
TheHorseandGroom, Owner at The Horse and Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Hey there Sexysomerset! Thank you for your lovely review. We try to serve meals that people might not be cooking for themselves when we can - lots of customers come her for our Liver and Bacon from our normal Menu because one or other of...More

Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

What great service was meeting friends here but we're late and bless them the pub stayed open to serve us lunch and very nice it was too. Lovely setting great food and friendly service.

Thank Paul D
TheHorseandGroom, Owner at The Horse and Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Thank you Paul for your review. I am so pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your lunch and may there be many more! Thanks again Kathy

PreviousNext
12345611
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Frome
Premier Inn Frome Hotel
1,325 reviews
3.07 miles away
The George at Nunney
510 reviews
3.47 miles away
Travelodge Warminster
641 reviews
4.47 miles away
The Woolpack Inn
474 reviews
4.51 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Bath Arms at Longleat
143 reviews
2.18 miles away
Castello
729 reviews
2.28 miles away
The Royal Oak
366 reviews
1.76 miles away
Thai Kitchen
320 reviews
2.29 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Longleat
6,752 reviews
1.36 miles away
Nunney Castle
295 reviews
3.49 miles away
Shearwater Lake
101 reviews
4.21 miles away
The Walled Garden at Mells
165 reviews
4.88 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
TheHorseandGroom
16 July 2015|
Answer
Response from TheHorseandGroom | Property representative |
Obviously not the way to follow up on a review! Hoever, I hope you read my note re the curtains being washed and back up! Kathy
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$56
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: East Woodlands | Near Frome, Frome BA11 5LY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Frome
  • Phone Number: +44 1373 462802
  • E-mail
Description
17Th Century Country Pub with Traditional values. Large Garden with seating and Smoking Shelter seats 12 on three tables of four. Beautiful setting with walks, rides, drives through lanes and woods. 2 Miles from stunning Longleat House, 12 miles Bath and Trowbridge, 2 miles quirky and arty little town of Frome. Local ales and ciders straight from the cask. Eight wines by the glass or bottle. Great choice of non alcoholic hot and cold beverages. Huge menu with loads to choose from for vegetarians and fish lovers. Meal deals with two set courses for a fiver Monday to Thursday lunch and evening, and Friday evening. Saturday night is Steakout Night with excellent steaks served with Chunky Chips, Peas, Mushrooms, Onions and Tomatoes, at silly prices. Roast Lunches must not be missed Sunday lunch and evening, although there are plenty of other choices on offer. A warm welcome is extended to all customers by staff and regulars
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing