We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Inn

££ - £££, British,
Holt, Wincanton BA9 8AR, England
01963 548416
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good26%
  • Average12%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (10 reviews)
“potatoes” (4 reviews)
“sea bass” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Holt, Wincanton BA9 8AR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

We visited the old inn on a very wet sat evening we had a meal which was well cooked tasty and well presented after our meal we then went to a lovely bar area lots of locals in a very friendly atmosphere and the staff...More

Thank gwagramps
Lucy M, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you soon x

Reviewed 12 April 2017

I can't tell you about the food as we couldn't actually get in to the pub. I chose it because wincanton is half way between me and the friend I was having lunch with. Food looked good on the website and I sent an email...More

Thank macpark2016
Lucy M, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello I am extremely sorry for your previous experience! The owner at that time has now left, we have been open a month now and have just started serving food we hope that you can return and allow us to redeem ourselves. Many thanks Lucy...More

Reviewed 11 April 2017

We had a very disappointing meal last Saturday and certainly won't be returning. The first complaint was that it seemed very understaffed and there was only one young girl doing all the waitressing. She was very pleasant and polite, but we waited 15 minutes before...More

Thank LilsSomerset
Lucy M, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello I am extremely sorry for your previous experience! The owner at that time has now left, we have been open a month now and have just started serving food we hope that you can return and allow us to redeem ourselves. Many thanks Lucy...More

Reviewed 27 March 2017

We were given the restaurant area for a booking of 60 for a family wake. The room was the perfect size, allowing everyone the space to move around and take a seat if they wanted. We had a buffet which was lovely, very fresh and...More

Thank kay m
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

I went for dinner last night (Saturday) with my family. We had booked at lunchtime and when we arrived we were the only table. Unfortunately when we were given the menu we were told a lot of the dishes weren't available as they had ran...More

Thank katw83
Lucy M, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello I am extremely sorry for your previous experience! The owner at that time has now left, we have been open a month now and have just started serving food we hope that you can return and allow us to redeem ourselves. Many thanks Lucy...More

Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Had works Christmas meal here. Prices ranged from £19-23 which for the size of portions was very good for 3 course meal. Christmas dinner was popular among our group. Our room could have done with a bit of heat but it was relatively mild day...More

Thank Chris G
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

From a party of 8 all good from fish pie, lasagna and burgers were all incredibly greasy. Slow service, drives get your own from the bar, food luke warm.More

Thank thecountrytraveller
Lucy M, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello I am extremely sorry for your previous experience! The owner at that time has now left, we have been open a month now and have just started serving food we hope that you can return and allow us to redeem ourselves. Many thanks Lucy...More

Reviewed 16 October 2016

Having visited before, when the main restaurant was in use and the food excellent, we were disappointed to see the former in darkness and the food less good. We were seated in the bar area, nice enough in its own way and the staff were...More

Thank Phillip P
Lucy M, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello I am extremely sorry for your previous experience! The owner at that time has now left, we have been open a month now and have just started serving food we hope that you can return and allow us to redeem ourselves. Many thanks Lucy...More

Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Arrived at 7.30 to a near empty pub. We were seated straight away and well looked after. Food was fab! Popcorn cockles were lovely. Three courses and booze for two people came to £85 which I thought was good value. Would definitely visit again if...More

1  Thank Rhiannan S
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Well I have lived within 5 miles of this place and for 12 years never new of its existence. What a shame, need to make up for lost time. Went with my wife, son, his wife and their two children along with my eldest daughter....More

1  Thank KBeardsley
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
White Horse
86 reviews
1.83 miles away
Montague Inn
200 reviews
2.99 miles away
The Catash Inn
20 reviews
3.34 miles away
The Camelot
102 reviews
3.35 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Discworld Emporium
50 reviews
2.14 miles away
The Gallery Bar
19 reviews
4.36 miles away
Hauser & Wirth Somerset
271 reviews
4.71 miles away
Haynes International Motor Museum
878 reviews
4.73 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Old Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Holt, Wincanton BA9 8AR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Wincanton
  • Phone Number: 01963 548416
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing