We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Inn

££ - £££, British,
Holt, Wincanton BA9 8AR, England
+44 1963 548416
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good25%
  • Average10%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (12 reviews)
“potatoes” (4 reviews)
“sea bass” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Holt, Wincanton BA9 8AR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

We visited Wincanton for horse racing but actually stayed in Holton. I believe it is the only Pub in the village. My wife and I got in about 630 and we were the only ones there at the time but that soon changed within about...More

Thank PaulWilko
Reviewed 10 October 2017

I called in today just for a drink with my dog as it said dog friendly. From the moment i walked in i got a warm and friendly welcome and so did my dog who also was given some treats and the staff made a...More

Thank lisian16
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Me and seven of my friends all went to the Old Inn on the way back from John O’Goats to Lands End cycle trip. The welcome we received by all at the Old Inn was amazing. As for the food, my friends are all very...More

Thank Lee P
Reviewed 10 October 2017

The pub is very welcoming, staff are effiecient friendly and attentive to our every request. The food arrrived promptly well cooked and hot. The locals at the bar were very freindly, I enjoyed chatting with them, creating a great atmosphere. I will definately make sure...More

Thank sjakeshear
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

We were looking for a nice meal on a Monday night and decided to go to the old inn ...we were greeted with a warm welcome and followed by a fantastically cooked meal!! The steak was cooked to perfection and the burger was extremely tasty!!...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Myself, wife and granddaughter visited the old inn. Saturday we had a great homemade pie (steak & ale) cod & mash and lasagne! Wow don’t tell my wife but what a pie. We decided to try the roast today (Sunday) and it was done to...More

Thank patroyle
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

This place used to have great food, so we came here expecting it to be the same -we were very disappointed. Everything on the menu has chips on it, that was a warning sign, but as we were already there, we ordered. When he food...More

Thank derekmccoy
Lucy M, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

We are sorry for your disappointment we are in the process of changing the menu due to a change over of chef. On our current menu there is an option to change the chips to mash or new potatoes. due to our new chef only...More

Reviewed 17 September 2017

We visited the old inn on a very wet sat evening we had a meal which was well cooked tasty and well presented after our meal we then went to a lovely bar area lots of locals in a very friendly atmosphere and the staff...More

Thank gwagramps
Lucy M, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you soon x

Reviewed 12 April 2017

I can't tell you about the food as we couldn't actually get in to the pub. I chose it because wincanton is half way between me and the friend I was having lunch with. Food looked good on the website and I sent an email...More

Thank macpark2016
Lucy M, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Hello I am extremely sorry for your previous experience! The owner at that time has now left, we have been open a month now and have just started serving food we hope that you can return and allow us to redeem ourselves. Many thanks Lucy...More

Reviewed 11 April 2017

We had a very disappointing meal last Saturday and certainly won't be returning. The first complaint was that it seemed very understaffed and there was only one young girl doing all the waitressing. She was very pleasant and polite, but we waited 15 minutes before...More

Thank LilsSomerset
Lucy M, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Hello I am extremely sorry for your previous experience! The owner at that time has now left, we have been open a month now and have just started serving food we hope that you can return and allow us to redeem ourselves. Many thanks Lucy...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
White Horse
86 reviews
1.47 miles away
King's Arms
60 reviews
2.63 miles away
Montague Inn
206 reviews
2.99 miles away
The Catash Inn
21 reviews
3.34 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Discworld Emporium
54 reviews
2.14 miles away
The Gallery Bar
26 reviews
4.36 miles away
Hauser & Wirth Somerset
275 reviews
4.71 miles away
Haynes International Motor Museum
915 reviews
4.73 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Old Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Holt, Wincanton BA9 8AR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Wincanton
  • Phone Number: +44 1963 548416
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing